We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Azul del Mar
Ranked #5 of 18 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This is a small resort on the water. As with most of the Keys there is no real beach, but the location is near perfect. The room was spacious with a small kitchen and dining area, living room and a small sitting room overlooking the water, a separate bedroom and a small bathroom. The staff were very helpful, accommodating and a good source of local information.
I would recommend this spot for anyone interested in just relaxing with nor much else to do.
When we arrived the hotel was not booked so they upgraded us to larger room without having to ask.
Not good for kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magic165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    83
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
275
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamshire, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had 5 nights at this great little hotel, so much more intimate than our normal chain hotels we stay with. We had an Ocean Fronted room, which to be honest you cant really see the ocean (or actually the bay as its bay side) from, but thats fine, why would you want to look at the bay from your room when you can sit lazily on the dock watching the sunset. We even had a Dolphin come in when it was getting dark, but you could hear it and then see it from the lights of the marina next door..... Lovely.

There are very few 'big hotel' facilities at this hotel, but you get a fridge, microwave and coffee machine. and there is even a Weber Grill in the grounds to be used if you dont want to head out. We used this a couple of nights, lovely.

The rooms are very comfortable and had everything we needed, this hotel is just pure relaxation. We we heard the leaf blower as well, but to be honest we just got with things and ignored the noise. You cant have the immaculate grounds that Azul has without constant attention from the grounds men.

Our second choice was going to be the Hilton Key Largo, we did an Eco Tour (Well worth doing by the way) from here and i am so glad we choose the Azul rather than the Hilton, they had a very cramped beach with lots and lots of guests vieing for space... Yuck....

The Kayak rental from the hotel was great, you just ask the gardner and he gets everything sorted for you, had a great paddle out in to the bay and saw the properties from a different perspective, lovely.

We had no issues with this hotel whatsoever, and would thoroughly recommend !

Room Tip: The 2 rooms that are towards the bay seem to be the 'nicest' from what i saw, or there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chunky-M0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Lovely setting, excellent service and very well worth the cost. Staff helpful and charming. Sunset cruise was delightful, made special by Dominque's good cheer and enthusiasm of the natural setting. Saw dolphins and great birds. Restful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnesoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Ok, so I had a very hard time rating this review as we loved Azul, the staff and almost everything else. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The privacy is commendable. The comfort factor is taken care of and I can say so much more, but the property was so noisy EVERY single day from the workers leaf-blowing that we found ourselves clenching our teeth in misery over the hours of raging noise. It was such a true paradise to be in in so many ways, but my husband and I were so surprised at how disruptive the daily leaf blowing got to be. It is a small property, so the noise echoed and went on and on. Other guests there started to just shake their heads and try to get out to the dock so they could be as far away as possible. If you were trying to have a romantic or lazy day in your room - forget it! It sounded like a train coming through for hours. Someone said they spoke to the owner/manager but he won't just narrow it down to a day or two a week - bizarre considering there were hardly any leaves. Anyway, if you are one that needs true peace and quiet for your serenity, then do not pick Azul. As I said, everythng else is PERFECT but the leaf-blowing noise is unbearable if you want to just relax on the property during your stay there.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank oceanfix4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AzulKeyLargo, Owner at Azul del Mar, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
We sincerely apologize to this guest and other guests who may feel aggrieved by our efforts to cleanly maintain Azul del Mar and its environment.

We had employed a landscape contractor whose focus was out of balance with the daily maintenance of indigenous foliage and preserving the serenity and calm that we are renown for. It wasn’t a good fit and he is no longer here.

At Azul del Mar, we do try to time our services to coincide with the moment of least impact. Yes, there is work to do and unfortunately leaf management is a daily requirement - but clearly within the boundaries of reason.

Rest assured that our current groundkeepers are instructed to consider visitors first at all times. And a quiet word is all it takes to prevent a repeat of the "raging noise" endured on occasions past.

Again, we apologize and at the same time thank this guest for their positive comments on other aspects of the stay at Azul del Mar, namely that "the comfort factor and so much more was taken care of and that it was a true paradise to be in in so many ways"! This is the environment we set out to achieve and appreciate its recognition as such even under these circumstances.

Dominic Marsden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Farms, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were planning a scuba diving trip in Key Largo and looking for nicer place to stay with character, charm and a waterfront view. We found all this and more at Azul de Mar. Our room, Orchidea, was gorgeous and comfortable with great red leather couches facing the water, a perfect fully outfitted kitchen with dishwasher and a very comfortable bed with luxurious linens. After a mornings of diving, we enjoyed coming back, chilling out on the beach chairs on the dock or the mini-beach area, using the grill, napping in the hammocks or borrowing a movie from Azul's large collection. The property is clean, private and classy and the no children rule ensured that it would be very relaxing. We also met several other fun couples from around the world who were also staying there and ended up sharing a meal and good conversation. Kelly, the hotel manager, was especially friendly and helpful. Overall an awesome experience and we will definitely be back.

(We also stayed at Azul de Mar in Key West which had a different vibe but was equally awesome!)

Room Tip: Orchidea was a great room with a water facing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLD711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
15.6 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
19.0 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
17.9 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
0.9 km away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul del Mar

Property: Azul del Mar
Address: 104300 Overseas Hwy, Key Largo, FL 33037-2935
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,056 - ₹ 27,585
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Azul del Mar is an exquisitely renovated boutique hotel nestled in a tropical garden on Florida Bay, Key Largo. The five stylish suites boast marble floors, dark wood furniture, mustard leather sofas, granite counter tops and ice blue bathroom tile. Feather down comforters and the best all cotton linens add a romantic quality to this secluded getaway. Ideal for sailing, diving, fishing, kayaking or simple relaxtion, Azul is Key Largo's best kept secret. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Azul del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Del Mar Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing