We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Location - Pictures Don’t Do It Justice!”
Review of Manta Ray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manta Ray Inn
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dream Location - Pictures Don’t Do It Justice!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Manta Ray Inn is the ideal choice for a family-friendly beach-front getaway in Southern Florida. Its location is ideal - pictures don’t do it justice! The beach is right there, no elevators and hallways to maneuver or roads to cross. A lifeguard station is steps away. We chose a one bedroom unit for our family of 4, including 2 adults and 2 children ages 6 & 9 and it was perfect. The unit was very clean and functional with a comfy living area and fully-stocked galley kitchen including coffee, sugar, non-dairy creamer, salt, pepper & all the pots, pans, dishes, silverware & appliances you need. A small dining area includes a table & 2 chairs. The bedroom had 2 comfortable full size beds, a vanity area, bureau and small closet. The bathroom had a nice shower, huge decorative mirror, pedestal sink and a long shelf for easy storage. A perfect home away from home! Extras included free WiFi, A/C, 2 flat screen TVs, DVD/VHS players, daily newspaper & on-site laundry for a small fee. The location itself cannot be beat. In addition to the pristine beach, this Inn provides bonus outdoor amenities - 2 grills, beach toys, beach chairs, beach towels, parking, garden furniture, apartment patio furniture and more. The Inn shares a heated pool with a neighboring condo complex and is easily accessible across a small walking path on the back side of the Inn. With all the driving we do in our daily lives, we originally opted not to rent a car. We took a cab from the airport which was about 20 minutes away and it cost $30 with tip. Other than groceries, everything we needed and wanted was readily available. The Broadwalk is an easy 10 minute walk north, chock full of casual restaurants, shops, bike rentals and activities. We loved that we were close to the action of the Broadwalk but far enough away that it wasn’t part of our daily experience. A cab or rental car is required to get to a true grocery store although there are several convenience-type stores nearby. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate and was rainy and downright stormy for 4 of our 5 days. This proved to be the ultimate test of this Inn since the beach was not a viable option for us. The staff at the Manta Ray Inn did not disappoint! Owners Donna and son Thomas were available and eager to offer suggestions for fun indoor activities. They had an extensive library of movies and books as well as cards, dominoes and other family games to make the best of the unfortunate weather. On the second full day of hard rain we decided to rent a car and venture offsite. Donna arranged for a car rental company to pick us up and bring us to their lot to rent a car. The Inn has one housekeeper and he is a workhorse! Gerry never stops working, moving from room to room each day to make sure that everything is clean and tidy and guests have everything they need. He was onsite and readily available every day. If we needed anything at all Gerry was there to help. Gerry even left seashells in our room which was a fun extra treat for all of us but especially the kids. The Manta Ray’s service can’t be beat. The family-run element of this Inn gives it that extra-special charm we were seeking and it did not disappoint. We highly recommend the Manta Ray Inn if you are looking for a true beach retreat in a family-friendly environment. Assuming the weather is better for you, once you have your groceries you’ll have no need to leave this beach-front Inn. We will definitely return and highly recommend the Manta Ray Inn. This Inn gets a full 5+ Star Rating from this New Hampshire family!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
From my family to yours, thank you!!! It was so much fun to watch your family make lemonade out of lemons when the rain came down!!! Family time is so important and we are happy to have been able to make suggestions that made your getaway special for you and your family. Gerry and Thomas will be happy to know that their efforts are appreciated and we definitely do our best to make you feel like you are home! Now that you are part of our great Manta Ray Inn Family you will have to stay in touch and come back soon to see us! Maybe this time more time could be spent on the beach and in the pool!! The kids were GREAT!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    34
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
128
151
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Manta Ray for 7 nights and couldn't have been happier. Location literally can't be beat if your looking for some serious beach time. We had our 18 month old daughter with us and it worked out perfectly! We were able to play on the beach, and go back and forth to room for lunch and naps with ease. We had a first floor one bedroom. It was decorated super cute with beachy decor, and it was very clean! The kitchen was a huge help since we had a couple meals per day in the room. Huge flat screen in living area which made my husband happy! We walked up to the broadwalk a couple times, and it was a long walk to restaurants but a very enjoyable one. I would definitely come back to this Inn on future visits to FL. It was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmw4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Always a pleasure to watch a family enjoy our little piece of heaven. Sharing the Manta Ray Inn is what keeps us going and watching the smiles and the laughter make it all worthwhile! Cannot wait for your return and your little Angel will really be running then and the fun is even greater with the beach toys, sand, ocean and pool! So much to do, so little time!! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We returned to the Manta Ray for another wonderful stay. The location is fantastic- just steps to the beach. Donna, Dwayne,Thomas, and Gerry always make us feel so welcome. We have stayed here for a number of years- each time we return we feel like we are "coming home". The rooms are nicely done, the use of the BBQ and the pool is great. The broadwalk is nearby for a leisurely stroll, or a fast paced walk. The casual, relaxed atmosphere at the Manta Ray is just what we all need in our hectic, busy lives. An oasis at the beach!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wavestoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
It is hard to believe that we have been doing this as long as we have! Having watched your family grow and enjoy the Manta Ray Inn year after years leaves such a warm feeling in our hearts. We always are trying to improve upon your experience with us and trying to exceed your expectations!
We are so thankful to wonderful families such as yourselves who notice and appreciate every little thing that we do! You make it a pleasure! Your son is awesome and now that he has turned into such a great young man I was overwhelmed when I saw that he wrote his own review and what he really thought about the Manta Ray Inn!! Thank you and will see you in a few months! It will go fast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrangeville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I chose The Manta Ray Inn based on the glowing reviews I read here, and was not disappointed! My extended family was in town recently for an event held in Miami and we wanted to stay right on the beach in a casual, laid back atmosphere, and that's just what we found. We prefer staying at smaller "old Florida" type accommodations where the ocean is just steps from your door. Not having to navigate through hallways, elevators and lobbies filled with people just to go for a quick swim is major plus. Thomas warmly welcomed us, making sure we comfortably settled in for the week, and we enjoyed chatting with him and Donna. Gerry is as friendly, thorough and responsive as everyone said he would be. We all felt well cared for during our stay and are already eager to plan our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and right away we knew that you were Manta Ray Inn family!! We were all excited to make new friends and so happy that you were comfortable and really enjoyed the relaxation of just being on the ocean!!! There is no better feeling than making new friends and we look forward to your next stay but are happy that you are going to stay in touch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

The Manta ray inn was a great choice. Located right on the beach. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Apartments are a good size and well equipped. I would definitely stay there again if I plan another holiday to Miami.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantaray07, Owner at Manta Ray Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Manta Ray inn!! Definitely waiting for your return. Surf is Up!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
1.9 km away
Margaritaville Beach Resort
2.5 km away
Casa Pellegrino Boutique Hotel
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hollywood Beach Marriott
Hollywood Beach Marriott
#6 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
2.7 km away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.2 km away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Ray Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Ray Inn

Property: Manta Ray Inn
Address: 1715 S Surf Rd, Hollywood, FL 33019-2431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,479 - ₹ 21,191
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Ray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our one- and two-bedroom suites are fully equipped to be your home away from home! We provide full daily maid service, free wifi, beach chairs, beach towels, gas grills, heated pool, complimentary movies, on-site laundry facilities, beach toys for your children. Forgot your sunscreen, beach umbrella or sand pail? Don't worry -- we are here to help you out! Rest and enjoy that cocktail as the sun sets and the children play in the sand. We have everything else covered. Hit the beach, hit the pool ... Leave the rest to us. Need to print your boarding pass? No problem! Let the office know and you can do it when the manager is there daily! Want to do something different? Ask us and we will help with creative and fun activities for all of you no matter what your preference! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations and make your getaway memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manta Ray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Ray Hotel Hollywood
Manta Ray Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing