We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shrimp and crab legs”
Review of The Freezer

The Freezer
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Homosassa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 21
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Restaurant/Bar in an old seafood freezer on the water where boats bring in their fresh catch. Amazing shrimp, fish dip and stone crabs. A lot of local controversy around restaraunt so it is becoming very popular.
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Cash only, order at the bar, they bring it to your table, in styrofoam. Prices are good for the quality of seafood. Very limited menu, no frills, and on the water. If you want fresh shrimp, and know the difference, this is your place.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

My parents and brother have been here many times but this was the first time for me! Omg so good! Love the shrimp! You can get full or half orders if you can do it get a full order....
Cash only but they have an ATM incase you forget. Order at the counter find a seat and they will bring it out to you.

Well worth it and I would for sure go back!!!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

A wet but warm afternoon out with friends.
Let’s go to the Freezer they said it’s been on our hit list for a long time. It’s a good drive from our place but boy is it worth the trip. Hidden in the woods down a few lanes you have to want to go there.
Full of character plenty of seating stuff all over the walls . The menu is on a board outside the bar.
Food is great portions are good we shared two large orders of steamed shrimp between 6 of us plus Chowder. Two pitchers of beer and a couple of wine spritzer’s . Great value no complaints definitely will be going again.
Please remember cash only

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank roberty469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

This is our 4'th trip to Homosassa and we had not been yet so I had to go. Personally I am not a big sea food fan, but if you are, this is great.

Good beer and related menu. not full bar, so no mixed drinks, but you can get wine soda, angry orchard, unsweetened tea, etc.

The chips and salsa were huge, we barely made a dent it it. The roast beef sandwich with there home made horseradish was also excellent. We went on an off time and off day mid week and there was plenty of seating. Service was fast.

Cash only but atm available.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Very nice place the freezer, we are out of towers, London uk actually, however lovely atmosphere, the food is very reasonable, but bbq day is the way forward , combine your trip there with an air boat ‍♀️ ride nearby, give it a try tables go quick because of it being a locals type place

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank tonyvG8724BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Freezer also viewed

 

Been to The Freezer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing