We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two stays in one...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
North East TN
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Two stays in one...”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

...First and last! On the plus side, the staff was friendly, and the outside of the hotel is nice, but the rooms are ratty! I'd suggest the powers that be spend a little more $ on renovating the rooms, and less On the "Tiki Bar", and goofy looking slide in the swimming pool!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABMResto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest;

We would like you to be aware that our company has been working on a plan to update our guest rooms including all the suites. We thank you for your feedback as we too understand that we need We hope you will give us another chance after the renovation is done. As of now, It is scheduled to finished by mid-March 2012.
Please come to visit us again to experience a different atmosphere.

Sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    534
    333
    171
    114
See reviews for
774
552
36
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We needed a couple of extra days to be by the Gulf and I went on line anf found a diamond in the rough.The staff was very pleasent and engageing tending to our request which were completed post haste. The room was clean and comfortable and the free wi-fy was great.
I would stay at this hotel again and if I knew about this hotel before I bought my time share I would be 6000 dollars richer.
To the staff and management thank you it was a great time.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the gulf but I think a traveler should ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emile1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 5 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Arrived to a nice little tiki bar. Walked over the steps to a beautiful beach. People were very nice and rooms were great. Not a great choice for restaraunt, but overall nice stay.

Room Tip: Get 7th floor and a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orl1jmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I'm so glad we only had to spend one night here!!!
First let me say, we stayed on points... so, I'm usually extra lenient because of that. But this was just so bad - I have to review!!! And I don't usually leave negative reviews..I'm not too picky..as long as things are pretty clean and I feel safe.

We stayed elsewhere the rest of our week..but needed something a little closer to the airport (but still on the beach) for our last day/night in the area. As I said, I had points to use also.
I did a lot of research and thought this would be ok.

There were some positives - The Lobby is very well kept. Fish tank, nice restaurant, free popcorn. Even free movie rentals - which we used. I saw the area for the kids program..that looked decent. Once you leave that area though... forget it!!!
We had a room "upgrade" for having high status with Priority Club. I would hate to see what our original room that we booked looked like.
There are different buildings. We were in the same building as the lobby, at least. Room doors face the outside, something I personally, am not a fan of. Room was dark and small. The balcony had old rusty chairs... just felt dirty.. you could see the ocean... but we're also over one of the pools. My main thing was how dirty the heater/ac unit was. there were dead bugs on it and just gross looking. I took a picture.. but doesn't do it justice.

Onto the pools - Something that just bothers me personally...when hotels let people smoke and drink in the pool - this is suppose to be a family hotel... and here there's cigerette butts in the pool.. some other weird dirty things floating in there. I was not impressed. I know the hotel wants to please everyone .. including single, partying adults ... but there should be designated smoking areas.
The more kid-friendly pool, was next to the bar.. almost completely in the shade. Has a basketball hoop and small slide (that you need to be really careful on... or your child will fall)
my son got excited and started to run..I was in the middle of correcting him when one of the staff... who stand around the pool area, yelled at him for running. Excuse me? you are not his parent.. .and how about you say something to the people leaving their drinks and smoking near kids in the pool instead??? (seriously, people were swimming while holding beer cans)
The one great thing was the beach... which the hotel can't really take credit for.. they just happen to be there ;)
gorgeous water! soft white sand!!
However, your "complimentary" beach chair is only good until 4pm (or maybe it was 5) and they do come up and ask you to move..and they put all the chairs away.

I think for families who want something clean and fun and spend time together.. this was not the place... for families who want to let their kids do whatever they want, so the parents can go off and do their own thing - then this might work for you. And if you're single - you'd probably like it too. They do have kareoke and stuff at night.

I was unimpressed..and glad I didn't waste actual money on this hotel. Don't let their pictures fool you!!!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILOVETRAVEL356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 25 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Stayed here one night. The only thing good besides the view was seeing this place disappear in the rear view mirror.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MsCheap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this review, 5 February 2016
Greetings Reviewer,

It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Your feedback has contributed to the improvement and 100% correction of your concerns. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
597 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,308 reviews
0.7 km away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
962 reviews
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
717 reviews
1.8 km away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Property: Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,555 - ₹ 19,022
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing