We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give It A Try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier House Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Give It A Try”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My friends and I stayed here in late March 2012. We had some difficulty upon check-in; we expected a AAA discount of which there was none and there was also some confusion about how much more money they wanted up front and an additional credit card ended up being used, etc. The man on duty at the front desk had a bit of an attitude on top of everything else. We then encountered difficulty at the pool when we ordered drinks; we were told we couldn't charge anything to the room because we were listed as "cash only"! How could that be when they had TWO major credit cards on file? Embarrassing to say the least! We finally straightened everything out and my friends stopped by to see the manager to let him know what was happening. We were quickly upgraded to a suite overlooking the pool at no charge! I must say, the suite was beautiful and very clean (as was our first room), the balcony was spacious and very private, almost completely covered by palm trees and foliage. The rest of the staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautiful and immaculately kept. The beach is great too - I never missed a day - though it can get very very hot if there is no breeze. Don't miss the little turtle pond and the beautiful fountains out front. If you've got the cash, give Pier House a try. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,420
    521
    156
    76
    74
See reviews for
408
1,252
38
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wattsburg
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We choose the Pier House Resort for our daughters destination wedding reception. Setting this up long distance, not ever having been there or seen it, we were very nervous that we had made a good choice. We couldn't have been more pleased! The administrative assistant, Adele Gerbracht was so very patient, kind and helpful. Adele made the task a breeze. The location was wonderful, and the food was delicious and beautiful. We were so proud of our choice!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Spent a week at The Peir House right at the end of Duval, great location, nice property with an excellent and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Although the room prices are high, they don't add on all those annoying little extras like a "resort charge" (a breathtakingly greedy and stupid concept). They provide a free mini-fridge in each room, and cold water coolers by the pool and on the beach. There is no extra charge for beach/pool chairs and towels (although of course you'll want to tip the staff). Staff was all super; Mary was particularly helpful with on-target dining recommendations for my group.
My only complaint was that the stone floors, though nice and cool, are only swept daily, not washed. By the end of our stay, all of our group were complaining that our feet got black from walking on them - otherwise, the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Standard rooms can range from awful to excellent, but Lanai rooms are all pretty good. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liontamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us. We do pride ourselves in not charging nickel and dime fees. We also strive to keep our resort in pristine condition. Our room attendants are instructed to mop the floors daily. This has been addressed and reviewed with all our room attendants. Thank you again for sharing your recent experience and we look forward to welcoming you back with spotless floors.

Eric VanHove
Executive Housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I have now stayed at the Pier House twice.

The first stay was four nights in early to mid-January, 2011. We walked in and got a spacious room with a queen sized bed, a balcony with a view of the gulf, a lovely bathroom with a large shower with a rain showerhead, terrific housekeeping and room service, and they knocked 50 bucks off the usual price.

The gulfside bar was a blast, the dining deck a treat with great service, a fantastic view and food to compete with anything in town. The beach itself was cozy, sandy, and there was a raft in the clean and private swimming area. We're fro Cape Cod, and the water was like it is at home in August; perfect.

The spa...ahhhhh, what can I say, except that in my 66 years I cannot remember a better massage.

We are not wealthy, but no one ever made us feel uncomfortable or out of place for a second.

We returned this year for four more days, this time in late February, and everything I said above applies, with one glaring exception:

We reserved a room identical to the room we had had a year earlier, but when we arrived we discovered that we had been upgraded to a suite...at no additional charge.

Needless to say, we'll be back, and urge everyone who reads this to make sure they try the Pier House at least once in this lifetime; to fail to do so may result in an eternity of regret.

P.S. We drove both times and never used the car. Parking is plentiful.

P.P.S. My wife read this and reminded me to mention the magnificent tropical gardens on the hotel grounds. What a place.

Room Tip: Does not matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russelldefense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFountain, Manager at Pier House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your loyalty to our resort. We are very fortunate to have devoted guests and appreciate your feedback.
We will pass along the praises to the restaurant, spa and grounds departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.7 km away
Southernmost Beach Resort
3.3 km away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
2.2 km away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.1 km away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,479 reviews
0.5 km away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Resort & Spa

Property: Pier House Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-6610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,728 - ₹ 37,829
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps nothing is more "Key West" than the Pier House Resort and Spa -it's like no other. Elegant accommodations, lush gardens, a private beach, a selection of restaurants and bars, a full-service spa and a for real let-your-hair-down attitude all come together in a tropical escape that simply can't be duplicated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Hotel Key West
Pier Hotel Key West
Pier House Key West Florida
Pier Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing