We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 Key Largo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We recently returned from a short 4 night stay at Kona Kai Resort. We booked solely based on reviews as we have never seen nor been to this resort. We have stayed in Key West at the Casa Marina for a week two years ago but we were looking for something quieter and more intimate with no kids. Well that is what we found at Kona Kai. This is a small resort with a beautiful property with only about 10 cottages on sight. The grounds are immaculate and the gardens are remarkable. The property has a small beach where you don't have to get out early to reserve a chair like so many other properties. The pool and spa are small but perfect for how many people are at the resort at one time. Fresh fruit every day at the pool in the fridge w/ cold bottled water is a nice touch. Again, the pool is surrounded by beautiful foliage and well maintained. The resort has a sea wall with many beach chairs and tables as well that offer beautiful views of the bay and the Everglades. At night, the sky is AMAZING on a clear night as there is no city lights, the sky is dark. We were able to see many constellations and planets on the nights we sat out on several quiet nights w/ a bottle of wine and/or cold beers. There is also complimentary Kayaks that we took advantage of to do a little sightseeing.

Ok....there is a few downsides as well as you need to be prepared for. First, the road noise is somewhat annoying as the resort is right off of Hwy 1 and there is no big hotel to block out the road noise and this is a busy road. Second, the bed was very uncomfortable which we read in other reviews prior to booking. I was hoping that it was an exaggeration, but unfortunately it wasn't. An investment in some nice comfy beds would go a long way. Our room didn't even have a headboard, just a frame, which I thought was kind of cheesy for a "resort". The rooms are perfectly sized but there was nowhere comfortable to relax. The beds were not comfortable and neither was the futon in the living area. We did buy some food to cook breakfast but there is only one pan to cook with. The made it difficult to cook as you can only cook one thing at a time. So one add'l pan would have been nice. Other than that, the room is well stocked with plates, cups, wine glasses, etc....OK, lastly. The restaurants recommended I would take with a grain of salt. Key Largo restaurants have much to be desired. Ballyhoos is overpriced and a bit run down, but the food and crabs were good. Snappers was, well Snappers. Good for a fish sandwich and a beer but again, atmosphere just ok. Hog Heaven....same Key Largo very casual atmosphere and food again was pretty good. However, they had a really nice beach that you can walk to at end of the pier. Looks like a good nightlife live band place but we never got back to check it out. Calypsos was recommended....REALLY! This place is a dirty, run down unsanitary dump. It says waterfront, well it is if you want to see a few boat slips, NOT waterfront and no view. The cook and dishwasher smoke ciggs as they cook your food in open view. They give you paper utensils and tableware for a 30 dollar dinner. Are you kidding me? The place is tired and run down. I know it's Key Largo, but c'mon....you can keep the "mystique" of the keys without being just downright nasty and dirty. Islamorada is a 15 minute drive worth taking for some better restaurants with some more class if that is what you are looking for. There were a few others in Key Largo with good reviews but I gave up hope after Calypso. If you want to eat dinner with dogs at the next table with paper plates, and ashes in your meal, this is the place for you. We went to dinner at Pierre's one night right next to Bass Pro Shops and this is a classy fine dining pricey dinner with an awesome view if that is what you are looking for. So.....that is my review. Beautifully landscaped resort with a nice little beach, pool and view but a bit noisy w/ roadnoise and uncomfortable rooms for the price. The crew at Kona Kai were very nice and accommodating as expected at a resort. However, room service isn't daily but upon request which we knew going in. Best of Luck Kona Kai....just need some more comfortable beds and couches and additional pans to cook with and all is good! Thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get the cottage closest to the beach for the best view. The others mostly have a view of the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewsfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 337 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Wow! Fabulous place to connect with whatever..family,spouse,nature, or yourself. We had a wonderful weekend(although the southeaster that hit altered our plans). All this on just 2 acres! Beautifully appointed with well placed chairs,hammocks and loungers. The pool is warm and inviting.( LOVE the banana gate!). The owners and staff really thought this through. DoNot miss the botanical garden tour with Rick.(unbelievable!). Get a bottle of wine and some cheese and relax on the dock and watch a keys sunset.

If you are looking for on site action, crowds or a bar scene, this is NOT the place for you. The reason this place is a gem is because of the tranquility, privavcy and dediction of the staff and owners.

Room Tip: Largest suite,facing water with an outside patio was the pineapple suite.(we loved it.). Next time w...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Kona Kai for 5 nights. Before we even arrived Denise and Tracey helped us with reservations. And while there Tracey helped plan our day trip to Key West, especially with parking (not easy), lunch spot, and what to do. This place is beautiful, intimate, and they make you feel special. It made for a wonderful vacation.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank OhioOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent 6 glorious days at the Kona Kai, April 10th to 15th. In all our travels, we have never been greeted so warmly - ever. Tracey was like a gracious hostess who was welcoming you to her home. She showed us around the grounds, helped us with restaurant selections, gave pamphlets on things to do, and then helped make reservations as needed. Denise was also there for one day and she too was very helpful. I cannot describe the grounds, they are beyond description. Too beautiful for words. We stayed in the Key Lime one bedroom suite. Everything was top-notch. The bed was comfortable, the kitchenette was well equipped with everything you could possibly need. Even the cutlery and dishes were lovely. We enjoyed our own private patio. If you want to relax and be enveloped with peace and beauty, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadians_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A lovely place to spend my husband's 70th birthday! There is a botanical garden surrounding the cozy cottages and Rick's tour and explanation of the plants was fascinating - took several beautiful photographs. The pool was a wonderful place to spend an afternoon and the sunsets from the dock are fantastic! Denise gave us great tips of where to eat as well as things to do including a boat trip with pick up right at the dock. Would definitely like to plan a return trip! Owners Penny and Joe have done it right!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DSWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-KonaKai-Resort, Owner at Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear DSWTravels:
Thanks for mentioning our Botanic Gardens, which have been part of the Kona Kai experience for just over a year now. Our goal is to encourage people to appreciate the (Keys) environment even more. Rick's tour is fast becoming a must Keys experience for our guests and other Keys travelers as well. Comments like "You know, my significant other dragged me along to go on this tour, but I really, really enjoyed this - it wasn't what I expected it to be and I didn't think I'd be learning so much." You're the second to comment about our botanic gardens here on Trip Advisor, so Thank You! As for Denise and the entire staff - they strive to make sure you have the best possible Keys experience and the most perfect personalized service - a Kona Kai value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key Largo hotels
0.6 km away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
9.3 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
7.7 km away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
9.3 km away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden

Address: 97802 Overseas Hwy, Mm 98, Key Largo, FL 33037-2229
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Key Largo
Price Range: ₹ 13,586 - ₹ 17,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owned and operated by the same family since 1991 and a "Fodor’s Choice" selection since 2009, Kona Kai is a magical hideaway, teeming with the natural beauty of old Key Largo and hand polished into one of the most exclusive resorts in the Florida Keys. With all new accommodations in 2013, Kona Kai is reserved for adults. Offering highly praised personalized concierge service, Kona Kai is regularly recommended by leading travel publications and websites. SInce the 2011 addition of "The Botanic Gardens at Kona Kai," guests enjoy our gardens day and night; complimentary tours for all registered guests are offered by our staff ethnobotanist. Kona Kai is a classic Keys experience; the perfect alternative if you're seeking to avoid the crowds and formality of a big resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kona Kai Resort, Gallery & Botanic Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Resort And Gallery
Kona Kai Resort & Gallery Hotel Key Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing