We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Room and Location in Key West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merlin Guest House Key West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Merlin Guest House Key West
Ranked #29 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Room and Location in Key West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for one night and loved this quaint B&B.

The room was spacious, well decorated and very clean. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

The pool is on the small side, however as we were in Key West for a day and were not interested in the pool this was irrelevant.

The staff were friendly enough, however did not know what the deal was with the parking lot up the road. On the basis that parking is an issue in Key West, staff should be able to clearly advise guests where they should park and which parking lots are 24 hours and which are not. We spent alot of time faffing around with parking which would not have been necessary if the staff were able to help us. Don't let this put you off though.

All in all a good stay, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    180
    52
    20
    13
See reviews for
41
351
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights and it blew my mind away. This place was beautiful from the moment you walk in. It so private and tucked away that you would never think that is just 2 min from Duval Street. I stayed in apt 20 King Suite and i highly recomend asking for that room. Its on the 2nd floor no rooms connecting to it. The best part about it was the HUGGGEE BATHROOM and private balcony. Also the Entire room was renovated. The Flat Screen Tv was Mounted on the wall and i have never seen that done at any hotel let alone a Bed and Breakfast.
The front desk staff was really nice and helpfull and the Breakfast in the morning was more then enough.. MERLINN INN has sold me and will always have my business when im in KEY WEST. 5 STAR HOTEL .

Room Tip: Room # 20 King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We loved Merlin's from the second we walked in! Kenneth warmly greeted us and was nothing but awesome our whole stay. He arranged bikes and a Dolphin watch for us and helped us with whatever we needed. Our room was fantastic! Big king bed and an adjoining sitting room. Great continental breakfast daily. It was out of the way but so close to everything. I would definatley stay here next time we go to Key West!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at the Merlin 8 years ago, room 16. It was just ok. This time, April 2012, we stayed in room 22 which was a renovated room.....fantastic! (I think it's the one pictured on their website and on the photo above here) This room is a King Suite and is tucked at the back of the property so it was nice and quiet.
The bed was just super, as were the linens. Yes, the pool is small but it did the job of cooling us off after a busy hot day. Yes, the place is expensive about $250 a night. BUT, this room was worth it! As you probably know, Key West is famous for over-priced lodging.
I would give this place 5 stars were it not for the mediocre breakfast: ordinary bagels and muffins,etc, the usual, watered-down oj, no other juice. There were some apples for fruit, nothing else. In KW, one would expect some fresh cut-up fruit or something a little more special/tropical for the price. Frankly, I think the Merlin could do a MUCH better job with the breakfast, with a little thought and effort.
The service was super, Kenneth at the desk bent over backwards to please us. He was very helpful. Kudos to him and the other office staff.
Ask for a renovated room since only a few have been renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and stay away from the cramped Economy Queen rooms which face noisy Simonto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Three of us stayed in the two bedroom cottage for one night.

Although some of the noise from Simonton Street was audible this place more that met our expectations. The cottage had two bedrooms, a full bathroom, living room with TV and a kitchen that had dishes, cups, stove and sink. It even had a pair of oven mitts. It even had two outdoor sitting areas. It felt like home. There was also enough cupboards and closets space that a longer stay would not be a problem.

Our cottage was spotless!

It was a bit pricey, but as they say, you get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 km away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#16 of 50 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.4 km away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.3 km away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Paradise Inn
The Paradise Inn
#14 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.9 km away
Albury Court Hotel in Key West
0.4 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#19 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guest House Key West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guest House Key West

Property: Merlin Guest House Key West
Address: 811 Simonton St, Key West, FL 33040-7445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,393 - ₹ 32,126
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guest House Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room Free Continental Breakfast Upscale Amenities Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool Historic Landmark Guesthouse Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West Lovely Neighborhood Setting Onsite and Street Parking Nearby Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Merlin Guest House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing