We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Condo for Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GullWing Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
GullWing Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Condo for Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath condo at the Gullwing.

PROS:
*Southern area of Ft. Myers Beach which is the widest area of beach so it is less crowded then the northern area.
*Very spacious condo compared to many condos
*Big screen, flat screen TV with a DVR player in the Living Room area, A larger flat screen TV in the Master Bedroom, and a smaller TV in the 2nd bedroom
*Wonderfully furnished full kitchens! Everything you could want in order to cook and serve a meal, even small appliances such as blender, toaster, and coffee pot. All dishes, glasses, and silverware provided as well as a starter supply of dish soap, dishwasher detergent, coffee, papertowel, and even dishcloths. There is also a kitchen counter eating area which is great!
*Washer and dryer in each unit along with a starter supply of detergent and Bounce.
*The living room has plenty of seating, a pull-out sofa sleeper couch, 2 chairs, coffee and end table.
*A bar area off the living room with cabinets, bar sink, and great sitting area for snacks or drinks.
*A dining area for 6 with table matts
*A double sliding door leading out to a screened in porch with a table and seating for 6. Also a towel hanging rack to dry towels or swimsuits. From our room we had a view of the bay and the Gulf as well as the condo next door.
*Master bedroom had a king size bed, walk in closet (with two bathrobes), 6 drawer dresser and two side bedside tables with lamps, and a clock/CD/radio. A seperate door leads out to the screened in porch. The master bath has two seperate sinks. A larger sink with plenty of storage and cabinets, a light up vanity mirror, and hairdryer. The second sink is seperated by the bathroom door and the counter is a little smaller than the first but still decent with more cabinet storage. A decent size jacuzzi tub (I never tried so not sure how well it worked), a nice size tiled shower, and a separate toliet which can be closed off by another door.
*The second bedroom had a queen size bed, 6 drawer dresser, and two side table drawers. decent size closet, and a door leading out to the screened porch.
*The 2nd bathroom has a single sink and a tub/shower combo.
*These condos are loaded with closet space!! Another 2 closets in the living room area, one with extra sheets, blanket, and pillows for the couch pull-out. The other contains a mop, broom, and vacumn which comes in handy with the sand that sticks to your feet.
*Lots of towels(not sure of the exact numbers but there were about 5 beach towels, a number of large plush bath towels, smaller size bath towels, hand towels, wash clothes, kitchen washclothes and towels)
*The beach is beautiful with white sand and areas you can walk on either side for miles which is great.
*Para-sailing and jet-ski rental is availble on the beach
*A decent size pool (the week we went it was very busy so it was pretty packed) and a smaller hot tub.
*The front desk has a small selection of ice cream and frozen food for purchase, as well as sunscreen, towels, and a few other items. They also have some books and puzzles to borrow and DVD's for rent.
^CVS and a couple of restaurants in walking distance. A Publix Grocery Store is about 1 1/2 miles down the road.
CONS:
*Rooms are not cleaned daily which is fine but was not sure what the procedure was for fresh towels so we just washed ours
*Trash in bathroom and kitchen needs to be emptied which was easily done on our floor. We asked for fresh bags at the front which they gave us.
*Because there is not daily housekeeping you need to clean up after yourself daily but if your like me that is not a problem and I found it convienent with all the supplies they provided.
*We stayed the first week of April which was quite busy on all of Ft. Myers Beach area so the traffic was quite busy and we would have to spend time just sitting in traffic, especially to the northern part of the island.
*Beach chairs are not provided but can be rented for $25 a day. The resort has a limited supply of beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards, and skim boards. We purchased a couple cheap umbrellas and boogie board to use for the week and left them at the resort for others to use when we left.
*With the number of people the week we were here it seemed like we were always waiting on an elevator and rarely used the stairs because they were closed off and seemed too creepy.
*Small starter set of bath soap, shampoo, and conditioner so bring extra.

TIPS:
*Bring a cooler so you are able to take drinks with you to the beach! Also some can cooler holders to keep your drinks cool. :)
*Buy cheap beach chairs ($13) and umbrellas ($9) at Publix to use for the week.
*Bring some extra clothing detergent, dishwashing soap, shampoo, conditioner, and body soap.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ktakens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    112
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
306
96
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
545 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Nicest condo suite ever. Amenities all up to date extremely clean and superb management. Huge beach with soft white sand. All beach activities available close to hotel. Nice pool and hot tub. No food or drinks available on beach. Several nice res truants within walking distance. Grocery, alcohol and CVS close by. Busy pier scene right up the road. Plenty activities just south in Naples. Extremely happy with our choice for spring break.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear scott1102,

Thank you for the recent review of our resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for sharing your tips to the TripAdvisor community about all the great activities, shops, and restaurants surrounding the resort.

We hope to welcome you back again real soon!

Sunny Regards,
The Management Team at GullWing Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Have stayed closer to "downtown" Ft Myers Beach, but our family with two teens loved Gullwing. Our room was only on third floor with "island view". We still had view of ocean from lanai. Beautiful 2 room condo with full kitchen and dining area. Beach was larger and quiieter than near pier, close to decent restaurants and grocery store, and allowed for alternative route to Ft Myers through Bonita without traffic jams. Pool area was clean, large and had 4 gas grills. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our condo was clean, well stocked, and had a wonderful view of the beach and gulf. Our unit had three bedrooms and two baths, which with our big family would have been better with another bathroom, but that was a small problem. Overall, it was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GAHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We just got home to Connecticut after yet another perfect vacation at Gullwing. The beach is amazing, the pool just right for all ages, enough gas grills so everyone gets to cook, washer and dryer in the units, gorgeous views, great lanai, the most perfect sunsets night after night! This time we even hired the Sunstream photographer Justin Friede to take a family portrait on the beach...again...perfect, great guy, awesome pictures. It's a tough place to leave!!!

Room Tip: The three bedroom condo unit was perfect for kids and adults...plenty of room, one king, one queen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunStreamResorts, Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Suzu W

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us! We love hearing from repeat guests!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next year for your 4th year in a row!

Sincerely,
The Management Team at GullWing Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
7.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
6.7 km away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
7.7 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
1.6 km away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Property: GullWing Beach Resort
Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4512
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,609 - ₹ 43,467
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked into the charming south end of Fort Myers Beach on the widest stretch of sand, GullWing offers 66 condominium 1-, 2- & 3-bedroom suites with complete home amenities, including in-room laundry and a full kitchen. Enjoy a beachfront pool, elevated tennis court, fitness room, guest bicycles, barbecue grilling deck, poolside snack bar, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing