We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dove Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dove Creek Lodge
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Certificate of Excellence
Calverleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dove Creek Lodge for one night on our way down to Key West. Check In was easy with friendly staff. Location was excellent as was the room and facilities. Breakfast was healthy, tasty and plentiful with outdoor seating on the verandah overlooking the sea, a perfect start to our holiday. Would not hesitate to return. In our opinion an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    220
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
125
560
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden,CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dove Creek for one night on our way down to Key West. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hestiate to stay there again. The room was newly decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and large. They have a nice pool and outdoor area to enjoy the sun. The hotel staff were friendly and accomendating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

First, if you are expecting a high quality property, keep searching. This is a property that has apparently had a walmart budget for everything from kitchen appliances, cabinets, counters, floors and linens. We arrived to a unit that had mildew around the bathroom, dirty dishes, only a couple of pots for a full kitchen suite, a toilet that barely flushes, and an air conditioning unit that has trouble keeping up and sounds like a submarine surfacing when it kicks on. Their "luxury suite" has no porch and you must climb four flights of stairs to get to it.

As a further example of this unit's quality, while the slide-in oven is newer, the slot in the counter is not and was a different size. Thus, at the back of the oven is a two inch gap where things like an old mayonnaise packet has fallen. Also, the stove was leveled by folding a piece of cardboard to put under the front foot. Classy.

When we checked in and expressed our desire to have a porch, they at first offered a different room, but when we arrived in the office less than 5 minutes later to switch, they no longer had a room available, saying another guest had just showed up. Yesterday, we came back to our room only to discover a maid had walked right past our "privacy please" sign and was in our unit. I could keep going on and on.

In short, this is best characterized as a older property for someone on a budget. It is way past its prime. The location isn't bad, but there are way nicer places in the vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, 2 people and a boat. Dockage was great, easy to et in and out for the reef's and offshore fishing. Paid $40.00 a day for the boat, that's high but not uncommon depending where you stay. The pool syaed "murky" our wntire visit so we chose showers after returning form the sea. FYI Molasses reef is aprox 7 miles east, you can see the reek marker from Dove Creek. The room was a king bed with a seperate sitting area. Comfy bed, excellent bath and clean throughout. Staff was very helpful and friendly, specifically the front desk clerk and a maint man that assisted me getting my boat docked, trailer stowed and directions to a ramp etc etc. Really enjoyed my visit here. Also, I've seen mentions of sewage flowing into the ocean, that's soem type of aerator! The water was beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danny221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon to Key Largo / The Florida Keys. I was blown away by the beautiful view. The hotel was soo clean and the staff was so nice and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable (hotel beds are never comfy!). The breakfast was amazing and there was a wide selection of healthy food choices. As far as location goes - there is so much to do in the area. But we also really enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks or the swing outside. The pool was very warm and refreshing. At the end of our 10 day trip neither one of us wanted to go home - because Dove Creek Lodge made us feel like we were home! I really can't say anything negative about this place. We will definately be coming back. You definately won't regret staying here!
Suzanne B.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Key Largo
11.9 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
3.5 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
4.0 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
4.7 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
22.6 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dove Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dove Creek Lodge

Property: Dove Creek Lodge
Address: 147 Seaside Ave, MM 94.5 Oceanside, Key Largo, FL 33037-3892
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Key Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,547 - ₹ 28,010
Hotel Class:3 star — Dove Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly part of the Ascend Collection of Choice Hotels, Dove Creek Lodge is an intimate island style boutique hotel. Warm, friendly and uncomplicated. Inspired by the lore of Hemingway's Caribbean hideaways. Dove Creek Lodge is the perfect choice for your next island retreat. Located on the Atlantic Ocean, in Key Largo, Dove Creek lodge sits adjacent to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park. In the center of the best fishing, diving and family fun you will ever experience.Come, step through our doors and see what we're all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dove Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dove Creek Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing