We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Anti-Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key Largo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Anti-Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My sister and I stayed at Kona Kai for several days while diving in the keys. The property is unique--bungalows amid the lush gardens (and this isn't even its botanical garden!), with a pool, hot tub, tennis court...all the things you'd want in a "resort" but without the "resort" vibe. There is a beach, of sorts (read: soft sand), with palm trees and hammocks. And tables and chairs are strung along the small pier, which is a great place to watch the sun set. The people who come to Kona Kai are fairly similar--chilled out, equipped with wine--and that makes this place even lovelier. We met very nice people, and the staff was helpful and kind. Great art gallery, too!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runnergirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear runnergilr1970:
We love your review title, "The Anti-Resort." When we began creating Kona Kai some 20 years ago, we wanted to provide all the things we thought one would expect in a resort, but without the crowds and hustle n' bustle of a large resort. Good to know it's working and glad you enjoyed our "Anti-Resort."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    46
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
28
330
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My second stay at this beautiful property. Fabulous staff. Great attention to detail. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

We recently stayed at Kona Kai (5/22-5/26) for our Honeymoon. =) We are a young couple (22&23) but we are very laid back and easy going. We wanted something that was in The Keys, but not a huge resort. That is exactly what we got with Kona Kai. From the time we arrived the staff was so nice and helpful. The grounds were immaculate & the plants they have through out the resort were soooo pretty. My Husband & I were shocked daily at being the only people on the beach or in the pool 99.9% of the time! We said hello to a few other guests, but we were not having to lay up next to anyone on the beach or fight over a place by the pool. Sitting outside on their dock in the evenings was one of our favorite things, it was so peaceful being just the two of us. We loved how the resort is had a very "come & go as you please" vibe. They showed us everything we needed and then let us enjoy our vacation the way we wanted. One morning we went out to the dock(just the two of us again) out in the distance we saw a dolphin swimming. It had just quit raining and was so peacful out there on the water, the dolphin slowly made is was closer & closer to us. At one point it was about 15 yards from the edge of the dock....talk about in awe!!! It was so beautiful just to watch it swim slowly through the bay. For the type of Honeymoon/vacation we were wanting, we could not have picked a better resort. They defintely lived up to all the great reviews we read before planning our trip. I could go on and on about how amazing our experience was, it truly was our little paradise for the week. We are already talking about planning our next visit. All in all an amazing honeymoon and 1st time in The Florida Keys. We've been missing it ever since we left!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sloan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Sloan C:
Thanks for a great description of a vacation at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery and Botanic Garden. Glad to know we are on target with our goals of creating an intimate, relaxing and enticing environment. Glad you had a great honeymoon with us - the entire Kona Kai staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Kona Kai for 3 nights as a little escape from our kiddos, and therefore love the 16yr old minimum age of the resort. The grounds were impeccable, and lovely to explore a bit. We got a tour from the staff ethnobotanist that was enthusiastic, personal (just the 2 of us!) and really very interesting. Room was very nice, and staff were even nicer. We used Kona Kai as a place to stay while scuba diving, and they even had outdoor lockers to hang our gear to dry, and gave us a great recommendation on a local shop to use for diving (kudos to Horizon Divers).

What I really loved the most was that they were wonderful at giving detailed recommendations on anything we wanted. Places to eat, where to get the best key lime pie, diving, etc.

I will second the one comment on potentially noisy neighboring properties, but this is out of their control. It was not consistent - just that there were some kids squealing at one point, and a rambunctious outdoor gathering at another point. But nothing like loud music or anything totally obnoxious - just not as quiet a crowd as the Kona Kai guests (who were practically invisible while we were there - makes you feel like you have the entire place to yourself).

We give an enthusiastic thumbs up. We had a room (vs a suite) because we had no intent of cooking, and it worked out just fine for us. Hope everyone else has just as nice of a time.

Room Tip: they are all a little different - i doubt there is a bad room on the property, considering there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanaVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

First time trip for our honeymoon, everything was above our expectations. The rooms, the staff and the location were wonderful. We went slightly off season and had the place almost to ourselves. The only drawbacks come from the two adjacent properties, yelling children and leaf blowers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
9.3 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
8.8 km away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.1 km away
Seafarer Resort and Beach
Seafarer Resort and Beach
#4 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 km away
Rock Reef Resort
Rock Reef Resort
#2 of 17 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Property: Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, MM 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,349 - ₹ 33,472
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing