We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I actually did not stay a night here. I reserved for 3 nights, checked in and immediately starting looking for somewhere else to go. I checked out and went elsewhere. I booked according to pictures on a booking site. My room was in a part of the property not pictured on that site. My room was in a part of the hotel that looked more like a 70's motel than a resort. There are two parts to this hotel, multistory beachfront hotel and the motor lodge looking part. Make sure you know what you're getting when you reserve a room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCPuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for sharing this review. It is unfortunate that you were expecting a different room type from what you had reserved. Any time there is a concern of any sort, including room type or location, feel free to discuss these with the front desk. Our staff makes their best effort to change reservations in any way necessary to accommodate preferences whenever possible. I hope that you will return in the future and choose a room more suited to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,202 - 2,206 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I booked this hotel for company travel because of the lower price...still $189 a night. Upon driving into the parking lot I was impressed the lobby looked very new and very nice. I get the key to my room and they tell me to drive around back. I quickly found out the lobby was the only thing remotely new! The rooms were outside entry only and looked like a very old motel. The inside no better. They sitll use those really old heavy printed comforters...who does that. When I walked into the room the carpet was filthy with stains, the tv stand had a dead roach on it, and there were doritos crumbs around the bed frame, I guess they didn't have time to vacuum up clsoe to things. I immediately went to the front desk and asked for another room. On the way to the second room up the old dirty outside stairs I noticed an array of swimwear laying on the ground on the walkway to dry. Gross, this was not the place for me. I asked for my money back and got out of there. I guess at the beach just like anywhere else you get what you pay for. It's worth the extra 10-20 bucks for the Hilton or Holiday inn down the road. Don't be fooled by the roadside appeal of the lobby. NEEDS MAJOR UPDATING in the rooms!

Room Tip: Maybe you could try a suite room, but I can't imagine they'd be much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blonde_holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

I appreciate this review of your stay. As part of our continuing effort to give our guests a great experience, we are in the process of upgrading various features of the rooms, to include brand new, beautiful bedding. I hope that you will stay with us again and enjoy the improvements you have recommended.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel July 3rd thru July 5th and It was my first time to Fort Walton Beach area, I enjoyed my stay and would encourage families to stay here. I was a solo and felt I was out of place but I still enjoyed the time I spent here. The ground and beach area were beautiful but the rooms need to be updated as far as color and comfort of the beds. The rooms has all eminiities micro and fridge and that was a plus.. also had a safe availble if needed. I had a ground floor room and felt it was ok for the time I was there. The cafe served a good breakfast buffet and the wait staff was very friendly. I forgot my toothbrush and the front desk sent a staffer to my room immediatley to rescue me. I enjoyed the close proximitly to the Boardwalk and the Pier. I would encourage families to stay here.

Room Tip: there is an air conditioner noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for visiting and sharing such compliments. Hopefully you can bring the family next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel last week of June and had a great time. We had a poolside room and had a really nice view. The hotel was really clean everywhere I went. We stayed on the 5th floor and our room and bathroom were super clean as was the fridge and microwave. There is not alot of storage space in the room but this didn't cause a problem for us. We brought mainly beach/casual wear and kept our clothes folded in our luggage. There are a couple of drawers and a hanging rack you could use. The beds were clean as well. I pulled the covers off just to be sure there were no bed bugs and the mattress looked like new and the sheets were clean too. The rooms have a tropical look which I liked. Hotel staff was very friendly and polite. It was great not having to drive to the beach. We could get right off the elevator and walk a few feet and be on the beach.There is a pool area for all ages. So, I have no complaints about our stay. If you use a debit card to pay for your room, they do hold out an extra $30.00 from your account. The money was credited back when we checked out so it wasn't a big deal. Also, to rent beach chairs and umbrella is 30.00, 15.00 for just umbrella. I stopped at one of the local surf shops and bought a couple of beach chairs. In the hotel lobby are some brochures that have coupons you can use. I feel this hotel was well worth the money we paid and would stay here again!! Destin is about a 5-7 minute drive and it's very congested. Everything looked crammed together and traffic was terrible so I was glad we chose to stay in Ft. Walton. If you stay in Destin/Ft. Walton, eat at Fudpuckers, we had alot of fun eating there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlliH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

I appreciate the detailed review of your stay with us. I am glad that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room as well as the less congested location of our resort. Please come back when you have another opportunity!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

this was a wonderful trip thanks to the ramada plaza and thier location on the island..you get real bang for your buck here...we stayed four days and never had to drive anywhere. it is a beautiful place with really clean rooms and the grotto is sooo perfect for an adult beverage. this was a family trip and there is more than enough to do right outside our doorstep to the beach.when we arrived there was three beautifull beach weddings going on ..loved it!..our teens went parasailing,rented waverunners, and we all walked the VERY short walk to the pier where we all fished for 7 hours...(and my daighter and i dont even like to fish!!) we all caught fish and watched dolphines from the end of the pier untill midnite...magical trip!..ADVISORY!!!!...do not stay at the nearby
ramada limited " in destin..we did the managment thier is horrible!!! and the rooms are filthy! hard to believe that place is even a ramada!!!..bet they are ashamed to call it that!....we will come back to the ft.walton ramada plaza" very soon and bring more of our family!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSD11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

I can't wait for your family to return to our resort. It sounds like the pier has turned you into an angler! It sounds as though your children had a great time also, participating in the many watersports available. Thank you for telling us about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
618 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,336 reviews
0.6 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
148 reviews
0.8 km away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
333 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Address: 1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: ₹ 6,514 - ₹ 16,481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Ramada Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing