We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to stay”
Review of MB at Key Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MB at Key Largo
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dove Creek Lodge for one night on our way down to Key West. Check In was easy with friendly staff. Location was excellent as was the room and facilities. Breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful with outdoor seating on the verandah overlooking the sea, a perfect start to our holiday. Would not hesitate to return. In our opinion an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 571 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dove Creek for one night on our way down to Key West. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hestiate to stay there again. The room was newly decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and large. They have a nice pool and outdoor area to enjoy the sun. The hotel staff were friendly and accomendating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

First, if you are expecting a high quality property, keep searching. This is a property that has apparently had a walmart budget for everything from kitchen appliances, cabinets, counters, floors and linens. We arrived to a unit that had mildew around the bathroom, dirty dishes, only a couple of pots for a full kitchen suite, a toilet that barely flushes, and an air conditioning unit that has trouble keeping up and sounds like a submarine surfacing when it kicks on. Their "luxury suite" has no porch and you must climb four flights of stairs to get to it.

As a further example of this unit's quality, while the slide-in oven is newer, the slot in the counter is not and was a different size. Thus, at the back of the oven is a two inch gap where things like an old mayonnaise packet has fallen. Also, the stove was leveled by folding a piece of cardboard to put under the front foot. Classy.

When we checked in and expressed our desire to have a porch, they at first offered a different room, but when we arrived in the office less than 5 minutes later to switch, they no longer had a room available, saying another guest had just showed up. Yesterday, we came back to our room only to discover a maid had walked right past our "privacy please" sign and was in our unit. I could keep going on and on.

In short, this is best characterized as a older property for someone on a budget. It is way past its prime. The location isn't bad, but there are way nicer places in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, 2 people and a boat. Dockage was great, easy to et in and out for the reef's and offshore fishing. Paid $40.00 a day for the boat, that's high but not uncommon depending where you stay. The pool syaed "murky" our wntire visit so we chose showers after returning form the sea. FYI Molasses reef is aprox 7 miles east, you can see the reek marker from Dove Creek. The room was a king bed with a seperate sitting area. Comfy bed, excellent bath and clean throughout. Staff was very helpful and friendly, specifically the front desk clerk and a maint man that assisted me getting my boat docked, trailer stowed and directions to a ramp etc etc. Really enjoyed my visit here. Also, I've seen mentions of sewage flowing into the ocean, that's soem type of aerator! The water was beautiful!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon to Key Largo / The Florida Keys. I was blown away by the beautiful view. The hotel was soo clean and the staff was so nice and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable (hotel beds are never comfy!). The breakfast was amazing and there was a wide selection of healthy food choices. As far as location goes - there is so much to do in the area. But we also really enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks or the swing outside. The pool was very warm and refreshing. At the end of our 10 day trip neither one of us wanted to go home - because Dove Creek Lodge made us feel like we were home! I really can't say anything negative about this place. We will definately be coming back. You definately won't regret staying here!
Suzanne B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
8.3 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,587 reviews
4 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
4.7 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,608 reviews
8.4 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
3.5 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MB at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MB at Key Largo

Address: 147 Seaside Avenue, Mile Marker 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892 (Formerly Dove Creek Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Key Largo
Price Range: ₹ 12,767 - ₹ 23,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MB at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MB at Key Largo is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. MB at Key Largo is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience. Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your MB at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing