We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting rooms, hotel staff was rude do not waste your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This room was disgusting. Smelled like mold, and cigarettes. Went back in to get a refund and staff refused to give a full refund after we were only there for 5 minutes. We had to argue with them to refund us and they still ended up charging us 20.00 for the 5 minutes we were there. Please do not waste your time or money here. This was the worse experience I have ever had a hotel. Totally disrespectful staff. As I am dealing with a medical emergency and did not need this type of treatment they gave us. Horrible is the nicest way I can put it without cursing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motors1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

This guest requested a smoking room. This guest was even shown the rooms prior to checking in. After an hour or more the guest returns to the front desk and demands a full refund. Though upon check in the guest signed the room agreement and check-in form that clearly states after ten minutes you will be charged a full nights rent regardless of how long you then stay in the room afterwords. The guest was unhappy and management offered for the guest to move to a different room. The guest refuses the offer and again demands a full refund. The hotel staff did all they could to accommodate this guest but to no avail. All guests are allowed to relocate to another room if their room for any reason is unsatisfactory, and after 10 minutes or less in any one of these rooms, if an acceptable location is still not accepted by the guest, the guest is entitled to a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

374 - 378 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful.The hotel was easy to get too. The room was clean and very nice. There was a microwave,refrigerator and coffee maker with a hair dryer also. My stay was enjoyable and we will stay there again when we are in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowbird050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The room we had was clean and comfortable. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure you were happy with your room. The continental breakfast, while a little sparse, at least got you going with coffee, juice, cereal, and a small assortment of packaged bagels, etc. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brislink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We were not happy with this hotel. We have stayed in Howard Johnson's before and this was a disappointment. There was a hole in the floor between the bed and bathroon. There were black curly hairs in the towels and long black hairs in the tub. If you put your hjand on the shower wall to stel into the tub, it would cave in and make you fall. The TV wouldn't work, so I called management and he finally came up and had to reset the tv, so it would work. Noisy hotel. Sewing kit they offer is a little box of about 8-10 little rolls of thread you can borrow, but have to bring back. Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetpea8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patel58, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

We apologize for this guests stay, we have since been beautifully remodeled and have replaced the old beds with new ones, we have new bedspreads, new carpet, new room interiors and new exterior of the property as well. This guest has been invited back to experience the NEW Howard Johnson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I honestly i thought this hotel would be decent. I was told that I could check in after 4pm with no penalty multiple times over the phone. Well, that was false! After getting in the front office, I was told that I would have to leave my credit card with them! Also, there's this paper with SMALL writing/print. What hotel is there that won't allow you to have guests after 8 pm? He called the cops just because of that! But NO elevator, the ONLY ice machine that was there didn't work, and kids shouldn't be helping to serve the guests... The light had to be changed AFTER going into my room, the towel rack wasn't sturday, and I won't choose to stay here anymore, and I recommend anyone else to do the same.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeta1920ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear Guest,
I apologize for the inconveniences of your stay. We do have a security officer that patrols our grounds to make guests feel at ease, he was not called on your behalf. We are a quiet hotel and we do not allow large parties in the rooms, you are allowed to have guests, but we do charge per guest staying in the room and up to only 5 people. [Only five are allowed in any room due to fire codes]
We do not have an elevator because we are only a two story hotel, there is no need for an elevator, for those who can not climb stairs there is the ground floor.
I apologize about the lights and towel rack; we have been fully remodeled since your stay. Please feel free to come and join us for another night, we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
572 reviews
0.7 km away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#29 of 47 in Gainesville
1,367 reviews
1.4 km away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 47 in Gainesville
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL

Address: 3820 SW 13th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: ₹ 5,016 - ₹ 12,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly remodeled and finished our remodel late 2010. We now have new bed, new bedspreads, new carpets, new exterior, new interiors and offer a quaint breakfast selection. We still have our sparkling clean pool, and plenty of parking. We accommodate students, parents, truckers and travelers of all kinds, though, we are sorry we do not accept pets. We are conveniently located close to the Football stadium of the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, the VA Hospital, Gainesville Airport, and Gainesville Racetrack (home of GatorNational). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Gainesville FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Howard Johnson Gainesville
Gainesville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing