We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, location”
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Just got back from 4 nights at the Hibiscus. We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel was immaculate and recently updated. Our room was large and spotless. Friendly staff. Large, sparkling pool and hot tub with plenty of sunny and shady seating. Breakfast was typical continental breakfast. Location is near the south end of Duval St, making it very quiet, particularly at night. We were easily able to get around everywhere on foot or by renting bikes (there is a rental place a block away). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachillsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    950
    167
    47
    34
See reviews for
733
954
55
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have done many hotel reviews, but this is one of the very few times that I have given a hotel a rating of "5". This is because I felt that the Best Western Plus Hibiscus offered a superior choice of accommodations at an amazingly affordable rate, especially considering the rates charged in Key West.

1) I was impressed by the size of the room. In fact, I would say that I was "wow'd" by the size of the room. I also appreciated the fact that there were sinks both inside and outside the bathroom, so that more than one person could be getting ready in the morning (or evening) at the same time.

2) I was impressed by the comfort of the bed. It had just the right combination of firmness and softness and lots of pillows, so you could sleep with just one pillow or four, if you wanted. The bedspread was too thin to my liking, but there were fresh blankets in the closet that provided the right amount of warmth that I needed.

3) I was impressed by the location. It is a block away from Duval Street, but at the opposite end from all the "craziness". It's easy to walk up Duval Street if you like, but it's just as easy to walk up some of the parallel streets which are quiet and have interesting architecture. You are also within a few blocks of a couple of the Key West beaches. The only place we ended up driving to was Fort Zachary Taylor Park and only because we had beach chairs and umbrellas. You can walk here, too, if you want.

4) I was impressed by the quietness of the place. I was concerned about noise because we were near Duval Street which did not turn out to be a problem since we were at the far end from all the activity. I was also concerned because our room, as most of them do, faced the pool and the pool hours were 8am to midnight. There were no children here during our stay and the young adults that were here were respectful of others when they were at the pool. If there was anything going on at the pool after 10 pm, I never heard it.

5) I was impressed by the pool. We seldom take advantage of pools during vacations since we are so busy sightseeing, but we made a special effort to spend a couple hours each day at this pool, reading on one of the many comfortable lounge chairs or swimming in the clean, clear water. We also brought our continental breakfast out here each morning to enjoy under one of the umbrella'ed tables next to the pool.

5) I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the grounds and by little amenities such as extra pool/beach towels, the refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and the packet of microwave popcorn!

I did a lot of research before booking accommodations in Key West and could not find anything that offered as much for such a good rate as the Best Western Hibiscus. When I discovered that they actually offered more than advertised, I was more than pleased with my choice. This property certainly deserves an "Excellent" rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank longhorn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I had the unfortunate reality of accidentally double booking myself into two hotels in Key West for my two night trip. I went to both, and this one clearly won out. NOT. EVEN. CLOSE.
The location is pretty good. It's about a mile down Duval to all the craziness, so if you're not up for a walk or using the tram, you need to look closer. However, this was perfect for me. It was just far enough away from the craziness that you could get to it easily if you turn left on the island instead of right like most GPS will take you. I rented a scooter, and that was the perfect solution for me.
The room was HUGE. I had two queen beds, a desk, two sitting chairs, a dresser, closet and mini fridge, and it was not even close to being crowded. Water pressure was fine, but the hot would seem to "cycle" from hot to cold and back to hot again.
The pool was nice. It never seemed to be crowded, and it was plenty big.
As others have said, the complimentary breakfast is merely "ok". Definitely get out and investigate the local cuisine for breakfast.
Overall, I was very pleased with the property, and would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a pool view room. I also prefer the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you want a hotel room you won't get claustrophobia in, this is it. These rooms are large and nicely appointed. The beds were comfy, the room was clean, there was plenty of towels, and they had parking! The staff was really nice and helpful and the pool area was clean. It's a block off Duval Street, but it's a lot quieter, which is really nice when you want to sleep. There's a tram stop not even a half block away, so super easy to get around. The complimentary breakfast was tasty, although a little small. This hotel is far superior to the last hotel I stayed in, and a lot less $$. Do yourself a favor... for breakfast, walk around the corner to the little corner deli. There's a cuban outdoor resturant with the best breakfast on that side of the island. Try the orange juice!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairway. Occasionally you can hear people going up and down the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Rating between 3 and 4 stars. Room was very clean and quite large. It had a bit of a strong odor of cleaning product, but we had secured the room right after it was serviced, so this may be the reason. Location of the hotel is on the quiet end, one block off Duval. It was close to a couple of the "hop on, hop off" bus stops, so we used it for transportation also.

The front desk helped us with an unusual request--very pleased with their willingness to assist.

Outdoor pool was very large--clean and not too crowded.

Breakfast area was VERY crowded and hot...it had decent choices including waffles, microwave sandwiches, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illinois59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
871 reviews
5.0 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 km away
Southwinds Motel
Southwinds Motel
#22 of 51 in Key West
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Property: Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,307 - ₹ 23,002
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing