We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Price, don't expect much else”
Review of The Diane Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Diane Motel
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Like most of the other reviews, great location and good price. All the other newer places nearby are almost double the price.

Right in the heart of the busy Hollywood Beach broadwalk. (not boardwalk).
The rooms overlook the walk and the beach. Beautiful sunrise views from the room.
Many restaurants and shops with in walking distance. That being said, things can stay noisy on the broadwalk into the wee hours, especially on a Sat. and Sun.

Large and very clean rooms. The kitchenette with Stove, Sink, MW, Fridge, Dishes were nice if you want cook. The Hollywood beach trolley provides access along the beach front and to Downtown for $1 a ride. The main stop is at the info center next to Margaritaville.

There are definitely some things that need repairs or a good coat of paint. The bed platform corners stick out several inches past the mattress and are real knee bangers.

My biggest complaint is the smoking. The rooms are non smoking so everyone goes out on the balcony to smoke.. For all the rooms, there is one long upper shared balcony, with a central stairs to go down, and lower shared balcony/terrace fronting the beach. There was always someone out there smoking and if you are non smoker, you have to go back in the room and shut the door. Always a pile of stinking butts in the containers on the balconies.

The hotel is old FL style. Along with a lot of the other "unique" accommodations around, the area seems to draw the old school FL visitors. It's been a long time since I've seen that many over tanned/wrinkled people smoking and sunning their way to an early demise.

Room Tip: get and end room on the 2nd floor. The have an extra window on the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank atlbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

The location was great. Walk out the door and you are on the beach. The motel is old and it shows. Our room was clean but it was like stepping back into 60's with my parents vacations. Do note the office hours. We were needing to leave at 9 on a Sunday and the office doesn't open until 10 and there's no drop box. Overall not bad but don't expect luxury.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank okbyme752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I was amazed to open my door and have the beach at my doorstep, live music, various choices of fantastic food... And well behaved people..
If u are on a budget, then this is the place to stay as u have all u may need to cook and couple places to buy groceries and eat at home..
100%+ recommended!!!!
Will be back for sure!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
4  Thank carla10r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I stayed at the Diane for 2 nights in the 2nd floor south corner room. I believe #201. I stayed June 24-26 2016.

There's good and bad about this motel. On the bad side, it needs some upkeep. It is oceanfront so that's very rough on paint....the place needs repainting on the outside and inside. It's not horrible, but it is detracting. On entering, my room smelled of bleach., which is not a problem but I did lean on a counter that was still damp and it discolored at t shirt. Otherwise housekeeping was good. Parking is reserved for 1 car per room, which is good, and it is also beside the motel or adjacent to it, which is also good. The bad is that you pay $25 for parking per day. However it is reserved and is convenient, I would recommend it. There is an old stove in the south stairwell. It's been there for months as it was noted in an April review. That's ridiculous. I checked out on a Sunday and did not see a key drop box and the office on Sunday only opens at 10am....so I just left the key on the room counter. The need a key drop box. Plastic lounge chair on the balcony was cracked, but serviceable.

Despite all this the place is enjoyable. The view is fantastic from 2nd floor rooms as you can watch the ocean and the people on the Hollywood Broadwalk. The location is great with restaurants, shops, and bars starting right next door. I did not need to drive for anything. The staff was friendly. The room setup was good. This room had 2 king beds and there was a closeable room divider between the two. I didn't need 2 beds, but that's what I chose based on what was available when I booked. The room, being on a corner had both the balcony and also side windows. Wifi worked fine as did the tv. Furniture was comfortable and well used but clean.

This is an older motel directly on the beach. It needs some upkeep but I enjoyed my stay. This is right on the Broadwalk and surrounded by restaurants, bars, etc. so it is a vibrant busy beach area with lots of people walking, skating, biking etc. The beach is very wide and was not overcrowded. It would not be a good place if you want seclusion or quiet. The price per night seems on the high end considering the motel's initial appearance, however I would consider staying there again considering the location and the beautiful beach. Not a place for pampered princess types or those seeking a secluded beach. Worth considering.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Decided to spend a couple of days before our cruise & was pleasantly surprised by the location. Older hotel, comfortably redecorated and close to the action. Roughly a block away from Margaritaville and the pavilion which had excellent bands at night. Steps away from the beach. What more do you need? We will be back!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Nitrofan316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.1 km away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
0.4 km away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
0.6 km away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#7 of 72 in Hollywood
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Coral House Hotel
Coral House Hotel
#29 of 72 in Hollywood
67 reviews
0.7 km away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 72 in Hollywood
1,618 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diane Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diane Motel

Address: 1300 N Broadwalk, Hollywood, FL 33019-3333
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 72 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range: ₹ 16,137 - ₹ 20,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Diane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family owned motel on the broadwalk of Hollywood Beach just steps from the blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Walking distance and easy access to all shops, restaurants and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Diane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diane`s Hotel Hollywood
Dianes Hotel Hollywood
Dianes Motel Hollywood
Diane Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing