We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in Key West”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #37 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Oh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in Key West”
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We have been staying at the Banyan a week a year for past 5 years and will continue to return. We've also stayed at other places in Key West and find we prefer Banyan. The buildings, many of which are historic sites, are beautiful and updated with all modern convenieces and in the center of the circle of buildings is two heated pools, jacuzzi, tiki bar, and beautiful gardens including banyan trees. When sitting by the pools, it feels so secluded from the rest of the town. The units are like small apartments, we've stayed in 1 bedroom and studio sizes, with small kitchens stocked with serving/cooking items, living/dining area, bathroom, flat screen TV, air conditioning, ceiling fans. Another benefit is the location, just perfect for Key West, a block from Duval Street, few blocks from Mallory Square, and you can walk almost anywhere. The bartender at the Tiki Bar, David, is great. He makes great drinks and food ( can get breakfast and lunch there), knows all the news and gossip and is a great person to talk to. The tiki bar is a great place to hang out and get to know other guests.
If you are looking for for a full service hotel with room service, housekeeping, restaurant, and all that stuff, this is not your kind of place. At Banyan, you have the option to cook for yourself, eat casually at the Tiki Bar, and you can do your own cleaning (supplies, equipment provided) or hire staff for minimal or full scale cleaning as you choose. You'll easily get to know other guests if you hang out by the pool or tiki bar, the atmosphere is always so friendly.
When there in January 2010, you could only get high speed internet outside by the pools, but we heard they were just about to install an upgrade which would make it available in every room.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hummingbird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    96
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
186
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester County
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

A beautiful resort with lust gardens surrounded by old victorian homes converted into studios and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. Location on Key West is the best possible.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeyWest608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The Banyan offers a quiet and private drop dead tropical garden setting just a block away from all the action on Duval Street. Once your car is parked, you can walk or bike everywhere. And unless you stay in Old Town, you can't experience this unique combination of peace and excitement, old stately buildings with outrageous contemporary action just outside. Our one-bedroom apartment perched amongst the foliage of the old Banyan Trees overlooking the swimming pools, jacuzzi and the breakfast/lunch Tike bar just below.
As the new year approached, we had a quiet dinner at "home" after grilling fresh FL Maui Maui one night at the resort and then hit the bars later. No need to worry about drinking and driving. We also liked to walk down to the Hyatt/Hilton dock to watch the cruise ships or have a sunset drink overlooking the water. It was only about 3 blocks away. And it was fun to sit on the front porch near the office watching all the other tourists stop and take photos of the beautiful gardens and historic buildings. A lovely little art cinema has opened across the street and you can buy cafe con leche (our favorite Cuban coffee) next door. It is also nice to have a "suite" for the same price as many less interesting hotel rooms in town. The kitchen had a big frig and there was a t.v. in both the living room and the bedroom. You get a locked safe in the bedroom. We also had a covered private porch with French doors leading out to it. It was the perfect spot to catch up on my fiction. My only complaint is that the Jacuzzi was broken and Key West was experiencing a cold snap. We've come back to The Banyan at many different times of the year and always love it. And they promise to fix that Jacuzzi pronto!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brh841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I really enjoyed my visit to the Banyan... The proximity to the center of Old Town makes this a perfect destination for me. The full kitchen allows me to cook my meals when I want, to freeze my fish to take home, and to party and relax with 'new" friends and old. The Banyan is like going home to relax at the Tiki bar or by the pool. To say the gardens are 'exceptional' is insufficient... My room was upgraded significantly compared to my last visit, new furniture and wall hangings. For a day or a week, for my money I cannot beat the Banyan... I think you will like it also.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

This was our second stay at the Banyan. Our suite consisted of a living room w/sofa bed, a bedroom w/queen size bed (should be a king-size in this large room), a fully equipped kitchen (eat-in) and a large bath with a jacuzzi and a bidet!!! The Banyan is close to almost everything from Mallory Square to the best restaurants and Duval Street bars. The grounds are lovely and there's a tiki bar that serves great breakfasts, lunches and the best drinks in town. There are two pools (one heated) and a spa.

Everything was clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable. TVs in both living room and bedroom and a device to plug an i-Pod into. There's wi-fi but it is limited. I understand that will be expanded in 2010.

Keep in mind that these are time-share units and you are renting days that are not being used by owners. Parking is an additional cost.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#48 of 77 in Key West
231 reviews
0.2 km away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
0.2 km away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#26 of 77 in Key West
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.3 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#21 of 77 in Key West
1,490 reviews
0.3 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#10 of 77 in Key West
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,106 - ₹ 18,683
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing