We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, OK room, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Cove Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bay Cove Motel
Ranked #10 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location, OK room, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We found this place via google not knowing the area. We liked their beach access and closeness to everything. Room lacked hanging space unless you count some hooks on the wall. We had clean sheets and linens when we arrived but they did not come once to make beds, empty trash or bring fresh towels in 3 days.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank datageek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    49
    19
    7
    12
See reviews for
38
68
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wilton manors
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

nothing fancy, older place but clean and what a spot! Close to all kinds of good spots, restaurants, bars on water and right on the gulf. Can sip a cocktail on the hammock, take a dip off the pier, or kayak. Quiet,nice. Patty and Margo were great with tips on good spots to eat and accommodating with everything else. Park right there and you're in. Can walk to Bayside Grill for music and watch the sunset or watch it right there at Bay Cove. Local breakfast diners as well. Casual and relaxing motel. Marie and Joe will be down there again : )

Room Tip: some rooms have a direct gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My family stayed for a few days. We didn't spend much time in the motel because there is so much to do in the area. I loved the feel of the place! With some attention and deep cleaning, it could be perfect! We had little ants (I think) everywhere! They got in everything...including my cereal bowl WHILE I was eating out of it! Gross! My dresser had a dirty washcloth in it that must have been put in wet because the whole drawer smelled like mold. There were stains on all the linens and the couch cover was dirty. A little attention to detail and maybe some fumigating would make this place perfect. I loved that they had kayaks and snorkel gear to use for free...although I was worried about using the snokel because if everything else was dirty, there was no guarantee that they sanatized the snorkel mouthpiece. Ick! Overall, I had a good time. Probably because I spent most of my time outside!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan_Lafey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Had a blast and it was right on the water and the staff was friendly and knowledgable. Thanks again Patty we will be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmoney1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed for days in Febr 2012 after cruising the carribean. We really enjoyed this place. No fancy flat screen Tv or something but just quiet, close to the ocean, nice trees and squirells around. Was like living in a park. Old but nice and clean. We had nr 8, with oven, micro and stove. Everything you need for an economic stay. Friendly staff

We are coming back. I hope it will be a tarpoon fishing trip spring 2013.
As I said its not for those of you that is used with 200dollars hotels. This is much better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
4.2 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
7.7 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#9 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.5 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pelican
The Pelican
#7 of 17 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cove Motel

Property: Bay Cove Motel
Address: 99446 Overseas Hwy, MM 99.5, Bayside, Key Largo, FL 33037-2494
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,430
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Bay Cove Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing