We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will use again.”
Review of Southpoint Divers

Southpoint Divers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Key West's Premier Dive Operation running daily trips to the Vandenberg, the world's 2nd largest wreck dive, and to the worlds 3rd largest barrier reef. Our Dive Shop is a Certified ScubaPro dealer and carries everything you need for a great dive.
Wilmington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will use again.”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Southpoint divers was an unexpected good time. We strolled into the shop while walking around and booked a Vandenberg dive for the following day. Shop person was easy and nice to deal with. The dive boat was big, the equipment new. Our captain and guides (Steve and Mitch) were friendly and accommodating. I vaguely remember reading some unfriendly remarks when I was doing my pre-vacation research but don't have a single complaint from our experience. We followed up the Vandenberg with a shallow reef dive, which was just what we wanted to do. End of dive was relaxing as we did not have to break down our equipment or carry it back to storage. Overall really nice!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ktsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    36
    21
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great morning”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

South point took us at to the Vandenburg on a beautiful rainy morning. First class boat! The 46 Newton is just a great dive platform, especially when its just 4 :) First class Captain! Henry was our dive master( also first class) and was a pleasure to talk to. Thanks for the dives Henry.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Narcosis360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The only shop to dive with in Key West!!!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My friends and I have gone diving with Southpoint Divers on two separate trips down to Key West and I can't see us ever going anywhere else. We all started out with a resort/intro course since none of us were certified. Our instructor Henry Rose was ver knowledgeable and made sure everyone in the group was completely at ease with the skills we needed before we ever left the pool at the resort. After his expert instruction we all felt confident and ready to handle open water conditions. Every crew member on every dive was always willing to help any way they could. They knew everything about the diving sites and kept our safety as a top priority.

On our second trip to the keys, we requested to have Henry as an instructor again and completed our open water certification. Once again, his knowledge and skill was unmatched. He made sure to we were all well prepared, and even went further than the required education and skills to teach us as much as he could in the time we were with him.

I have since gone diving with other dive shops in other destinations and have always compared them to Southpoint as the gold standard. None of the others could even compare. It seems like many places just do the bare minimum, while Henry and the team at Southpoint go above and beyond for their customers to make the experience amazing. We will definitely dive with them again on our next trip to the Keys.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EricBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend Henry the Dive Instructor at Southpoint Divers!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I have been diving several times at southpoint and everytime I request to dive with Henry as my guide underwater. He knows the water very well and is very helpful in making sure that the scuba equipment I have is up to par and safe. He even went so far as to take us out on another boat one day when SouthPoint did not have enough divers to make the trip worth there wild for a trip out to the reef.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive on The Vandenberg”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We dove the Vandenberg with Southpoint Divers. They run a first class operation. Everything from the reservation, to the gear rental, the boat ride and the dive were done efficiently and professionally. The gear was all new, includine dive computers for each diver who did not have his or her own. They provided a safe dive in challenging conditions.

They are a conservative dive shop and will not sacrifice safety just to put you in the water. The first day, the current was too strong and we did a different dive where the current was less severe -- The Cayman Salvager. The second day we went back to the Candenberg. Although the current was strong, our guide John was able to attach the guide ropes and we proceeded to do the dive. (Tropical Mike, the captain was still not too keen about letting us in the water that day either.)

The Vandenberg is a fun dive and Southpoint is the dive shop to take there.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 10RatsRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southpoint Divers also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Southpoint Divers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing