We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEEDED our expectations in every respect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Mokena, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCEEDED our expectations in every respect!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We booked the hotel for a short stay in Key West Florida based on the favorable reviews from "TripAdvisor". (4 days, 3/26/12-3/29/12) Its location to the activities in Key West was part of our decision. Once we parked our car, we were able to use our bicycles as transportation to travel anywhere we needed to go without the parking problems. Our stay actually EXCEEDED our expectation from the positive reviews on "TripAdvisor" I was really impressed with the spacious size of the room. It appears this was an "Old School" hotel that was successfully brought up to todays standards. I/We will be going back to Key West again and I am not going to bother even looking for a different hotel for our stay. We will be staying at the Best Western Plus Hibiscus Motel again and again! I realize cost in the area can be high. I was also attracted to the relatively affordable price. I did not even ask if there was a fitness room. I reasoned that between our bicycles and short walking distance to most of the attractions, a fitness center was not necessary for us. Thank you for the hospitality!

Room Tip: By luck, we were assigned one of the upper pool facing rooms and the next time I will request the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank papacho2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    964
    168
    47
    36
See reviews for
764
968
57
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Nice big rooms upstairs facing the parking lot, only 4 rooms up there. Did not hear any street noise. Read rooms had flat screen tv sets. We had a crummy old tv. Nice kitchen area, counter space and 3 sinks. Breakfast was fine. Internet was terrible, of you could get on you were booted, and the complimentary computers in lobby were not always able to connect. Sara at the desk was friendly and outgoing. Great pool with long hours.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teriroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just spent four nights at this hotel. I chose it because I'd read about the difficulty parking in Key West and I was going to be taking the car out every morning on the way to the dive boat. I also wanted to stay somewhere within walking distance to old town, so all the larger chain hotels further east on US 1 didn't fit my criteria.

The location is easy to find. You come in on US 1 or Truman Avenue and take it to a block before Duvall Street, then take a left and go down about six blocks. I never made it to Higgs or Ft Zachary Taylor beaches, but they are both a short walk away.

I had a pool-side King room and paid $179 a night. It had a mini-fridge, coffemaker, key operated safe and a nice 42" flat panel TV. Programming was limited to local cable and there were no movie options. The wireless Internet was a little spotty in my location, but I was always able to connect. The pool was also nice sized; I only went in once. It was open until midnight, but noises from it never kept me awake.

Breakfast was good. I mostly ate the Bob Evans sandwiches, preferring the English muffin to the bagel. Coffee machine is push-button and dispenses coffee at 2 million degrees, Get your coffee first and let it sit a while (and I like hot coffee).

The staff was very pleasant and helped my out with a few restaurant suggestions. If you like Thai, go to Thai Island; best Thai food I'd had in years. They also gave me a toohbrush/toothpaste kit so I could scrub the film off a new scuba mask.

About the only weakness was the cleanliness of the floors. Going barefoot, I noticed how dirty my feet got, I think from a combination of my room and the walkway to the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munkebo, Fyn, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 days in june 2011, and we loved this little motel :) Very relaxing atmosphere, and great little pool in the motel. Very nice big rooms, good beds and the bathroom was nice and clean.
Breakfast area was a little small, but the food was okay, and the price for staying here was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank termo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

More that I was expecting, comfortable room, soft and clean beds, clean bathroom, normal breakfats and very friendly and courteus employees.

Room Tip: Use yor air miles
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank algilro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.9 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.1 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
4.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
4.8 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
896 reviews
1.2 km away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hibiscus Motel

Property: Best Western Hibiscus Motel
Address: 1313 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-3113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,319 - ₹ 23,283
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing