We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good for kids, bad for sleep” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Ranked #5 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Malabar, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good for kids, bad for sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Lago Mar had a great amount of stuff for kids to do, two nice pools, a large beach, great customer service and good but expensive food. Very noisy if you aren't on the top floor. You can hear a lot through the ceilings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,443
    574
    125
    48
    28
See reviews for
1,142
555
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowman, North Dakota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We are from a small town in ND and came your way for a cruise. We picked your place out after looking around online!! We stayed 2 days before and the day after we got back! We couldn't have picked out a better place!! Everything was perfect!! The rooms were beautiful, the grounds, the beach!!! All the staff was awesome,the men that work getting cabs, taking luggage, ALL the front desk people and I especially want to mention one in particular..Paul Romanelli!!! He was great!! He helped us with places to eat, shop, and just made our time there a blast!!! It's people like him, and the rest of them that make people want to come back, because it doesn't matter how nice a place is, if you don't have great workers and service, I personally wouldn't go back to a place:-) So please give Paul, and the rest a pat on the back, and be very proud of your resort and employees!!!! We plan to come back that way just to stay at your place for a week sometime:-)

Room Tip: All the rooms were great!! But we especially enjoyed our corner room with a nice private balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

I came with my girlfriend and the clerk was very nice about the fact that my card didn't go trough for payment. Eventually we figured it out though. The service is outstanding and staff is top of the line. While you will spend a bit of money here you will not regret it.
• Mainly older people
• pricy
• great service
• great location
• quiet
• great room service

You can tho wrong here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanWalk3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed for 5 nights during the Memorial Day Weekend. The Lago Mar Resort was a great place to bring our young girls (2 and 3). They had a great time swimming in the Lagoon pool. The beach is close. You can rent an umbrella with chairs for $20 a day. The girls loved running around in the playground. The playground has a shaded area. The grounds are very nice. The staff was very friendly. However, there were some things I didn't like. The hotel and rooms are outdated. Our girls love nickelodeon, but the only channel available for children was cartoon network. On Monday, we were in the lagoon pool and an inconsiderate person decides to smoke a cigarette in the pool right next to my 2 year old. I was furious and went to complain. They said people are allowed to smoke in the pool area but they are not allowed to smoke in the pool. I left and cut my pool time short. Overall, it was a great trip. I am not sure if I would return again, but that is the only family resort I could find in the fort lauderdale area that caters to families with children.

Room Tip: The Oceanside suites on the 5th floor have a great view. You can see the cruise ships and yachts pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jegmom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Lago Mar exceeded our expectations and they were high! We spent six days here with our one year old son, and had a fantastic trip. It was very family oriented and you kind of felt like you went back in time (in a good way!) with good service yet all of the amenities!

Our one bedroom suite was huge with a breath taking view of the ocean, beach and pool. Our son enjoyed watching the planes and ships off the balcony, but when the doors were closed you couldn't hear a sound inside. We had 1 1/2 baths, and a kitchenette, and could enjoy the balcony and living area when our son slept in the crib in the bedroom. Beds were large and comfy. The decor was a bit dated, but the rooms were very clean and the decor provided a nice atmosphere. WiFi service was spotty at times, but was free and we could usually get on when we tried.

The pools were nice, and the beach was large and clean and not overly crowded. There were hardly any rocks in the water and the water was clear and warm. We chose to rent chairs with a large umbrella which was $20 a day, but well worth it with a toddler who loves to play in the sand. There were chairs for free as well.

There was a nice choice of food on the premises from the beachside grill to the ice cream shop to the more formal restaurant. The chicken and ravioli I had one evening was absolutely fabulous. Room service was also good and quick. The poolside bar was great, especially the Miami Vice cocktail! My husband also thought they had a good selection of beer. It would have been nice to have drink service on the beach. We only saw the server once and she only waited on one group of people.

Anyway, we will be back to the Lago Mar with more family in tow. It really was a relaxing and memorable vacation, one of our best!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diggcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#10 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#20 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club

Property: Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club
Address: 1700 South Ocean Lane, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,952 - ₹ 34,137
Hotel Class:4 star — Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Fort Lauderdale beachfront resort that is decidedly, and purposefully, different. Understated, not loud. Gracious, not pretentious. Deferential, not presumptuous. In short, a sophisticated retreat where you can appreciate the enduring traditions of genuine hospitality. With its spectacular 500 foot private beach and secluded location emcompassing 10 acres in the exclusive Harbor Beach neighborhood of Fort Lauderdale, Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club invites you to discover one of the best vacation resorts to stay in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lago Mar Beach Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lago Mar Resort And Club Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Lago Mar Hotel
Ft Lauderdale Lago Mar
Mar Lago Hotel
Lago Mar Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing