We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacation experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hutchinson Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Village
Corinth, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We opted to rent a condo in Ocean Village while in Florida to attend the NY Mets spring training games. The OV development on Hutchinson Island was about a 40 minute drive to the Mets ball park, but the trade-off was well worth it. While in OV we had everything we needed right there and really enjoyed ourselves.

OV is a large condo complex with a 9-hole golf course, beach frontage and several swimming pools. They also have tennis courts and offer lots of activities that even short-term renters can participate in . We spent every day that we weren't at a ball game at the large main pool. Although there were a few young families staying in OV, for the most part the daily population at the pool was decidedly over 65. There were water aerobics in the mornings. Although we loved being only a block from the beach, the surf was pretty rough during our stay we we stuck to sitting and reading on the beach.

We found our rental through a rent-by-owner website, but there are many ways to find condos to rent. Ours was a very well maintained 2-bedroom with a balcony looking over the golf course. Expect to pay more for a beach frontage unit. The owner of our unit was willing to negotiate on the price and we paid a very, very favorable rate.

The development is beautifully landscaped and maintained. There are 2 on-site restaurants--one of which is an open-air more than snack-bar at the main swimming pool. We ate lunch there several times and thought all the food was great at reasonable prices.

We will definitely rent again in Ocean Village. Our condo was just right for us, near to the beach, a 5 minute walk to the pool and a reasonable drive to the Mets park. The only downside was that you have to drive about half and hour to get to a large supermarket as there are only a couple of convenience stores on Hutchinson Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AJVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    8
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

I stayed here for 4 days Abd I loved the place. This is not for you if you want Loud music and party time. This is place is more for enjoying with family or kids.
Great food at tiki bar beaches are pretty nice and the pool is good enough

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emblema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We are only half-way through our vacation (thank goodness---I don't want to go home!), and I adore this place. The grounds are immaculate, the pools (we've been to three and there may be a 4th that is out of service) are sparkling clean, and our 9th floor condo has the most unbelievable views. We rented directly from an owner and she has been incredibly responsive to our questions. The unit we are in is clean, well furnished and even came stocked with paper products and soap (body, laundry, and dish). The beach is always almost empty and yet the surf is fun (not too rough) and the water feels great. The tiki bar at the main pool is a blast, especially for my kids who are trying every flavor of frozen (virgin!) drinks.

Don't expect a ton of amenities right outside the gates though---no Burger Kings and Starbucks on every corner. Though Archies restaurant is great and very close, as are a few others down the road. Ft. Pierce is more built up and has all the big superstores we'd need for food and things we may have forgotten.

Let's just say this is about the opposite of a trip to Disney: Non-commercial, laid back, not many kids or strollers, no crowds, and no furry characters. In other words: My heaven. (heh)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank creff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We've been visiting various locations in Florida and sharing rental accomodations with another mature couple for several years. Because of the sharing arrangement, we have very specific needs and this year's rental in Seascape 1 in Ocean Village met those needs perfectly. Fabulous views from every window of our 9th floor unit, comfortable furniture and well-equiped kitchen, two screened porches, two good-sized en suite bedrooms, each with direct access to a porch. Tiki Bar food is delicious and inexpensive, golf course is inexpensive and fun, good exercise room...7 swimming pools to choose from, steps to long private beach. Many OV activities if you choose to participate. Above all, the friendliest people in Florida. Perfect! The farmers and craft market in downtown Ft. Pierce on Saturdays is about the best one we've been to in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank dole28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

I recently visited OV with my husband after years of him telling me about his childhood memories of vacationing there. I never really considered myself a FL person, but visiting this place made me realize how wrong I was. It's wonderful there.

OV is a gated resort community on the ocean side of Hutchinson Island (not to be confused with the one in St. Augustine). There are several different condos types to choose from with a good range in pricing. They have got a private beach (clear blue water), a 9 hole golf course, fitness room, many swimming pools. spa/whirlpool, on site bar and restaurant (newly renovated and overlooking the ocean), tiki bar, etc.

As you stroll to the beach, you see how the community is well-maintaned and well-manicured with flowers blooming everywhere. And because it's a gated community right on the beach, it's a great place to let the kids run on their own to explore the area.

We'd stayed at one of the Golf Lodges overlooking a pond, which I think are the newer residences there. It had everything you could need (full kitchen, washer/dryer, screened in patio to enjoy our morning coffee!). And with the exception of the bedrooms, it was all tile. I love having cool tile to walk on after a long day in the hot sun. It was also quite clean—sort of big on that.

I'd highly recommend visiting Ocean Village. I know we will continue to return for many years to come and are actually considering purchasing a vacation home here.

For what it's worth, my husband and I are both in our late 20s/early 30s.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank theberserkergang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hutchinson Island
21.3 km away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
3.1 km away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
20.7 km away
Vistana Beach Club
Vistana Beach Club
#1 of 1 in Hutchinson Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.3 km away
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
27.7 km away
Hutchinson Island Marriott Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Village

Property: Ocean Village
Address: 2400 S Ocean Dr, Hutchinson Island, FL 34949-8018
Region: United States > Florida > Hutchinson Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hutchinson Island
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ocean Village Hotel Hutchinson Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing