We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everyone must experience KW in the Bight- Unbelievable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Key West Sailing Adventure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Key West Sailing Adventure
Ranked #67 of 85 Key West B&B and Inns
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone must experience KW in the Bight- Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying and sailing with Captain Albert over New Years 2011. We spent five nights on the Obsession then added two additional nights on the Wildthing. Both boats are adequate with the Wildthing just slightly nicer. Staying in the KW Bight is the best. We have stayed in KW several times but liked this area the best. Experience KW like a local and stay with KWSA. Captain Albert will take care of you in every way. And sailing out to the reef in the blue-green waters is an experience you will cherish. We loved every minute of our stay and would encourage all to stay an sail with KWSA.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomAndVenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

My wife, 11 year old daughter, and I stayed aboard the Wildthing for four wonderful nights. We did an overnight with Captain Albert and First Mate Nancy on my wife’s birthday. Nancy cooked us a great fish dinner and breakfast the next day. The weather (i.e. beginning of Tropical Storm Nichole) changed our itinerary somewhat, but Captain Albert was on top of the approaching weather and gave us sound options. We ended up with a great sail, sleeping under the moon, and watching the storms off in the horizon. Once the storm passed, we were able to make it to the reef two days later for a great snorkel (thank you Captain Brad and First Mate Rich). Truly, a great sailing and snorkeling adventure all around.

We found the boat to be in very good shape and Nancy had it ready for our arrival. Yes, the boat has only the basic amenities, but this is what we liked about it. We were not looking for a cruise ship or the Hilton, but a solid sailing vessel that promised an adventure; and we found it at Key West Sailing Adventures. Wildthing sails well, is very comfortable, has a good air conditioning system that kept us cool on the hot and humid nights, a refrigerator that kept our drinks and snacks cold, a stereo system so we could listen to our MP3 and IPod , clean bedding and towels, and most importantly, character. Ok, you have to pump the heads and keep them drained, but this is a boat after all. The marina restroom and showers were very clean and convenient.

You really can’t beat the location. Dante’s offers a great swimming pool, bar and restaurant; there is excellent coffee and breakfast at the Cuban Coffee Queen; terrific bread, cheese and cake at the Old Town Bakery (I highly recommend the chocolate ganache cake); and bike rentals from Eaton Street Bike Shop all within a few minute walk from the boat. Try the El Siboney restaurant for authentic and affordable Cuban food, the conch ceviche at the Turtle Kraals, fried fresh fish at the B.O. Fish Wagon, the great local crowd at the Schooner Wharf, and don’t forget the wild and crazy times on Duval Street a few blocks away. Everything you will want to see in Key West is a short walk or bike ride from the marina.

All three of us give Key West Sailing Adventures (a.k.a. Boom Boom Charters) its captain(s) and crew, and the experience two thumbs up. Thank you for a great vacation. P.S. my daughter is hooked on snorkeling and loved the boat, the dolphins, sea turtles, rays, and plentiful fish. She says that Key West is the place to be and Wildthing is the place to stay. I think I see a future diver/marine biologist in the making.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dave727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

My friend and i enjoyed a wonderful, romantic weekend aboard the floating B&B, , Obsession. Although we have stayed in fine hotels in many countries, this is the first time we had ever lived on a yacht. It was so much fun to be right in the middle of things in Key West, to walk to Waterfront Market, cafes, and restaurants and then return to the serenity of our cabin and be rocked to sleep in our beautiful cabin. The people on the dock were very friendly and we felt like we were locals. Captain Albert, our host, is a charming man who saw to all our needs. I heartily recommend this place to all visitors to the magical place of Key West.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleamarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have stayed with Capt. Albert on his boats every year since 1998. The sailing trips are outstanding, the boats are always very comfortable and clean. Capt. Albert's shipboard meals are always something we look forward to. Their location is just steps away from some of the best restaurants and nightlife on the island. I would highly recommend this company and their activities.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 km away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#73 of 85 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 km away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
0.1 km away
The Marker Waterfront  Resort Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#44 of 85 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 km away
Artist House
Artist House
#9 of 85 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.3 km away
Garden House
Garden House
#65 of 85 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Sailing Adventure? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Sailing Adventure

Property: Key West Sailing Adventure
Address: 201 William St, E Docks 10, 11 and 12, Key West, FL 33040-6679
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,587 - ₹ 42,744
Hotel Class:3 star — Key West Sailing Adventure 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three sailboats are located side by side. Perfect for a family vacation, wedding and honeymoon at sea, restate vows at sunset, couples getaway romantic weekend. Plan a corporate retreat, book one or all three. This is more like a boatel with economy to larger vessels in choices. 44 foot Morgan, 42 foot Irwin or 37 foot O'Day to choose from; each have unique personalities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Key West Sailing Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing