We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at the south end of Fort Lauderdale beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Ranked #22 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel at the south end of Fort Lauderdale beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel primarily for a week at the beach. The hotel is effectively right on the beach and so it was very convenient for that. The hotel has the traditional Courtyard Cafe still, which is nice for breakfast. There is a nice pool with bar and food service which is great for those days you don't want to go to the beach. There are a lot of restaurants in the area as well. The beds are WAY to soft and so getting a good night's sleep was an issue for me. The lack of balconies or windows that opened was surprising for the location (the hotel looks more like an office building than a hotel). Also, the only parking was valet parking at an outrageous $29 per day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
A week at the beach is a wonderful vacation especially when that beach happens to be in Fort Lauderdale! It was delightful learn how much you enjoyed our location as well as our pool when you chose not to spend the day on the sand. On Ft. Lauderdale Beach, parking is at a premium everywhere; however, there is public self-parking adjacent to the hotel for less money, but you do not get in and out privileges. We hope the next time you are in the area we can welcome you back again to the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    679
    261
    55
    36
See reviews for
473
581
60
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had an extremely rude encounter with the woman at the front desk around midnight at the Courtyard. We had just left the Marriott BeachPlace because of a cockroach issue and proceeded to pay the cab fare and arrive at the Courtyard. When I spoke to Marriott Reservations on the phone I was told there were rooms available and that I should proceed as a “walk-in” guest.

When we arrived the situation and attitude of the Marriott employee could not have been more different. I am a Marriott Gold Rewards member, was rudely and disrespectfully told that no rooms would be available for the next 2 hours because of an IT situation. That means we would have had to sit in the lobby with all of our luggage for the next 2 hours. The Marriott employee also stated that there was nothing she could do for us, and rudely told us that bottles of water could be purchased for 2.50 at the hotel lobby. There was no effort or accommodation made and the employee’s attitude was disrespectful, rude and incredibly inappropriate for two people who literally had no place to go at that point in time except another hotel.

I was extremely disappointed by the lack of adequate and basic customer service this employee demonstrated towards us. Between our Beach Place incident and this incident I have serious concerns about my own brand loyalty to Marriott.
Additionally, Marriot has done nothing to attempt to reconcile this issue with me. We left and had a fabulous vacation at the Westin.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
We sincerely regret that your recent experience was not one which we would hope any of our valued guests would have. It is unfortunate that upon arrival we were experiencing issues, causing a delay in check in; however, it is always our goal to make our guests feel comfortable and welcomed so we apologize that this was not your impression. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will give us another try. Thank you for sharing your story with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Overall great find. We headed there for a work convention for 5 nights. Our group room rate was affordable. We were told our block of rooms were not ocean view, but turns out we had partial ocean view and marina and city view!! Loved it! The room was good size, spacious bathroom. Beds are way soft. Breakfast buffet had all the essentials. It would've been nice to have an actual nice restaurant in the hotel, but there was a few just walking distance. Great location, we just had to cross the street which wasn't super busy, and there was the beach! Nice sand, waves not too big, but no too quiet either, just enough to have fun. Bring a beach towel, cause the chairs are like $40 to rent out on the beach???!!! Anyways. Only hiccup was someone walking in our room at midnight and scared the crap out of me!!! This lady was an older lady and apparently lost. She proceeded to try every door on the floor (vigorously) and succeeded at entering quite a few rooms that night!!! Everyone came out of their room looking at each other like WTF???? When I went down to the desk, the manager and a security person were already on their way up to help the older lady who was lost. The thing that was weird is that when I asked the front desk clerk how the heck can a person walk in my room without a room key, I was told: the doors are so big and heavy that sometimes they don't shut all the way and you really have to push to shut them...........right. So I guess that night, several of us on the 4th floor didn't happen to "push" are doors WAY shut.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrigitteB012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We're thrilled that you enjoyed our location, just across the street from Blue Wave Beach. While there are many notable restaurants within walking distance, we offer the convenience of on-site dining at our two restaurants, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company and Blue Water Restaurant & Bar, in addition to our 24-hour food pantry, The Market. We regret if you experienced any disturbances while staying with us, but are glad that our staff worked quickly to resolve any confusion in a timely manner. We appreciated your patience and are thankful that you enjoyed your time at the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here 5 nights on business in May 2012, and thought it was excellent. I have previously stayed at Courtyards in Europe and not been impressed, as they are usually basic compared to a standard Marriott, but I was pleasantly surprised here. It's not a huge hotel compared to most others in the Fort L area, but that is part of its charm. It has an amazing location just across the street from the beach, fantastic pool and sun deck, stunning views from many of the rooms (ask for a high floor facing east or south) and outstandingly friendly and helpful service. Breakfast was good and you are walking distance from lots of restaurants and bars.

Downsides were the price (ridiculous at over $300 per night excluding breakfast) but the hotel prices everywhere in Fort Lauderdale are hiked massively for the ARVO medical conference so this was fairly cheap by comparison, plus we booked late for ARVO week which probably didn't help. I'm sure it's cheaper any other week. Paintwork a bit scuffed here and there, not great soundproofing between bedrooms and corridor, though quite good between bedrooms, and the lifts are maddeningly slow. Rooms don't have balconies. But this was all minor stuff compared to the many positives, so don't be put off and I'm still giving it 5 stars.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
It is a true compliment to learn that you found our hotel charming! We're pleased to have had the opportunity to host you during your business trip and appreciate your acknowledgement of our pool, location and views. At the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach we have a number of hotel packages and specials running throughout the year so that we can provide quality accommodations for every budget. We hope you'll return for a future visit soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Florida vacation. Tremendous location just across the street from the beach. Nothing to complain about the hotel. Very good value for the money. Can't say enough good things about our stay here. Several nice places to eat and numerous bars. Great place to just walk around and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms facing the beach have tremendous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardFtLauderdal, General Manager at Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
We love our guests! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach. We’re delighted you found our hotel to be a good value and in a great location. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again and we hope it’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
Central Beach
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
Marriott's BeachPlace Towers
#35 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#25 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,912 reviews
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#48 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Central Beach
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort Lauderdale
The Westin Beach Resort, Fort La...
#30 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach

Property: Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Address: 440 Seabreeze Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1622
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,888 - ₹ 23,629
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with spectacular views! The Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach presents a popular choice for families, couples and business travelers to take in all of Ft. Lauderdale. Explore Las Olas Boulevard and an array of dining experiences, premiere shopping and entertainment venues day or night. Contemporary accommodations featuring scenic views of Ft. Lauderdale Beach and Intracoastal Waterways with ceiling to floor windows. The hotel features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect, by day serving healthy breakfast options and your favorite Starbucks beverage. At night - have dinner in the Bistro or choose our pool deck lounge, the Seabreeze Poolside Bar, and order your favorite wine, beer or special cocktail with your meal. Stay connected with free Wi-Fi and the interactive GoBoard, providing the most updated news, weather and local information. Only minutes away from the Hollywood/Fort Lauderdale International Airport, 2 miles from the Port Everglades Cruise Port and nearby the Hard Rock Stadium, the Sawgrass Mills Shopping Outlets and the BB&T Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Marriott
Fort Lauderdale Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing