We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Love Shrimp, This Is The Place”
Review of The Freezer

The Freezer
Ranked #1 of 7 Quick Bites in Homosassa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Restaurant/Bar in an old seafood freezer on the water where boats bring in their fresh catch. Amazing shrimp, fish dip and stone crabs. A lot of local controversy around restaraunt so it is becoming very popular.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

This place has the feel of "Old Florida". Located right on the water, in an old fish freezer, this is the place to go for the best ever "peel and eat" shrimp. A full order is more than enough for 2 people to share. We started our meal with a cup of the best clam chowder I have ever tasted. We sat inside on a rainy day, but there are also tiki tables outside right next to the boat docks. Cash only. Prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 112 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018

Walking up, I was in doubt. What? So weird and rustic and like walking into an episode of a Florida detective murder mystery. Atmosphere definitely local, but not like cool tiki bar local. Just LOCAL! Rudest staff I have ever encountered. 'Excuse me, you can't just sit at the table, you have to get up and order over there (eye roll)'. 'Did you even read the menu? That's all we have!'.
HOWEVER!! Some of the most delicious shrimp I have ever had!! Great iced tea. Others in my party loved the smoked fish dip. I will go back...but only for that shrimp!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank floridaflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Great place for locals and visitors to eat. Bring cash, no credit cards accepted. Not a fancy place but very coastal great views and people.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Moonpuppy226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

Tried steamed shrimp. Pretty good. Clam chowder in bread bowl ( new England style) was excellent. Interesting setting inside old fish house freezer room.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank piratepelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Cash only, order at the bar, they bring it to your table, in styrofoam. Prices are good for the quality of seafood. Very limited menu, no frills, and on the water. If you want fresh shrimp, and know the difference, this is your place.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Freezer also viewed

 

Been to The Freezer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing