We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful condo and building”

Review of Surf Dweller 704

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ka268
memphis
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful condo and building”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I want to preface this with I would have given this actual condo 5 stars had it been properly cleaned. The cleaning crew used by the rental agency needs to be replaced. Their was so much dust in this condo I am pretty sure it gave a few of us sinus infections. There are A LOT of fake plants in this condo and none had been cleaned in what appears to be months, if not longer. They were disgusting. The floors under everything (tv cabinets, couches, behind furniture etc) was disgusting and had mounds of dust and hair balls. The couch itself had tons of crumbs in it, old wrappers and toys! I complained about our feet being black after we arrived the first night from walking on the floors. The cleaning crew came and used a towel mop wet with water...spent 10 minutes wiping the floor...with water. And left. That is not cleaning. I was told I could check out an hour later for inconvenience. Although we loved this condo minus the filth...due to how this situation was handled, I will never use Wyndham vacation rentals again. We travel to Ft Walton a lot and this was my first experience with them. Compared to other agencies- they offer less quality coupons, the late check in procedure is ridiculous and a waste of valuable time, they are unwilling to allow late check out without full day charges and I truly feel the inadequacy in their cleaning crews is inexcusable for an agency.

On the condo- A note to elderly, the master bed is VERY tall. I am 5'8 and had to jump up to get in bed. The bed itself is comfortable for a condo bed. One of the softer ones I have stayed in but still firm. The linens are nice and pillows fluffy. The 2nd bedroom had two full beds. I don't think these are queens, as advertised -they were very soft and nice linens. I loved the 2nd bedroom furnishings. Very sweet kids room.

The tvs are decent (480&780) but nothing great. The remotes and vcr/dvd combos need serious updating. We could not even get one of the dvd players to play dvd's. The furnishings were comfortable and it is decorated beautifully minus a few random weird pieces. Although there is a screen on both doors they do not lock and the seal on the frame is warped so it's questionable leaving the doors open without getting some small insects. We enjoyed the outdoor patio furniture and the two fans on the porch-only one in the building with this feature. The patio is a good size also and there is great view of the Gulf. This seems to be a building of mostly older couples. We did not like the pool was not heated, found this surprising considering the size of the Surf Dweller. There is also no hot tub only a small kiddie pool. The pool area and tennis court were decent size and well kept. As a matter of fact, the entire property was well kept and of all the condos we have stayed in, this one had the nicest elevator.

The kitchen is large but in need of very serious updating. There were lots of dishes and pans and pretty much all you need except there were zero spices.
The laundry room was stocked with a small cooler for the beach, a few floats and beach toys and like 5 chairs. They also have an accessible vacuum, broom and mop (some condos do not leave these available for use).
The water system is not filtered in this building as is smells like typical fishy Florida water in the showers and sinks-but this is common. They do have a water filtration system in the fridge for drinking water and ice.
Overall, we would stay here again if the cleaning issues were not a factor. I would also recommend to friends if it were not an issue. I have never complained about condo cleaning either...this is truly a first and especially considering the cleaning ladies came out and "cleaned" after we complained. I was very shocked the rental agency did not do more to make this right too. IF you decide to rent this condo my only suggestion is to bring cleaning supplies with you and expect to spend half of one of your vacation days cleaning something that should have been clean when you arrived.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The furnishings and view
Liked least: cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf Dweller. Please know we regret that your experience was not as you had hoped and as a standing practice, we work diligently to right any situation brought to our attention during your stay with us.

When we were notified of the situation in your unit, we worked as quickly as we could to correct this for you. We offered to remove the plants from the unit during your stay, but our offer was declined. We did our best to remove any dust from the plants for you. Our cleaning staff did come in to mop the floors for you. We use a special cleaning mixture, as requested by the owner of this unit, because of the type of floors in this unit. The owner prefers for us not to use harsh chemicals that may damage the flooring. Also, we use a towel mop as we feel it cleans more thoroughly than a traditional mop that just pushes around dirt and dust. We apologize that it did not seem that we were working to correct your grievances.

We understand how upset you must be and we want you to know that we are certainly going to follow up with our housekeeping team regarding the cleanliness of the unit. Once again, please accept our sincere apologies the unit was not as clean as it most certainly should have been upon your arrival. Additionally, we do provide many of the conveniences of home at all of our properties. However, stocking the unit with spices is unfortunately not one of the comforts that we supply. Each guest is different and we try to account for that when we supply each unit.

We ask that you please keep in mind that we have a wide range of properties throughout the Emerald Coast, and when planning your next visit, should you have any specific requests, our reservation specialists will happily guide you in the right direction. We are committed to making sure our guests have positive beach memories for years to come, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Please contact us directly the next time you plan a vacation and we can assist you in picking out the ?perfect? unit for you and your family. We strive to deliver excellent customer service so our guests can build memories.

Sincerely,
ResortQuest Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing