We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No tiki bar. Bad service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florida Beach Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florida Beach Hotels
Ranked #101 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No tiki bar. Bad service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have never written a bad review about any hotel, restaurant, anywhere. But, I will start now. My boyfriend and I checked in on a Tuesday afternoon at Lauderdale beachside hotel. The problem with the front desk was, when I had booked airfare & this hotel, I paid for both online. Well, according to the front desk “they didn’t receive my payment” even though it was on the actual website itself, AND bank statement. So, we had to pay TWICE. Next, our hotel room. The one positive about our room was the view, we were second floor and overlooking the beach; that view was perfect. It was amazing watching the sunrise and having a few drinks on the balcony relaxing throughout the day. The room itself was old and needed MUCH repairs. I understand it isn’t a 5 star hotel, but with water damage on the ceilings, rust in the bathroom, and even the door didn’t lock, those things are essential to keeping a hotel in business; clearly they do not care. Then, on our last full day in the hotel, it was a Friday afternoon, everyone was hanging out in the tiki bar pool area having a great time, and then the ATF comes in [alcohol, tobacco, firearm.] Apparently the hotel owners called the ATF on the bar/kitchen owner, how unprofessional. They ended up taking every last bottle of alcohol and can of beer, and ridding those few workers of their jobs. It was kind of sad being a witness to all of this going on right next to us. If you are planning on staying at this hotel, I would call and see if the Tiki bar area is back up and running, because that was another positive about the hotel. Being able to have a burger and fries and a refreshing beverage after a few hours in the hot sun, and with great bartenders working, it was a fun spot to hangout at. Overall, this hotel needs a lot of work done and needs to get their heads on straight if they want any more business coming through.
Oh! And P.S. forgot to mention the towel issue. They do not supply beach towels, and give you very small shower towels. (For my boyfriend and I, he is 6’3 and I’m just short of 6 foot… this was a problem.) We instead went to the CVS right across the street and got two beach towels for $10, so I suggest doing that as well!

Room Tip: Beachside room, view is amazing. Bring your own towels, or buy some from the stores across the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    97
    124
    92
    210
See reviews for
152
172
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel looks horrendous from the outside, so I was hoping it would not be that way on the inside. I was very wrong. The hotel is worse on the inside. To start off, the worker at the front desk was very unhelpful with anything that was asked. She seemed to be very clueless and acted like it was her first day on the job. Next, we get to the room (after a hassle because the room we requested was said to be booked already even with myself booking it way in advance). When we are beginning to get settled in the room, I go into the bathroom to find many ants crawling every where in a corner near the bath tub. Ick! Then I went back in a second time to see 2 HUGE cockroaches crawling on the floor. I look closer and see that there are about a dozen baby cockroaches crawling all over the floor. The front desk was called and I asked them to have someone come up and control the bugs. No one came. If all that was not bad enough, when I walked out from the bathroom I saw 2 more (EVEN BIGGER) cockroaches crawling on the walls. Then I looked on the other wall to see that there was a HUGE centipede crawling up it. That was enough to make us never want to stay there again. We immediately took all of our luggage out of the room and checked out after not even 20 minutes of being there. I will NEVER EVER go back to that place for as long as I live. It is unhealthy and unsanitary and changes need to be made FAST. They cannot expect people to vacation to their hotel while it is infested with bugs. If you do not believe my post, then take a gander for yourself. But I kid you not when I say that theses cockroaches were the size of my index finger.

Room Tip: "Huge cockroaches in rooms do not stay"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Lauderdale hotels

Columbia Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

On March 31, 2012, after an hour wait in the lobby, our quiet, ocean-front room with a balcony (reserved months in advance) became a pool-side room with no balcony. The noise from the pool and tiki bar kept us awake until after 2:30 AM the first night. The room came with one towel, wash cloth, hand towel, and bar of soap for two people and repeated reasurrances from desk personnel that we would get towels resulted in no more towels. The sign in the room that beach towels were available at the pool was a lie, so our one bath towel was also to be used at the pool. The pool was sand-filled and the pool deck area trash was not picked up.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melrose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have been reading these reviews and Andrew is not rude he is very helpful and the manager Jennifer, The service there is good I have called and talked to both Jennifer and Andrew over 10 times in the past makeing and changing our resevation and they where very nice about me calling that many times. When we where there last year we had a great time yes the hotel is old but you know that even before you get there, We had 2 rooms in the beach building room 152 and the one next to it, they where fine for having a fun time you have the pool the bar the beach right out your doors, When you travel with a group you enjoy being with it dosen't matter where or what the rooms or workers are like your on vaction just have fun. We will be there every year during spring break because its always fun.Can't wait to get there and have a great time. From Chicago

Room Tip: Beach building and have and open mind you will have a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlotta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Paid $341.88 for the 17th and 18th of march 2012, booked it on the internet while I was in Orlando with my husband what a mistake arrived to be told we where on the 3rd floor but the lift was not working , Got to the room and the lock on the door didnt work , was moved next door still lock on door was so hard to use , Bigger problems in room no towels in bathroom , safe didnt work , dirty pants under the bed , Hair dryer in bathroom wire and plug was held together with black tape , the bed sheets were stained, cigarette burns in sheets and ice machine did not work. I didnt even go back to reception to complain because there where already people there complaining left very early the next morning staying only the one night . Arrived back in the Uk today 29/03/12 , always holiday in the US an have always had good hotels , I also cant believe what I was charged for a 2 Night stay ( only staying 1) Booked with www.get a room .com . PLEASE DONT STAY HERE

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywa7110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
0.0 km away
Plunge Beach Hotel
0.5 km away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.1 km away
Away Inn
Away Inn
#24 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dee Jay Beach Resort
Dee Jay Beach Resort
#23 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 km away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#14 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 km away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#11 of 28 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florida Beach Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florida Beach Hotels

Property: Florida Beach Hotels
Address: 4660 North Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308 (Formerly Lauderdale Beachside Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Lauderdale-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,049 - ₹ 16,063
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Florida Beach Hotels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Also Known As:
Lauderdale Beachside Resort
Clarion Fort Lauderdale
Lauderdale Beachside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing