We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$199
Travelocity$199
Trip.com$258
Priceline$199
Hotels.com$199
Tripadvisor$199
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveller rating
340
286
135
58
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
340
286
135
58
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach daze free kayaks old florida boat ramp mrs macs laid back mac's kitchen only stayed one night watch the sunset small beach water front tiki hut hidden gem stayed longer full kitchen pelicans docks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 919 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2021

The redone rooms are very spacious and clean. The beach is well kept and a very relaxing spot to spend the week. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance. The staff is very friendly! A great place to stay and a very great price!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 577kelynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2021

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2021

This place just feels like a throw-back to the 50s with its tiny, dated beach-side, pastel cottages. It is very well maintained, and the staff and the guests couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. We did enjoy the small beach, the sunsets and the kayaking during our stay.

The room was spotless, if in need of some touches like a place to hang your clothes. No closet. No hangers. They did give you everything else you might need, however.

The location of the resort, directly on rte. 1 is great. Our room, however, was directly on rte. 1, which was not great! Unyielding, ear-splitting traffic all night long and a very loud a/c unit prevented us from getting any sleep at all.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but only if we can get a cottage on the beach and away from the road noise.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nottinghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2021

We're very happy ro hear that you enjoyed our "old Florida" feel and vintage vibe! Our amazing location on the beautiful Florida Bay offers the perfect spot to soak up some sun and enjoy a world famous sunset from our private beach. Our waterfront suites offer a quiet, relaxing atmosphere that is completely free of the passing traffic noise. We do hope to welcome you back again very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Booked a cottage for one night because I’d be working that evening in Key Largo singing at a local venue. The gig was cancelled the day before due to high winds and bad weather expected. I called a day ahead and explained the situation to the woman manager who answered the phone. “ no cancellations and no refunds “ was all she said. When I further said I don’t want a refund, I just want to change the date to our rescheduled show date, and it was met with “ no changes allowed”. I said l perform down there a lot and this isn’t very “ customer friendly”..I got silence back.
So we decided to go anyway, even tho I wasn’t working and try to enjoy since she was so adamant about it.
It’s overpriced for the one small room and tiny bathroom. Forget sleeping- like a previous poster said ..whenever the AC kicks on it’s very loud and wakes you up. Also very thin small towels just screamed “cheap!”.
We will never stay there again. Lots of better nearby options that are customer service oriented.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank claudetterocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Due to the nature of how you booked the room as a non-refundable type, this reservation could not be cancelled or modified to other dates. You called us the day before arrival to switch dates or cancel and our desk agent correctly informed you that this would not be possible. We're very sorry if you do not agree with this policy but the reservation that you selected was only for the specific dates that you booked. The Pelican offers quality accommodations at some of the best prices to be found in the fabulous Florida Keys. Additionally, we do offer a full range of towels including bath towels, hand towels, beach towels and wash cloths. Our A/C units were very recently updated in all units and are the industry standard for efficient operation and noise levels. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss or require additional information regarding this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

Grabbed the last water front cottage available. Cramped bed room but spacious living area. Dated set up but very clean. Walk out of the door to a beach and pier. Beautiful sunsets. All the cottages are surrounded by beautiful vegetation.
Great value!
If you have kids this is a great spot. Free kayaking and clear water.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank tlwilson11218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2021

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay on our amazing waterfront! We couldn't agree more that The Pelican is the place to be for loads of family fun in the sun! We hope to welcome you back very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2021

My husband and I were planning another trip to the Keys. This time we reserved a "cottage" in Key Largo. The Pelican is a nice place because of being close to places to go on foot. The room was an average room with a good size bathroom. The AC was not the best, it sounded like the compressor or fan was loose and every time it kicked on it made a loud noise. Trying to sleep at night was hard because you would hear that and wake you up. The room is clean and comfortable. Outside is a table nd chairs to sit in and enjoy the mornings with your coffee. It has a beach area that is nice and three docks to sit on and enjoy the day or a nice sunset in the evening. No fishing from the docks. Kyacks are available for a two hours limit. I think it was a little pricey for what it offers. No breakfast because of Covid.

Room tip: They are all non smoking but don't get close to the traffic area.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Cheri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Godsey, Owner at The Pelican Key Largo Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay. The Pelican offers many different types and styles of units, from small economy type to large spacious waterfront suites with plenty of room for all! We do apologize if you were disturbed by the a/c as all of our units have recently been replaced that are the standard for noise and efficiency in our industry. We'll definitely have a look to insure that it is operating at acceptable levels. We feel that it is important to point out that fishing as well as swimming is permitted from our docks and we even have filet tables installed on the docks to assist you when you reel in dinner! We hope to welcome you back again very soon and as always, thank you for choosing The Pelican!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews