We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“CLEAN, FRIENDLY, HONEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CLEAN, FRIENDLY, HONEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This place was great. It was very clean, the staff and management were very nice and courteous. It was a great value and i would recommend to anyone. We will back next year

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DESTIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    131
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
134
59
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was looking for a quiet, clean room at an affordable price and that's exactly what I got. The bed was very comfortable. There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. I have paid a lot more for a lot less at other hotels.

Room Tip: I asked the night desk person for a quiet room and that's exactly what I got
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Good place to stay, room was clean, very comfortable bed. Kirsten at the desk was very helpful when we checked in, not sure if the night guy actually spoke english, he nodded his head alot. Nice hotel though.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

This room was disgusting. Smelled like mold, and cigarettes. Went back in to get a refund and staff refused to give a full refund after we were only there for 5 minutes. We had to argue with them to refund us and they still ended up charging us 20.00 for the 5 minutes we were there. Please do not waste your time or money here. This was the worse experience I have ever had a hotel. Totally disrespectful staff. As I am dealing with a medical emergency and did not need this type of treatment they gave us. Horrible is the nicest way I can put it without cursing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
This guest requested a smoking room. This guest was even shown the rooms prior to checking in. After an hour or more the guest returns to the front desk and demands a full refund. Though upon check in the guest signed the room agreement and check-in form that clearly states after ten minutes you will be charged a full nights rent regardless of how long you then stay in the room afterwords. The guest was unhappy and management offered for the guest to move to a different room. The guest refuses the offer and again demands a full refund. The hotel staff did all they could to accommodate this guest but to no avail. All guests are allowed to relocate to another room if their room for any reason is unsatisfactory, and after 10 minutes or less in any one of these rooms, if an acceptable location is still not accepted by the guest, the guest is entitled to a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gainesville hotels

Oneonta, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel was easy to get too. The room was clean and very nice. There was a microwave,refrigerator and coffee maker with a hair dryer also. My stay was enjoyable and we will stay there again when we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowbird050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#17 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
8.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gainesville
1.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#11 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
4.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,583 - ₹ 7,279
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing