We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn was perfect for my wedding weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked our hotel block for our wedding here because I had been to the hotel several times and was always very impressed with the decor, staff and cleanliness of the hotel. You really can't get a better location in Gainesville with so many restaurants/bars to walk to and other activities going on downtown. The staff is always very friendly and check-in/check-out is always easy.

I really appreciated the Sales Manager, Megan Humphrey, with all of her help for my wedding weekend. I planned things out of state and Megan was also so helpful and responsive. We also booked their meeting room for our rehearsal dinner and it could not have been more perfect. They set everything up for us and the room was really nice. Everyone was so accommodating that it made what could have been a stressful time for us very carefree!

At the end of our weekend, all of our guests that stayed at the Hampton were happy and so were we. You really can't find a nicer place to stay in Gainesville. I will always stay at this Hampton Inn when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Congratulations on your wedding. We are so happy that you let us take care of you and your guests during this special time.Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay, we really appreciate it. We hope you will visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

724 - 728 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

This would be my top pick of hotels to stay in Gainesville, Fl. It is in the heart of downtown With tons of food options and things to do. Pretty new hotel, I have stayed here twice. Very clean and friendly service. I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to visit Gainesville, Fl or nearby areas.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkyfresh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

We are so glad that you have chosen our hotel as your "top pick" of hotels in Gainesville. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gainesville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a new property in downtown Gainesville, close to all city and county offices. It is also walking distance to some great restaurants and bars. It is 13 blocks from the University of Florida Campus and 20 blocks from the Gators' football stadium, Florida Field.

Parking is a bit difficult. There's a garage next door with access through your room key card. However, when it rains, it's a wet walk back to the motel. You can pull up to the front door to register and unload your bags before parking.

Props to the front desk crew who made sure our group had plenty of umbrellas when it rained one day.

The room I had on the fifth floor was immaculate. The sheets were soft and the mattress was firm. The bathroom was well maintained and the there were plenty of towels. It really was one of the best Hampton Inn rooms I've ever stayed in.

Breakfast was a typical Hampton Buffet served on paper plates with plastic forks. However, the selection of food was decent both mornings I stayed there.

I was there for a college reunion and we had no trouble using the breakfast area for gatherings each night to talk the night away. . . And drink. . . and laugh . . . and well you get the picture! I hope we didn't disturb guests sleeping on the second floor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you so much for posting a review on your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your college reunion. Sounds like everyone had a wonderful time. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I could not have asked for a better place for the reunion that I was planning. From the very first meeting with Megan to set up group rates, things moved along smoothly. She increased the rooms when needed and we ended up with 30 people staying together on the same floor. Pretty incredible!! The desk staff was more than helpful whenever we needed anything. The rooms were great, comfortable...and the suites were terrific! Having the 2nd floor to gather the group was a great option. Being close to restaurants and bars makes this spot perfect. I would recommend that this be a #1 chose for anyone's stay in Gville.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKoegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you for choosing our property to host your reunion. We're so happy that you and your guests had an incredible experience from start to finish. I'm glad Megan was able to provide you with outstanding customer service, she is a great asset to our hotel. Thanks so much for posting a review of your experience and we hope you visit again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Checked in at 12:30 a.m. and checked out at 9:00 am, so I can't comment much except that the rooms were nice, flat screen TVs. Bed was very comfortable, bedding was comfortable. I will say to beware of which side of the hotel your room is. There are rooms with windows facing the main street that are across from a bar playing live music until 1:30 a.m. that is easily heard in your room. Also, if you're on the second floor near the elevators and buffet area, you will be awakened as soon as breakfast service starts.

Buffet area is nice. It is a modern-looking hotel. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Be wary of rooms with windows facing the main street as there is a bar across the street. Room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Thank you so much for posting a review of your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
6.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
5.1 km away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
2.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
680 reviews
6.9 km away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
7.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: ₹ 7,434 - ₹ 16,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing