We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure in Old Town Key West”
Review of The Banyan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Banyan Resort
Ranked #37 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure in Old Town Key West”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We enjoyed our week at the Banyan Resort so much the last time we visited we decided to rent for two weeks this time around. Located in the heart of Olde Town Key West, one block off Duval, the resort is made up a a collection of Homes, at least three on the National Historic Register, that surround beautiful tropical gardens. There are two pools, one family and the other adult, separated by a Tiki Hut that serves breakfasts, lunches and tropical libations till late afternoon. Limited off street parking available for resort guests, something hard to find this close to Duval and Mallory Square, so book when making reservations. Rooms are being updated with new carpet, tropical wood-like flooring and the new mattresses are Oh-S0-Comfortable. New Large Flat Screen TV''s in Living Room and Bed Rooms with digital cable. Resort offers bicycle rentals, one of the fun ways to get around this tropical island.

Room Tip: My favorite Rooms are located on the first floor,front of Historic Delaney, Locke and Cosgrove House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    96
    25
    21
    14
See reviews for
84
184
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We just arrived home from the most wonderful week in Key West at the Banyan Resort. We will definitely come back to Banyan! The grounds are beautiful and clean, pools are great, and there are always employees making sure the place looks nice. Rooms are clean and the housekeepers used extra nice touches, like the "towel swan" we found on our bed one day. Tiki bar is fun with simple breakfast and lunch items and good drinks. You must try the breakfast sandwich Bridget makes on Cuban bread with two eggs, sausage and cheese - the best! Beds were comfy. Location is perfect: one block off Duval and just a couple blocks from Mallory Square. We walked everywhere and did not bother renting a car. Beautiful grounds, friendly, convenient to everything, doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

January 2012
My husband and I invited our friends to join us in our stay at the Banyan Resort. After all it was a two bedroom timeshare which indicated it could accomodate up to six people. Not! What threw us for a loop was the one bathroom which was quite small. It was a good thing we are close friends because this unit was too small for four adult people. We only had one couch and a side chair that wasn't very comfortable to sit in at night. This is not counting the four chairs around the kitchen table or the outside chairs around the patio table. It was hard to get comfortable in the evening inside this unit. I guess if we had NOT had friends with us it would have been okay.
Since we were facing Whitehead Street it was noisy with the rumbling trucks, roosters crowing etc. so our day started extra early. I guess if you get a unit in the back the noise would not been much of a problem.

Note: There is a charge for everything, We knew about the 20 dollars a day parking fee plus tax but we were not expecting a 5 dollar a day energy surcharge. We own two timeshares Hilton and Marriott but in all my travels I have never paid a surcharge for enengy use. Just to let you know there is no salt and pepper, soap for dishes or laundry, no shampoo or conditioner, and no free daily newspapers. If you want your room cleaned there is an extra charge too. If you don't clean the place up there is an additonal charge as well. I guess I will be running the vacuum cleaner. My husband was bitten by a spider and has a nasty bite which probably came from the pool area or the room??? One last thing if you are late checking out of your room on Saturday or Sunday there is an extra charge..

What The Banyon does have is location, location, location and a beautiful pool area. In some ways I felt like I was staying in an old Bed and Breakfast hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeBee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
I am so sorry to hear of your disappointment in our resort. In an effort to prepare our Exchange Guests for their stay with us; the Interval International confirmation paperwork contains information such as the number of bathrooms, advises housekeeping and parking is available for an additional fee and alerts the guest they are responsible for any resort surcharges. The remainder of your concerns could have been alleviated by asking one of our friendly resort staff. The pump next to the kitchen sink contains dish soap and we have complimentary shampoo/conditioner available upon request at the front desk.

Daily Housekeeping including linen service is provided free of charge to our Rental Guests. However, Owners and Exchange Guests are required to purchase a housekeeping package if they desire service. We provide vacuums and cleaning supplies ample to keep the apartment clean allowing the guest the option to either pay for the services or use the tools available to clean it themselves. Regardless of the housekeeping services choice made, all guests are able to exchange bed and bath linens for clean one as often as they wish by either bringing them to the Front Desk or Housekeeping Office. All that we ask is from Owners and Exchange Guests who do not elect to pay for housekeeping services is to clean their dishes and take their garbage to the bin. Again, this does not apply to our Rental Guests.

The last thing we want is to have a guest arrive with expectations that we are not able to meet. We make every effort in the printed materials provided by the Exchange Companies to let guests know what to expect as it is our desire to have all of our guests enjoy their precious vacation time. I sincerely hope you were able to enjoy the pools our gardens and grounds as well as the remainder of your visit to our tropical island paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I wrote another review of the Banyan following a stay in August 2011, in which I expressed disappointment that the tranquility of the place had been spoiled by noisy residents.

We have just returned from another visit, which we'd booked before the August trip, and our experience this time was much better. This was the first week of January, which I wrongly expected to be busy but wasn't. The weather was unusually cool for some of our week - at times too cool to want to use the pool area. However, on the days that we did, it was always the "tranquil oasis" that it is supposed to be, and we enjoyed the stay very much.

Back in August, around the pool, space in the small areas of shade were much sought after, as it was so hot in the direct sun. In January, the exact opposite was the case - it was only warm enough if you were in the sun. Unfortunately, because the sun was lower in the sky, there was actually more shade and less sun in January, so everyone tended to huddle in the sunny areas. This really wasn't a problem but I suppose it could be if the resort were full.

Following my previous review, in which I comment on the lack of guaranteed parking for disabled guests, they seem to have updated their policy (or reminded the reservations staff of their existing policy) on this. If you have a disabled parking permit, you can phone a week or so before your visit and arrange on-site parking. We did this and they provided an ideal place, only a few steps from our room, which was perfect.

Accessibility is be difficult for a wheelchair user. Very few rooms have completely level access, but they are old historic buildings so this is understandable. To get to the pool or one of the pool-side rooms involves crossing some very course gravel in the parking are, which would be difficult in a wheelchair, and then negotiating the newly upgraded - and very attractive - paved paths through the gardens. These paths are narrow and bordered with rocks, just to be even more challenging! My wife rented a mobility scooter, which was much easier, but still required some skillful driving through these hazards.

In the past when we've stayed here we always liked room 403, which has a large balcony overlooking Whitehead Street but set back a little behind the large Banyan tree that gives the resort its name. As these days we need a ground floor room, we were lucky enough to be given 401, which is below 403 and is just as good.

The pool-side Tiki Bar now do breakfast and even deliver this to your room and charge it to your room account. I believe this is a new service that we made good use of this time.

If you like peace and tranquility, I would still strongly recommend you avoid the last week of August but overall, this time, the Banyan was just what we remembered from our visits in the past and we look forward to returning again this time next year.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the reservations staff. As more rooms become available as you get cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_from_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanyanManager, General Manager at The Banyan Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Alan ~

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this visit much more. Thank you for the second chance... We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Oh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We come to Banyan resorts every year. It's a beautiful place, lots of gardens, two pools. rooms are clean, pleasant, have full kitchen facilities so we can also make our own meals. Staff are always friendly and helpful. The location is so perfect for Key West, close to Duval, yet not so close you hear all the noise. it's a short walk to the pier where everyone watches the sunset, and a nice walk to so many other tourist attractions and nice shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummingbird58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.4 km away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
0.2 km away
Casa 325
Casa 325
#27 of 77 in Key West
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
0.3 km away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#22 of 77 in Key West
1,473 reviews
0.1 km away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#49 of 77 in Key West
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Resort

Property: The Banyan Resort
Address: 323 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040-6542
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,214 - ₹ 18,734
Hotel Class:3 star — The Banyan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in a timeless world of beauty and luxury at the first Florida Green Lodging Designated Resort in Key West. Just steps away from the world-famous Duval Street & all that Key West has to offer, including shops, restaurants, & galleries. Spend your day by one of our heated spring-fed pools, sipping drinks at our Tiki Bar, or wandering through the tropical flora in our exquisite gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Banyan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing