We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$306
View deal
Expedia.com
$306
View deal
Agoda.com
$258
View deal
Hotels.com$306
Travelocity$306
ZenHotels.com$315
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
950 results
Traveller rating
353
291
138
62
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
353
291
138
62
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free kayaks smallest room old florida waterfront suite mrs macs laid back mac's kitchen only stayed one night watch the sunset small beach beach area tiki hut live music hidden gem beautiful sunset stayed longer palm trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 950 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2022

Family getaway for a few days in the Keys. The Pelican Key Largo offered simple but comfortable accommodations. The room was clean and spacious. They are on the water and have a beach area with 3 docks you can enjoy incredible sunset views from. There are at least 3 restaurants a very short walk from the property. You can also check out Kayaks at no charge. My only small gripe was that the Kayaks had to be in by 7pm. It may have something to do with lighting, but In the summer the sun sets after 8pm and its much cooler. Anyway, I highly recommend The Pelican Key Largo Cottages.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jecleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2022

Thank you for the review. We're very happy to hear that your family was able to gather and relax in our slice of paradise. We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican. On a side note, the kayaks are required to be off the water by 7pm for guest safety as they do not have lights on them. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2022 via mobile

What a great surprise this place was. We had been in Key West and wanted to break our onward journey with 2 nights in Key Largo. The Pelican Cottages may be basic but they are clean and in a fabulous location with great friendly staff. The private beach area and 3 piers with incredible views are great and the free use of the kayaks is top class.
There are 4 great restaurants right beside this accommodation 2 of which have sunset views and live music.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. A real gem.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MacOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2022

Thank you so much for the great review! We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022

My family and I booked a two day stay, when we got there the computer system had us coming in the next day for only one day stay. We showed email confirmation that we had a two day stay instead of one day. Front desk said there was nothing to do but to find another place to stay and come back next day at 4:00pm. We drove three states away to stay at these Cottages and was very disappointed. It took us over two hours to find another place because it was a holiday weekend. WE WILL NOT BE STAYING AND WE DO NOT recommend THIS place.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Service
Thank F5538RMaliciab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2022

We are very sorry that there was an issue with your reservation. As soon as we learned of the problem, we immediately refunded your payment and attempted to find alternate lodging for you. A mistake was made by a staff member who was still in training. This certainly was not an ideal situation for anyone involved. We do hope that you were able to enjoy you time in the Keys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2022

They gave away a paid in full room and could not offer full compensation back were sold out and the drive was over 3 hours. Rude customer service by the manager. Unprofessional service, no phone call prior to cancelling.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Youmanele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2022

We must apologize but we seem to be having difficulty in finding any details of your reservation. Please feel free to contact us to further discuss this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2022

These cottages are right on the Florida Bay and perfect for a beautiful sunset over the Gulf. Kayaks are available for use by guests. The "cottage" looked as if it hadn't been updated since the fifties with the exception of the window style air conditioner, microwave, stove with oven, and refrigerator. Unfortunately, if you plan on doing any cooking, there are no pots or pans or oven utensils so forget about it being a fully functional kitchen. The ice machine is $.25 for your small room bucket. For $250 a night in the Keys......I could have done worse but expect no frills here.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbilly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2022

Thank you for the review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We are a vintage property and try very hard to have an "old Florida" type vibe that harkens back to simpler times. We try to be good stewards of the property and attempt to update without losing the charm. Due to the pandemic, we were forced to scale back on kitchen implements and used more single service type wares. We will be restocking the kitchens very soon and will provide the basics. We do charge a quarter for ice but this is only to discourage the filling of large coolers, a real concern in a community well known for fishing and water activities. We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews