We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good......except for the bar staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good......except for the bar staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed on March 17, 2012.

Hotel overalll is outstanding. Rooms are clean, front desk staff is outstanding and the breakfast staff is friendly.

The only opportunity I see is in the bar. The bartendars are not friendly and disappear to the kitchen often. I am in the F&B business and knwo how difficult it is but if you had a food runner and bartendars that are actually glad to wait on you this hotel would be excellant but this area is holding you back not to mention costing you revenue. They do not understand that employment is a privilege and I know first hand there would be a long line of "A" players that would apply for these positions.

I have stayed here several times and this one area is consistently below average but want to make the point that aside from the bar staff this hotel is very, very good.

Will definately return and hope to see the bar "attitude" improved.

Kevin

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    279
    145
    80
    36
See reviews for
351
93
45
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
287 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very convenient to the University of Florida. Without a doubt, the best (and maybe only) good hotel in Gainesville. Rooms are clean, nice and parking is plentiful. There is nothing to compare to anywhere in Gainesville.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed two nights on a trip to attend an event at the University of Florida Harn Museum of Art. It is apparently the only facility I would consider a real hotel in the area and it was adequate, but nothing special. Service was fine. I asked for a bathrobe which was sent right up. And room service food came quickly and was reasonably priced. The bathroom was attractive with a conveniently large counter area, but the caulking around the tub needed replacing and better cleaning as mildew was visible, and some of the tile grout was unappealingly stained. The soundproofing could be better also as we could hear people in the hall and the next room. The bed and bedding was comfortable, even luxurious. There was no minibar, drawer and closet space was adequate and there was a comfortable easy chair with ottoman. The whole atmosphere is very small town. There is a valet only part of the time, but on the other hand there was no charge when the valet parked the car. The more than adequate buffet breakfast was included in our room rate. They have an omelette chef who does a nice job. I originally booked at a senior rate of $189 a night. A month or so later I received an email from the Hilton loyalty program to register for an extra points promotion. I called and was told the offer could not be added to a reservation already made so I cancelled the first reservation, registered for the promotion and made another. The second reservation, for the same room, was made at a rate of $169 for the first night and $144 for the second. So it may pay to check back and see if you can get a lower rate after you book. BTW, when we got our bill they had charged $169 for both nights, however a phone call to the desk took care of it. So make sure to check your bill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredFloridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I arrived Late do to the Airlines, the hotel was very welcoming, comfortable clean room. I had a lovely stay. The courtesy van drives were so nice and friendly and accommodating.


Stay here its worth the few extra Dollars.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is ok, but not great. It claims to be emphasizing "green" policies, but was by far the coldest hotel I've been in. The lobby and hallways couldn't have been more than 60 degrees! It was freezing. Wasteful too, in my opinion. (And they want me to reuse my towels for several days to conserve energy?) Sheets were clean, beds comfortable, and floors seemed clean but telephone was gross when I picked it up to schedule a wake up call. Also things like mirrors and fixtures needed a thorough cleaning. And the tub didn't drain well while shower was in use, either--I stood in ankle deep water the whole time. The girl at the front desk said she'd report it to maintenance, but seems to me a maid would catch something like that. Truthfully, I've been in cleaner hotels that weren't as "upscale" as this one. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: I always request a room away from elevators and ice machines. They're quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
3.4 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Property: Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Address: 1714 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32607-4138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,331 - ₹ 16,699
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing