We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time spent with friends”

Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #48 of 392 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Description: At Matt’s Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, the ingredients speak for themselves. It’s American Coastal Comfort Food—simple, comforting, and delicious in a way you’d never expect. Whether you're craving the local's favorite Grouper Gnudi with pillows of decadent homemade cornbread gnudi, our award-winning Shrimp & Grits, or new menu items like the Kobe Tri Trip, Black Bean Empanadas, or Fresh Catch Esabeche, you're in for a treat you won't find anywhere else in the Florida Keys. Guests can dine inside or outdoors with unobstructed views of the working waterfront, impressive yachts and boats gliding in and out of the marina. For a taste of local comfort food, guests can't miss our Famous Fried Chicken and Crab Beignets (just ask any local!).
Restaurant details
Description: At Matt’s Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, the ingredients speak for themselves. It’s American Coastal Comfort Food—simple, comforting, and delicious in a way you’d never expect. Whether you're craving the local's favorite Grouper Gnudi with pillows of decadent homemade cornbread gnudi, our award-winning Shrimp & Grits, or new menu items like the Kobe Tri Trip, Black Bean Empanadas, or Fresh Catch Esabeche, you're in for a treat you won't find anywhere else in the Florida Keys. Guests can dine inside or outdoors with unobstructed views of the working waterfront, impressive yachts and boats gliding in and out of the marina. For a taste of local comfort food, guests can't miss our Famous Fried Chicken and Crab Beignets (just ask any local!).
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A few of us friends were visiting the Stock Island Marina and decided to have dinner at Matt's bar and kitchen. The dinner was excellent and so was the service. This is part of the Perry Hotel (which is the only hotel for this marina). If you go, please get the Grouper Gnudi. It is amazing! It's a little pricey but worth it!

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LSP150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Marketing at Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming out to enjoy a dockside dinner with us! We're so happy you enjoyed your meal and the service from our team members (and the grouper gnudi - that's one of our favorites)! Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (535)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2021 via mobile

A little hard to find...no roadside sign.
Not a lot of options for breakfast, but what they had was delicious.
My wife had the omelette and I had the banana bread pancakes (awesome taste).
Service was attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank FLSTC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Marketing at Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Thank you for joining us for breakfast and for sharing your experience! We're so glad you enjoyed the banana bread pancakes (those are one of our specialties) and the service from our team members. We do have a slightly modified menu as a result of the pandemic but hope to be increasing our menu offerings in the near future! Thank you again for dining with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2021

We loved all of the cuisine we sampled at Matt's Stock Island. We were staying on a yacht about a hundred yards away during our trip and didn't make it to Matt's until the fourth or fifth day as we wanted to venture out first. We were quite surprised when we finally had dinner at Matt's as we all agreed it was the best dinner of the trip so far. Keep in mind as you read several of the reviews during this pandemic that several restaurants, hotels and bars are running at lower capacities, smaller staffs and lighter menus than usual. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tofertuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Marketing at Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2021

Thanks so much for dining with us and for spending your Key West vacation at our onsite Stock Island Marina! We're so glad you decided to come in and try our American coastal comfort food. We are definitely a hidden gem here on Stock Island and love surprising our guests with our passion for fresh and local ingredients. Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Amazing dinner , delicious breakfast the next morning with superb service .. Katie was the cherry on the top as our server ... fresh fish on a consistently perfect Cesar salad , Brussels sprouts done to perfection will definitely result in return visits from locals who know where to dine ! N

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank gmankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Marketing at Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're so happy you chose to dine with us and enjoyed your meal and Katie's service, she's the best! Thank you again for sharing your experience and we truly appreciate you sharing the good word about our dockside restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

We use to love this place. We loved going there on Wednesday night's for the fried chicken special. It was the best fried chicken on Key West. The special was fried chicken, roasted corn, cornbread mash, and cole slaw. It was delicious. Now the fried chicken is greasy, cornbread mash is dry. Some say breading is different. We have no plans to go back there any time soon.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank tlwcjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L, Marketing at Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2021

We're so sorry to read this feedback as we typically receive rave reviews on both the fried chicken and cornbread mash! We did temporarily pause the Family Fried Chicken Dinner Night but the fried chicken on our menu is the same recipe as it has always been. The cornbread mash recipe did change slightly in order to better compliment the flavor profiles for the rest of the menu items. We'd love to learn more about your experience and hopefully welcome you back, please contact chef Vel at your convenience at virizarry@perrykeywest.com. We continue to strive to perfect our guest experiences and look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Matt's Stock Island Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.