We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“HoRRor FLiCk!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Ranked #25 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“HoRRor FLiCk!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Called the Hotel before arrival to arrange airport pickup. The attendant explained that the phone line wasn't working very well and that he had to hold the cord in place to try to get a better connection. He gave us another number and we arranged a 5:30pm pick-up. We were told to look for a black Ford Expedition with "Ocean Manor" on the side. Our flight ended up being an hour late. We waited for OVER AN HOUR borrowing strangers’ phones to call the Valet service. 1st excuse: "He's on his way." 2nd excuse: "I'll call him and will call you right back" (never did!) 3rd call: "Oh... he said that he already picked you up" (What?!). After finding another shuttle (Go!) service, we finally arrived at the hotel.

Upon check-in we explained our trouble with the valet service to which she abruptly replied that that was a separate service and there was nothing they could do about it. She then said “Oh we've upgraded you to an Ocean Front room". Actually, we had already paid for that.
When we asked the valet service for some sort of compensation, we were told to ask for "Samantha" (which I think is code for: "Watch out for complaining customer!") No Samantha to be found. My husband kindly told the young man about what happened at the airport and asked if they could give us a lift down the street to grab a bite to eat (since we had two starving kids). He agreed, then entertained us with AC/DC's "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" blasting the entire ride!!

We walked back to the hotel. Upon exiting the elevator, there was a table with dirty papers on it with some old piece of eaten candy in an open drawer. "Ewww you have got to be kidding me!" popped out of my mouth ... the carpet was VERY dirty and stained.
We always play "Find the Room Number" with our kids. This time they were stumped! Between Rms 320 & 324 there was a room with the numbers ripped off and wood exposed. We tried our key card the door opened slowly we flipped the switch and NOTHING. No light. At this moment... we all remarked: This feels like a HORROR MOVIE!! My husband bravely entered and found a lamp. With toilet paper in the toilet, a sink that was COMPLETELY plugged, and the face of a drawer under the sink that crashed to the ground upon grazing it while sitting down on the toilet.... this was the moment of truth: WITHOUT A DOUBT: THE WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN.

The room we were in looked NOTHING like the photos above. Absolutely NOTHING LIKE IT.

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Maurine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    279
    152
    143
    360
See reviews for
401
391
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel has perhaps the worst management I have encountered in my many travels. With regard to the condition of the rooms, the pictures from previous reviews hold true. The deplorable condition of the premises, which are a product of poor management and absentee ownership, is a shame, given the excellent location and view of the ocean. Never again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank anastasiawaggoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The positives: superb location and the best bar at Fort Lauderdale beach. The tiki bar is literally foot steps from the sand and is a fun yet laid back atmosphere while you hear the waves crash behind you. The hotel lobby has been updated in recent years but the the rooms need major work. Our room was clean but it's was dreary. 2 of the 3 elevators were broken the night we stayed which caused major headaches with how many people were staying here. The pool is nice as it over looks the ocean. I'd recommend coming for a drink at the tiki bar but would skip out on renting a room. They need to invest some major $ to get the rooms up to par.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcasacci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Worst hotel! This was our stay, check in @3. Oops sorry room isn't ready. Finally get to our suite 2hrs later broken door! Can't get in, door won't work. Finally get in get settled, no lights in bathroom, stove doesn't work. Find out the next day our fridge isn't working ( lost our food). Next day maintenance guy shows up in the afternoon. There for 3 hrs! Couldn't relax. To top it all off not even the cleaning ladies could get in to clean. Upgraded to the penthouse. (sounds good?). Not so much, absolutely filthy! Now I'm a middle class person. I don't need the best of everything, but if I go on vacation. I expect to get what I pay for. This hotel is by far the worst place I've stayed in my life!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank betsy1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I am staying here currently. my friends and i are renting 2- 2 bedroom units there are 20 of us. They are aware of the number of people we have . we have paid extra for the 4 extra people. for 3 days we have had a total of 8 bath towels for 20 people. We had one roll of toilet paper in one unit and no toilet paper in the other. After many calls to the front desk my friend finally went down and screamed and we got another roll of toilet paper. If you stay here bring your own bath towel and toilet paper. The price is right. The location is ideal.the beach bar is great.
Sharing the same bath towels for 3 days with 20 people is gross.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Ocean Sky Hotel & Resort
#51 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#9 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Ocean Beach Palace Hotel and Sui...
#58 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Manor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Manor Resort Hotel

Property: Ocean Manor Resort Hotel
Address: 4040 Galt Ocean Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,385 - ₹ 22,523
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Manor Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Manor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Manor Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Fort Lauderdale
Ocean Manor Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing