We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay, but priced too high” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
central ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good stay, but priced too high”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Good firm beds. Good breakfast overall. Stayed 3 nights. Stairwell closest to us never got vacuumed while we were there. Our tub was slow to drain. Room was well attended--no problems there. Office internet area had 2 computers available, but one never connected to the internet and the other was out of order on occasion. Connection seemed a bit slow. Office chairs were a bit low for my taste. Breakfast options were good, but some items (yogurt, cereal, certain bagels) were not replenished as the days went by. Noticed that some of the small cereal boxes were out of date. TV was loud in breakfast area; my attempts to quiet the TV were unsuccessful (only available table was directly in front of the TV). Perhaps the staff could lower the volume and show the closed captions. Did not like hot toaster location; cramped for space in breakfast area. Good cookies in afternoon. We reserved the AAA rate, but later heard the staff offer walkups a rate lower than what I was paying.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duffbeerdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatorFan49, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thanks for taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I have personally addressed some of the issues with the staff to ensure our guest's stays are better than expected at all times. With regards to the internet, we are in the process of upgrading the equipment to ensure consistent and reliable internet and business center services that exceed the standard. I hope you will visit again and give us the opportunity exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    132
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
217
128
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After an unexpected break down on I75 and a 3 hour wait for AAA, we were so thankful to finally get to our lovely room. We had booked months in advance and found checking in a breeze. We stayed in a King Suite- small frig not too cold, microwave, large walkin shower, in room jacuzzi. Nice spacious room and bathroom. Semi quiet, could hear some talking in the hallway. Very clean. Comfy bed and pillows. Breakfast was good but small. Nice area, close to everything. Ate at Cody's Roadhouse after race. Awesome prime rib! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Love the King Suite. We were on ground floor which was ok but a little too close to housekeeping cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ther0fthebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed overnight on a weekend for an athletic event at the University of Florida. There was a short wait to check in because there was a flood of guests checking in at the same time. There was one person working the front desk. A housekeeping staff member was doing her best to assist her. There was a baseball team spending the night at the hotel, and staff members at the front desk assured us that the manager wanted to know if we had any problems with noise and provided us with the manager's cell phone number. Fortunately, we had no noise problems. Our room was nicely furnished and clean. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean and nicely appointed, but the lighting was not good. Unfortunately, the breakfast area is very small and the hotel was full. We had to take our food back to our room because there was no place to sit. There was a fair selection of basic breakfast foods. There is a small business center just off the lobby. Overall, it's an okay place to spend a night.

Room Tip: Our third floor room toward the end of the hall, away from the elevator was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingfoolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is your typical "stay one night in a clean place" type of property. It is o.k. for business, but would not stay for any other reason. Pretty basic. There are other properties in the area to stay if you want a lot of amenities. Rooms are a nice size though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingoluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was on the road for work and needed a place to sleep for the night. I booked the room based on the pictures I saw on the website. I will say from the time I entered the lobby I felt at ease. This is the 2nd Sleep Inn I have stayed at and the first property was brand new. This one seems to be fairly new judging from the room that I stayed in. The room was clean and updated. The bed was also very comfy. So comfy that I almost over slept. If I am ever in the area again I will definitely stay here again as long as the price is right.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247HardWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 km away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#13 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#6 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,737 - ₹ 17,992
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing