We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All at once quaint and well appointed, close to everything but hidden away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The sweetwater branch inn is one of if not the best place to stay in Gainesville. The cottages are charming, clean, historic but updated where it counts. The beds are comfortable, the bedding comfortable and cozy.

The breakdfast is just the right size, not so elaborate as to require too much effort to enjoy, yet not so sparse that you would rather go elsewhere. The facilities and the staff are wonderful and while not inexpensive it is a great value.

Room Tip: I prefer the cottages away from the main home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

Just spent three days here and especially enjoyed being on property for rehearsal dinner and wedding. Beautiful property and kind staff. Rain forced the wedding inside and the transition was smooth. This is a bed and breakfast property and the breakfast was not as good as other places we've visited.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Situated 5 minutes walk from the restaurants and bars of Gainsville, the rooms are located in superb gardens.
The properties are furnished with antique pieces.
Breakfast is served in an air conditioned porch.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenie B, Public Relations Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

This place is unbelievably beautiful and quaint. My family and I were in Gainesville because I was doing some work with UF but we also wanted to use this time to relax and get away for a few days. The Sweetwater Branch Inn helped us achieve that respite. We stayed in the Victoria cottage which is in the back of the property. It was quaint and decorated in such a way that you feel like you're going back in time but not compromising on comfort. The room was clean and unique. The grounds are pretty to explore and we especially enjoyed the wine hour where we got to meet some other guests and enjoy the architecture of the older buildings. Breakfast is included and it is delicious. It's made fresh and you can enjoy it while sitting on the front porch. This place is so great and if you are in Gainesville you should definitely stay here!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenie B, Public Relations Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so happy you had such a wonderful, relaxing time on our property. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

I had my wedding reception here and it was incredible. We rented most of the rooms and they were all beautiful and unique. The kids loved the salt water pool and hot tub. I could swim without worrying about my hair for the wedding.

And oh my goodness, the breakfast! Yum! The food for my reception was outstanding. All my guests raved about. The staff was courteous and helpful. Some glitches (my fault) were fixed by the awesome Marjury with no stress to me. She also made sure we got to eat some of the delicious food as most brides and grooms just can't get to it. After it was over, They packaged up leftovers and put them in the honeymoon cottage for us to eat later.

If you want to feel at home in Gainesville, this is the place to stay. You may even get to see some otters frustrate the owner by raiding her koi pond.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Terri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenie B, Public Relations Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

First, congratulations again! Sweetwater Branch Inn is honored to be a part of your beautiful, lifelong memories. We are ecstatic that those memories will be full of positive impressions of our property and staff. Unfortunately we still haven't solved the problem of the otters and the koi! We wish you all the best, and hope to see you both on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
7.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
7.5 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
2.9 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: ₹ 9,834 - ₹ 13,741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing