We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here and expected the normal Hampton experience. Has Room 101 which should be listed as a smoking room. Since the hotel is non-smoking, they have put the communal ashtray right outside this room. So all night long there was. Stream of smoker, standing outside my room, smoking, drinking and gloomy on their phone. The smoke was getting sucked into my A/C system and the room reeked of smoke all night.

When I mentioned it the next morning when checking out, I might have been talking to the wall. The male desk clerk simply had no interest in the issue or my complaint. Adding in the two bugs I found in the room, I was turned-off by the experience.

This is my last visit to this Hampton. As a Hilton Honors member, I expect a little more interest in my comfort.

Room Tip: Stay away from the outside rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novajim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    145
    44
    9
    19
See reviews for
218
109
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Unless you need to be in downtown Gainesville, this hotel off Archer Road (Highway 24) is where the shopping and dining action is. Since the hotel is at the end of a short road with other hotels and some restaurants, there's no street noise from the very busy Archer Road.

My King room came with a microwave and waist high refrigerator, work table and an easy chair. The TV is a large screen HD flat panel. There's a single cup coffee maker, but the lobby carries coffee 24/7, including "Robust" for those of us who like "manly" coffee.

Almost all rooms are "inside" rooms. There are about a half-dozen "smoking" rooms, with "outside' doors facing the parking lot, which are all located in a small, one story "annex" connected to the main building. (I presume they have their own ventilation.)

There's a computer in the lobby area, near the elevators. This is nice since I do not travel with a notebook or other mobile Internet device.

The breakfast is very generous, and included a western omelet (different type the second day), hard boiled eggs, French toast sticks, a half dozen cereals in single serve boxes, "you make 'em" waffles, bagels, muffins, yogurt, apples in plastic wrap, and probably a few items I missed. There's cookies in the evening and one night there was vanilla and chocolate ice cream cups cups too.

The front desk has a number of "show your key" 10% discounts with Archer Road restaurants. The best of them is a 15% discount coupon for Cody's Roadhouse, which our group used for dinner.

No problems with check-in or check-out. As a HIlton Honors member, I appreciated late check-out since I was attending a conference and had brought my wife.

I'd stay here again and have no hesitation recommending it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Grognard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stopped in on the way down to Sarasota from Kentucky. Great place to stop after a long drive. We always try stay at Hampton Inn's and this one is a dandy. Front desk staff friendly and efficient, nice well appointed lobby/breakfast area with several flat screens. Room spotless with thermostats instead of self-contained AC/heat units. HD TV in the room with a remote that actually works. Well stocked breakfast eats with the waffle makers that have popped up over the last few years. Coffee good and hot (a little thing that not all Hampton's reach). Grounds well lit and manicured. Close to Target, Starbucks, shopping and the obligatory Restaurant Row featuring both chain and local restaurants. Easy on/off @ I-75. A great place to spend a little time and relax.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moviecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Tucked away at the end of the road, this hotel is surrounded by other hotels of various price options. It is close to the highway, but I didn't hear any cars at night or in the morning. The room was nice, I had 2 beds, so I had all the pillows I needed otherwise, the pillows are a bit small. The breakfast bar was standard and I wasn't disappointed by the selection. As a side note, the
first floor rooms have exterior entrances and the 2 & 3rd floor rooms are interior hallways.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We pretty much always stay at Hampton Inn when we travel and this one is great. There is always some food out for guests whether it is fresh warm cookies or just a banana or apple. Also the coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available around the clock. The staff is very accomodating. Sometimes there is a night staff person who will make you a free plastic luggage tag out of your business card- pretty nice! You give them your luggage tag in the evening and they slide it under your door when it is done.

The excercise room is great too- there are two treadmills and one elliptical trainer. I have never had to wait for a machine and they are in good repair.

It is also a great location for UF events and close to Target and Lowes and other parent-friendly businesses for getting your college student squared away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank booksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gainesville

Property: Hampton Inn Gainesville
Address: 4225 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,947 - ₹ 10,966
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gainesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-75 and Archer Road, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is your comfortable home in Gainesville, Florida. Relax in your clean, comfortable guest room at this centrally located hotel in Gainesville. Enjoy easy access to the University of Florida, or enjoy our natural wonders. Alachua County features several fresh water springs for scuba diving, tubing or snorkeling. Visit the Devils Millhopper for a walk on the wild side, or stop by Lake Alice for an alligator encounter. Whether you are here for business or for pleasure, the Hampton Inn Gainesville hotel is the smart choice for a comfort, convenience and service at a great rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing