We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Camping on a driveway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Camping on a driveway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was the worst camping experience i have ever had! We were so excited to be tent camping here for 3 days. But when we arrived we were soon disapointed to learn that our very public camp site was sandwhiched between two loud and stinky RVs and off a freshly blacktoped road. The fumes from the road loomed over us like a toxic
cloud. Our stay was made worse by the constant sounds of blowers being driven around by maintenance workers in golf carts to blow off rocks from the road. There was nothing natural about this setting. It was like camping out in a driveway in anywhere USA. Nights there werr horrible because the constant lights, tv and AC being on. There really should be an area seperate from RVs. This place is great for RVs because the campsites are so close to eachother. This place is more like an RV park than a campground. You cannot even get a stake in ground (we even used a hatchet) because the limestone rocks that cover the camping driveway are so compacted. So in closing come to play here the swiming is great but do not stay here if you are in a tent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SonyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    41
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
49
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkrange, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Visited the park and stayed 10 days. Best time was on the dive boat wtih Captain Dan, Rick, Lindnsey, Sue and Drew. They were an awesome crew that made diving at Key Largo fantastic!!!! Will go back next year....not only to stay in the park but to dive with the best dive team ever! The only drawback that I saw.....NO TIP JAR for the crew on the boat. Its nice to let the guys and gals know they are appreciated for all the work they do. Not only did they carry the tanks to the boat, changed your tanks after your first dive and then carried the tanks to get filled. Drew was a good tour guide of the Spiegel....awesome wreck dive! He also made sure we had a good time on the dive!

Room Tip: Call a Year ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rice4of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

The employees obviously have no motivation. So many other places in Key Largo with staff who are passionate about your experience. Everything you can do in the park you can do elsewhere. I will say the glassbottom boat is better than the other one in Key Largo and that captain seems to be very good at his job.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowWorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

John Pennekamp State Park and Campground is located in Key Largo Florida, one of the first Keys (islands) reached by the Overseas Hwy US-1. It is a very clean, well maintained, and affordable park/campground. The small visitor center features informative and educational marine exhibits about the coral reefs just off shore. The gift shop/cafe sells higher priced clothes and souviners, affordable tasty lunch items, and tickets for the glass bottom boat excursion, snorkel trips, kayak rentals, and camping sites. We took the 2 hour glass bottom boat excursion and had a great experience. There were a lot of families with small kids and all on board had a fun time. The boat is spacious with ample seating and the glass bottom viewing wells are large enough for all passengers to see the marine life and coral. The guide does a good job of pointing out coral and marine life and explaining about both. The price for the excursion is $25 per adult, a little expensive, but still worth it, for a great experience on a safe, well maintained, and well crewed boat.

Happy Trails

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Went for camping for 4 nights. We left before the first night because we we were attacked by noseeums. They bite, burn, itch and welt. They are so small screens don't stop them.

The beach was also convered in trash from memorial weekend. So sad to see careless tourists ruin the beauty of the keys like that.

Had to pay 10$ to cancel.

Please do something about your bugs pennekamp!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tropicgal1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,209 reviews
12.9 km away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
4.5 km away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#10 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
7.8 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
1.9 km away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds

Property: John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds
Address: 102601 Rte 1, Key Largo, FL
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Key Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,071 - ₹ 8,189
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park Campgrounds Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing