We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 118
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 142
US$ 125
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pier Sixty-Six Hotel & Marina(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
US$ 87
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 113
US$ 100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Atlantic Hotel & Spa(Fort Lauderdale)
US$ 323
US$ 212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 172
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 441
US$ 335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 387/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 100
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 226
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Manhattan Tower Apartment Hotel(Fort Lauderdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,684)
Filter reviews
2,684 results
Traveller rating
1,748
692
146
61
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,748
692
146
61
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoda shopprivate beachping pongshuffle boardmichael holmesminiature golffamily photosan executive suitefree chairsold floridaliving roommain restaurantpool barbreakfast buffetfamily vacationpool viewan umbrella
Filter
Updating list...
2,161 - 2,166 of 2,684 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2006

We loved the Lago Mar, it was relaxed and so well kept. The lobby and restaurant were immaculate, the pools were lovely and the beach a stroll from the pool. We were lucky to receive a free room upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was just perfect. A plasma TV, living room with dining table and kitchenette with all the things you needed. The bedroom had the biggest bed I've ever seen and the bathroom was huge with a walk in shower. If we could take this room with us on every holiday it would be fantastic! The staff were very friendly and always went out of their way to help. We arrived late as we'd travelled from Oklahoma via Dallas to Miami so were exhausted on arrival at 10pm. The staff said the restaurant would still serve us and to not worry about luggage, they would sort it out for us later. The chef and staff in the restaurant were really nice. Fort Lauderdale itself is ok, las olas boulevard has improved the area I think. The beach front in the main strip still looks like Blackpool. We didn't feel particularly safe in the main town so stayed around the area near our hotel, we found a lovely steak house just a 2 minute drive away.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank Frogwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

We just spent 4 nights for the 4th of July at Lago Mar Resort and had a great time. Even witht the holiday and more people than normal it was great. There were plenty of chairs (and we had 5 rooms of people!) and towels too. The room was very comfortable, roomy and clean. The kids always had something to do between mini golf, 2 pools, ping pong, giant chess...etc. There was no wait at the onsite restaurant and it was good, but it is expensive. There are many places to eat just minutes away. The AC worked too good in the living area and it was too cold out there, but warm in the bedroom. We just asked for extra blankets for the kids. The spa is very small but it was great! One of the best massages I have had and priced reasonable too. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lope43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

We stayed for 4 nights at the Lago Mar and thought it was a great hotel for a reasonable price. We booked through British Airways and our room was upgraded to a suite for no extra charge (£68, about $120). Like many more guests I would have preferred not to have an 18% service charge added to everything but couldn't understand others complaints that they had to memorise everything as the bill was continually updated and could be seen via the TV. I also agree there was very limited TV viewing but don't expect to watch too much TV while on holiday. THe suite was spotless with with a kitchen area, great bathroom with shower cubicle and seperate bedroom. The staff were always friendly and helpful and treated us with courtesy. We spent a day on the beach and it costs $20 + tax to hire 2 chairs and an umbrella but it was worth it. The beach was certainly not dirty when we were there. I would have liked more shade around the pool, we generally used the one closer to the ocean and there were only 4 places with shade and these went very quickly. I cannot understand any hotel having so little in the way of shading when high temperatures and sunshine require us to get shade during the day.
We had a nice meal in the restaurant which cost $93 for 2 (including a bottle of wine and tips) which I felt wasn't too bad. We spent $60 at a seafront restaurant with plastic table cloths and no wine. We would definitely stay at the Lago Mar again and would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Just got back from a 4 night/5 day stay. Arrived a few hours before posted check in and the staff offered to let us check in early! How often does that happen? As far as reviews you've read about staff, we thought they were very hospitable.

Our room was spacious, exceptionally clean, with a nice view of the ocean. The bathroom was newly remodeled; all marble and glass. Linens were fresh and comfortable. However, we noticed that anything you may need is "room service only", even ice for the ice bucket, or a soda (No ice or soda machines at all). A soda would run you about 4 bucks (including the mandatory gratuity/tax that is added on). There was a coffee maker but no fridge. We went to the 7-11 and bought a cheap styrofoam chest, ice, sodas and H2O, and kept that in our room. Figured it saved us a bundle "-)

The pool, gardens, restaurants, gift shop, were first class, but expensive. I guess they can get away with it because they figure people are on vacation and will pay for the convenience, with a "what the heck" attitude, but it added up fast. A hotdog for 8 bucks, and iced tea for 3 bucks, an ice cream cone for 4 and a cute "tank top" in the gift shop for 160 bucks, come on...

There were limited channels on the cable TV. You could, however, pay for an in-house movie or to play the Nintendo set up in the room. Movie for 10 bucks, and I didn't price the Nintendo.

It was just my husband and I, but there were a lot of families and they seemed to be having a lot of family fun. The pool is awesome, great playground, etc. You can have floats, etc in the pool. There were no planned kid activities, though.

By the way, if you want to take advantage of the beautiful beach front, you cannot bring a cooler or your own chair to the beach. You must strictly rent their chairs (can't remember how much per day) and buy drinks/snacks from their beach grill.

If someone didn't have to worry about money at all, this would be the perfect place. So close to home (Maryland to Ft Lauderdale in 2 1/2 hours for $100.00 round trip/non-stop) and the the hotel is just 10 minutes from the airport. They getcha with the niceties that you'd expect and I can't help but wonder if they'd be more popular if they didn't try to getcha coming and going.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We stayed at Lago Mar last weekend for a family reunion. I am physically handicapped and require an accessible room w/roll-in shower. I have stayed in many hotels where they say they have such accommodations and really don't OR they give the room away before we get there. I'm pleased to say that Lago Mar delivered on its guarantee. Our accessible suite w/roll-in shower was waiting for us when we arrived at 11 PM.

The staff was more than courteous, following up on every request with a phone call to see if we were satisfied, even if we requested something of someone whose job it wasn't. Rental car arrangements were handled efficiently.

We don't have enough good things to say about Lago Mar. The only minor irritant was the 18% gratuity on carry-out (non-service) items. This could be eliminated.

We've stayed at pricier hotels in south Florida with less attentive service.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CW89134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews