We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
206
169
63
38
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
169
63
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal statues pelican room tiki suite bayside grill tiki hut bar next door the cottages laid back live music paddle boards restaurants and bars key west free kayaks old florida small beach short drive robin
Filter
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2004

My mom and two of our friends went on an all girl's trip in July 2004. We loved this motel! It was great for the price! The cottages were very clean and spacious. There was an awesome mural of a tiger painted on our living room wall and the bedroom had a small underwater mural. There was very few towels and washclothes in our bathroom, but when asked the staff happily gave us plenty more. There was a color/cable TV, but no phone (payphone at the check in desk). The continental breakfast got gone fast. They had powdered doughnuts, apples, bananas, oranges and honey buns with coffee or milk. We stayed for 2 nights in #10 (upstairs), which was right on the beach. Though the beach was small, the water was crystal clear and very shallow. It would have been perfect for kids to explore safely on their own. We got to see a manatee within the first 10 minutes we were there! I believe someone said this was an "off beat and quirky motel- but comfortable". That's it in a nut-shell...We would agree and readily go back!-This time with our kids and grandkids!!!

4  Thank Companion20211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2004

Seached the internet for WEEKS before our Key Largo weekend for the perfect off the wall place.. We were there in Nov 2003 and stayed at the Westin(dissapointed in what we got for what we had to pay) This time I wanted a COMPLETLEY different atmosphere, and that is what we got at the Sunset Cove! What a truly laid back place!! Arrived Sat June 12,from Miami before 8 am(well before our scheduled check-in, and the woman at the desk said #10 should be ready after our 9 am snorkeling trip. Sure enough it was ready when we got back, we faced the dock and Ley Largo's version of a beach. Our kids, a 13yr old and 3 in their 20's helped unload the van and then raced for the paddle boats and canoes... it was another 3 1/2 hrs till we saw them again.. they came back burnt but happy in their adventures. The covered double swing decks were darling, and the array of creatures they found in the water were fantastic. Not to mention the creatures dotted around the grounds..(our dog actually barked at the green dinosaur!!!)The room was exactly what I had pictured in my mind so there was NO DISSAPOINTMNET there. Casual, funky, laid back............. We all agreed Sat was the LONGEST day of our lives.. it was like time stood still for us while we were there!!! That weekend will be etched in our minds FOREVER!

5  Thank GrandTour10856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2004

We stayed there three nights. I love the little beach and the kids loved the paddleboats. Its a small, quiet place. The perfect Keys type motel. You can chose a cottage or a waterfront room, they even have trailers that you can stay in. Its different, but in a cute way. Its not a five start hotel, most places in the Keys are not. Most places throughout the Keys are quiet motels. The staff was so nice and the kids enjoy the love birds they have. I come to the Keys once a year. I will be back next year to Sunset Cove.

1  Thank Roving10374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2004

The room was large and affordable. They clean/change towels if you ask them to. The grounds were quirky, relaxed, a little off-beat. Beach was nice but small. If you like something different it's a good deal.

Thank Trip11788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2004

We had a small sunset wedding at Sunset Cove in May 2003. The staff was great at helping me plan plan and decorate for the wedding. Our friends and family loved the place. It was very a very intimate wedding weekend.

Thank Trek5444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews