We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly young staff make this hotel even better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Friendly young staff make this hotel even better”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Breakfast and cookies are why most people like this place,but I liked that the nice young man told me to take room away from the road for a quieter stay. Friendly Floridians also helped us find lighted tennis courts and the Butterfly Rainforest. The Harn Art Museum was neat surprise, a small place with some surprising famous artists well displayed. Good beds and shower, plenty of parking in the rear, lots of restaurants in the area. Safe neighborhood for joggers.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the highway for quietest sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrekkerSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
We are happy to hear that 'Friendly young staff make this hotel even better' for you. Thank you for you nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    118
    43
    10
    9
See reviews for
156
104
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms looked updated and have flat screen TV. Judging by the parking lot, the hotel seemed pretty full, but I never heard noise from adjacent rooms or the hallway, it was a quiet night, except our room faced the I-75 side, so there is highway noise, so if you are sensitive to this, get a room on the other side of the building ( the even numbered ones).

The included breakfast was pretty good-- hot items (make your own waffle,scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and sausage gravy and biscuits) along with the usual cold items (cereal, breads, yogurt, fruit).

A good Gainesville choice

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the breakfast during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotlanta
Level Contributor
251 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights while attending a Wedding. We booked a suite with a hot tub so we could enhance our stay, and it was a good move. Although this room is right by the elevators, we never heard any noise from the elevator or guests in the hallway. The tub was plenty big for both of us, and was very relaxing. the room was clean, and properly prepared, and the king bed was comfortable enough. They don't have full or king size pillows, but there were enough that it didn't matter. Other than that this is a typical Comfort Inn, with all the normal features.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side, not interstate side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaStuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We are glad to hear the hot tub enhanced your stay with us here at the Comfort Inn University. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with a colleague while traveling for business. We had not made a reservation or read reviews prior to pulling off of I-75 and checking in. There is some road construction which made getting to the hotel a bit confusing at first, but due to the detour we discovered a back way from the hotel to nearby shopping centers which meant we did not have to go back and forth on the very congested Archer. The hotel feels a little worn, but it is very clean and the people there were friendly. Check-in and out were easy. There was a downstairs vending area with drinks and snack and the room had a small galley kitchen--sink, fridge, microwave. In similar hotels there is often paper plates and utensils in the cabinet or the microwave but not here. It would have been so nice just to have a small basic set of plates and plastic cutlery. Instead there are empty cupboards. Coffee maker and enough coffee for two pots. The room itself was very comfortable with lots of pillows on the bed and a nice blanket in addition to the coverlet. There was a sofa and a desk with chair, tub with shower and nice large mirror in bathroom. The breakfast was okay. They have a coffee and cereal station in the room with the registration desk and then you walk through the dining area and into a third area for the rest of the breakfast items. I think this helps perhaps when there are a lof of people in the dining area but you must do a lot of back and forth to gather the food and your needed utensils. For example, the spoons were with the coffee stations and no spoons in the other area--where you have yogurt in the fridge......but a small thing. I thought the crockpot held oatmeal but the attendant told me it was gravy for the sausage. I was disappointed.They have two wafflemakers, one was out of order, with batter to make your own, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and gravy, little muffins, bagels, bread for toast, various cold cereals, instant oatmeal, oranges, apples, bananas, and yogurt. All in all--about what you get at most free breakfasts at this type property. I liked that the back door that was mid way of the hotel was directly across from the elevator. Most people parked in front so we never had a problem parking by this door and zipping in and out of the room. The room was quiet. I slept well and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeingGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
We are glad to hear you had a very nice stay here at the Comfort Inn West. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The front desk clerk, Milan, was very helpful. He was very knowledgeable about the area and obviously well trained. We were here for a visit to the hospital and found this hotel very convenient. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable and again the staff was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwright0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
We are always glad to hear from our guests and are pleased our hotel the Comfort Inn West met all your needs. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
4.9 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 3440 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,723 - ₹ 12,089
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the newly renovated Comfort Inn, located conveniently near I-75 & Archer Road (Exit 384)- this premier location provides quick access to the University of Florida, UF Health & Shands, VA Hospital, Shopping and Restaurants. Our 100% Non-Smoking hotel offers complimentary hot breakfast, free internet, pet friendly designated rooms, and complimentary shuttle service for your convenience. The modern amenities and service will make your visit to Gainesville a great experience whether you are visiting family, the award winning healthcare facilities, attending sporting events and the many reasons that bring you to Gainesville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing