We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's hard to be excited about BBQ.”

Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ
Ranked #5 of 40 Restaurants in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Gulfport, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's hard to be excited about BBQ.”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

But when you need it, they got it. It is better than the BBQ chains.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yonderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    48
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth pork”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Almost didn't go because of building. Thank goodness my husband talked me into it. Down to earth home town folks, extremely nice and sincere about their business. Extremely good food. Get over the snobbishness and go in for some good bbq pork and chicken. Mouthwatering.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovesagoodmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Downhome Take Home”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great BBQ, ample portions at a reasonable price. I have never dined-in although the atmosphere is truly enticing. I like to eat messy foods in the privacy of my own home. These BBQ dishes are worth the extra napkins I enjoy the sweet sauce vs. the hot and the jalapeno cornbread!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Smokin' Good”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you like dry rubbed ribs then you'll love Smokin' J's. Cole slaw, beans, potato salad all compliment the meal. You should see the little red smokehouse. They cut holes in the top to let some of the smoke escape. Wood pile is right behind the smoke house. Good stuff to enjoy there or take home.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mooselymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I love the beef brisket sandwich. Excellent BBQ sauce also. I have eaten at Dinosaur BBQ in Syracuse and Four Rivers in Orlando and believe this is the best. Dinosaur is considered the best in NY.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank joepulitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' J's Real Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing