We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mango Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kragero, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I say "hidden" because it was an area of tranquility right in the heart of Ft Myers Beach. I say "gem" because of the owners, Tree and Dan, who were so helpful and kind. I said "delicious" numerous times during breakfast where a phenomenal home cooked breakfast awaited us every day, tailored to my and my husband's eating preferences (I am a vegetarian, so it was nice to have breakfasts made for me with that in mind). This Inn made our stay in Ft Myers Beach memorable and we are already planning a visit back.

Room Tip: Tell them Heather sent you. It might not get you a good room, but it'd be fun for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
118
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent three nights there over Mothers Day weekend along with our grown daughter and her friend, and wished we'd have had time to stay longer as Tree and Dan are the perfect hosts. Note that we are very well-traveled and try to always stay in small hotels or B&B's to get more of the flavor of the city we're staying in, so this little inn was right up our alley.

First, it's everything that other reviewers said it is: Excellent location right opposite the beach and beach access, and walking distance to good restaurants and shopping; lovely little property with pretty landscaping in the central common area; soothing fountain; comfy chairs for sitting outside to enjoy the sea breeze; plenty of parking.

We had two spacious doubles - one with Queen bed and the other with a King - both well decorated living areas, kitchens with everything you'd need (excellent coffee included!); small dining table; living room with big couch/arm chairs; bathrooms with tubs/shower. Everything was very clean and well-maintained and the Inn provides beach towels, chairs and umbrellas, and even a cart to haul all the stuff in (we had loads!). Since we were there in the off season Dan was able to show us the vacant two-bedroom, and it was lovely and roomy - excellent for families. The well-stocked book shelves are an added bonus.

Breakfast is Dan's purview since, among all his other talents, he's a chef. It's served under the pergola between 9:00 and 10:00 (they'll do room service) and each time was a culinary adventure worthy of a top-notch restaurant.

Dan and Tree are conscientious hosts and work their tails off to make their property the gem that it is. They even did us a tremendous (and un-asked for) favor. I won't go into details, but suffice it to say that we were so grateful that we gave them a parting gift in thanks. That's a first for us...

Thank you, Mango Street Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We chose Mango Street Inn based on reviews in Trip Advisor. It sounded it could be our type of place and as it turned out it was. There is not much different to say than has already been said by other reviewers and we found all the positive comments to be accurate and wholeheartedly agree.
The public area between the units is a haven of peace, furnished with plentiful seating, tables and plants. There are numerous interesting collected pieces in wood, wrought iron, pottery, tiles etc adding individuality to what is an ideal space to relax, drink, eat or interact with other guests. We found this a pleasure as the people we met while staying there were all very pleasant and very friendly. At the same time you can have privacy if that is your choice; the best of all worlds really.
Our room had a comfortably furnished living room with well appointed kitchen, a bedroom with king bed and an en-suite bathroom. There are ceiling fans and a modern AC unit. The individual pieces furnishing the room lend an impression of individual quality and we felt this attention to detail made all the difference and lifted the accommodation way above the norm expected for this category. We saw other rooms before leaving and they also are individual but of the same high standard. Everything is scrupulously clean.
Many others have mentioned Dan's breakfasts, served under the lovely pergola, we agree. Creative, fresh and yummy!
Tree and Dan are so very lovely people, always helpful (both before and after arrival), informative and obviously dedicated to being great hosts to their guests. They work really hard at their business, a labour of love we suspect.
Location is central and the beach is very near, across an admittedly busy road, but crossings alleviate any problems. Dan and Tree provide beach equipment which was very useful for anyone, like us, travelling from overseas.
We had a wonderful stay for 4 nights and look forward to returning. Anyone planning the same would be wise to book early.
Many thanks Tree and Dan!

Bill and Janis from Scotland

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

When i was a kid, I had a dream that I was in my bed, but the bed was in the front yard, and I would wave "Good Morning" to the neighbors as they passed by the picket fence. I always wanted that experience and the Mango Street Inn is the closest I feel I'm going to get. Imagine the inside of your house being on the outside as well as the inside. You walk through a gate into a courtyard that stretches between two rows of suites. There are friendly plants and furniture all along the courtyard, a discreet fountain, and the suspicion of a couple of cats. A dog named cookie. Maybe a guest dog, or two. Nothing's wrong here. The suites have living rooms and kitchens appointed with the most satisfying taste and utilitarian chutzpah. The living room gives way to a bedroom decorated in the same standard. Nothing's wrong here, either.
Everyone is welcoming. It is not unusual to see the doors to the other suites open, much like yours probably is. Everyone says hello, and talks, and sits, and shares restaurant stories before they walk across the street to the beach (approximately 800 feet).
Yes, nothing's wrong, here. It's like being accepted into a village, and Tree and Dan and family are really glad you are staying, and proud of the breakfast that they themselves would like to be served.
Because they know you'll be back.
Great place - nothing's wrong here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt pond village
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Tree, Lucy and Dan do a fantastic job. Cookie (dog) and Hector (cat) are always around and great with kids. Especially liked the art work on the front, make sure to see what the fish has in it's fin! Breakfasts were wonderful, inventive, and savory. The other guests staying with you add to the overall experience. Everyone was quiet in the evenings and enjoyed several chats in the morning. Nearby to local community pool and rec center - top notch and inexpensive, grocery store, good restaurants - Fresh Catch Bistro - 3040 Estero Blvd recently opened and is very good. Might want to pass on the taco stand just down the road or at least avoid their chips and hard shell tacos... Easy access on and off the island. Be aware traffic can be busy on the only major road on/off the island, just take your time, plan accordingly and enjoy the breeze off the water. Your kids will enjoy the ring toss game in the back. Just ask!

Room Tip: Rooms off Mango Street are likely a bit quiter and darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.5 km away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
5.6 km away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
1.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#19 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.5 km away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
0.1 km away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Street Inn

Property: Mango Street Inn
Address: 126 Mango St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3233
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers Beach
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,948 - ₹ 18,521
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique bed and breakfast style inn just footsteps to the white sands of Fort Myers Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Street Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing