We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Seoul in Gainesville” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garlic & Ginger

Garlic & Ginger
Ranked #92 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Newly opened and a wonderful restaurant...we drove 90 miles and found this jewel...we plan to return monthly! And NO, we do NOT own or benefit from this place of business. "Thank You" for considering to place fine restaurant on TripAdvisor...
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A taste of Seoul in Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is the second time we have visited Garlic & Ginger, as we were blown away by the first visit with our family several months ago. We shared the Beef Bulgogi in a hot pot, along with one of the house specialties recommende d by our waitress: Spicy Baby Octopuss with veges and home made udon noodles. We inhaled the later, as it was so good. We love the nice assortment of fresh condiments that come with the meal, especially the Kim Chee. I wish they were in my town, as I would be a steady regular!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelpanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was my first visit and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu is extensive and the waitress was very helpful. We had several appetizers and shared a seafood noodle dish that was delicious.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ONLY Korean restaurant in town”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The service here is very very slow and lackadaisical. The food is subpar and you can tell that they are not really trying because it is the only Korean restaurant in town. It took them half an hour to bring me hot tea that was made from a teabag.

Asian cuisine in Gainesville is severely lacking.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lipigir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good for Gainesville”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Good Korean BBQ. Service friendly but not professional. Would be nice if they had some wine.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Korean food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

They have the freshest side dishes and all the food are aesthetically pleasing and taste delicious. You can tell they are good when all their customers are Korean.

Helpful?
Thank guiltlesspleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garlic & Ginger also viewed

 

Been to Garlic & Ginger? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing