We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not ideal but has some advantages.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Key West
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not ideal but has some advantages.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was my first visit to Key West and I picked this hotel based on some reviews and mostly lack of time. We booked this hotel with non-refundable rates, so my decision was pretty much final. We got lucky that I picked the Ocean view room: it was huge, clean and yes, facing the Ocean. The view was absolutely great.

In my opinion, if you choose this hotel, the Ocean view rooms are your only options because you cannot hear the planes at the adjacent airport (shockingly close), and the view. Keep in mind that there is a busy road between you and the ocean, so there is a lot of traffic noise to consider.

I think the worst parts are prices (very overpriced) and location. It is probably the longest distance from Duval and all the attractions. I would recommend getting something closer to the Old Town. I was personally satisfied with my stay (besides ridiculous rates) since we spend a lot of time on the balcony looking at the Ocean.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Beam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    647
    286
    92
    57
See reviews for
574
644
34
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My 21 yr old daughter and I spent 4 nights at this hotel in March 2012. We stayed in a pool view room on the 2nd level which also gave us a nice sideways view of the ocean.
We found the room to be spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. It was so nice and quiet at night even with a group of college breakers nearby( they went into downtown to party I assume-but they were quiet coming back). Most of the spring breakers were NOT at this hotel (probably too expensive).
The complimentary breakfast was a plus and all you need to get going in the morning: good strong hot coffee, cereal or breads and fresh fruits. As many others have written, the pool area is very nice. The pool itself was very clean and heated. There are plenty of lounge chairs and pool towels. The tiki bar is also very nice and serve a nice lunch and the drinks are really great. (the rum punch was especially good). A main road runs between the hotel and the ocean (no beach) but is not an issue to cross at all. The ocean side has a nice big sidewalk which many people use to run and walk. You can walk in either direction for a mile or 2. I was aware of all the planes overhead but they were of little concern and did not bother me at all.
As others before me have noted. it is a short drive into the main downtown area although I was concerned about parking down there so we took the bus that stops at the hotel for $2 and drops you off right in town near Duval Street. We took a cab back to hotel later and was only about $15 with tip.

Room Tip: pool view room 2nd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patlob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

In October of 2005 Hurricane Wilma flooded a good part of Key West, including the area where the hotel property lies. I was quite surprised to see that although the location of my standard room is probably 8 feet above ground, and likely didn't flood, the room has been completely renovated.
The breakfast is about the same with cold cereal, waffles, toast, fruits, drinks, and pastries. Tiki bar is open next to the pool, but I didn't utilize that. Front desk staff was responsive.
The property sits adjacent to Key West International Airport, so there's plenty of aircraft going over, in addition to military traffic over the ocean on their way into Key West Naval Air Station. However, I don't think there are operations between 10pm and 6am. At least I haven't heard any noise then.
The standard rooms are in 2 buildings separated from the pool area, but it's a 2 minute walk, so no big deal. Plenty of parking. No safety concerns.
One thing to be aware of: Maid service normally comes to an end around 2pm. So if you're a late sleeper, then hit the pool with "do not disturb" out, it's likely you'll get skipped that day for fresh towels and bedding. Front desk staff did tell me that after 2pm, maid service can be had by special request.
After a few trips pre-Wilma, this property is back on my + list.

Room Tip: The name says "resort" but unless you think of a pool as resort...it's not. Some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConchyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western, and were surprised to have a view of the sunrise from in front of our room, actually in front of the hotel. Breakfast included more than we expected with waffles and boiled eggs. Lunch was available in the pool area, although we were off sightseeing, and did not go to the pool area. Flowers were planted everywhere outside, and our room was clean. Our room included a convertible couch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_L_Traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in late March. The hotel was a short drive from the Duval street hustle and bustle. We stayed in an Ocean View room that indeed had a beautiful view of the ocean and the seawall across the street. No beach but still a great view with a nice balcony. Continential breakfast was included and really good! Room itself had plush beds, huge flat screen tv and furnishing and such was new and tasteful. Pool area with bar looked nice too. Note- hotel is beside the airport but this didnt bother us at all. Couldnt hear it inside and even sipping beers in the balcony it was no bother. Great stay at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SushandRizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
2.2 km away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#38 of 50 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
1.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
2.8 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#28 of 50 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
1.9 km away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 50 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040-5255
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,002 - ₹ 23,758
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing