We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Outstanding Property!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After a very late flight due to engine issues and rerouting to a different airport & city, we arrived at Il Lugano late in the evening exhausted. We were happy to note that the property housed an excellent restaurant we had been to years ago. Our room was ready--clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet, with superb views of the ocean. We had to leave the following day for a cruise, but would definitely stay here again and recommend it for couples who are looking for a quiet escape prior to cruising. It is not cheap--but you get what you pay for and between the professional staff, great location and luxurious comfort, this is worth every penny!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suze_shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    329
    74
    45
    22
See reviews for
319
589
63
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have a tiered way to judge a hotel room. First, the bed - second, the bathroom and third, the air conditioner. All three were excellent. I can see staying there for a few days would be great but we only needed a night. They also let us check out late and there was no problem. All in all, a nice place and I'd definitely stay there again. Plus it's close to the Mai Kai.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pablus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenafly, new jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Got an excellent price on priceline which i do not normally use and this hotel came up! we got a room with a view of the intercoastal waterway on the 6th floor - huge dbl width balcony. Room was terrific - great beds - new fully stocked kitchen, immaculately clean and filled with all cleaning products! full size fridge and dishwasher and stackable washer/dryer which we did not see till the last day! big bathroom..lobby was elegant and chic, there is s Todd English Italian restaurant in the lobby and small gym with nice locker rooms/w/sauna. The pool is not huge and only gets partial sun till about 1 at one end. There is sun along the intercoastal and you can move your chairs to get sun but it does not go on the pool. The hot tub was broken for our stay - they did try to repair it but then said it was shut. A water taxi stops at the hotel and we meter parked adjacent to the hotel to avoid valet charges. We walked to the beach about 2 blks and found it clean and quiet with showers. The night desk clerk was very helpful and told us what was open for good late nite snack. It is situated just adjacent to Lauderdale by the Sea the north end of Ft. lauderdale next to Oakland Rd it is a few miles to get over to Las Olas for shopping and dining. This is a very clean, well appointed hotel with great touches and you cant beat the quality of the rooms! There are a few local shops within a 3 min walk to grab bkfast snacks or get your hair done or grab some drinks or dinner - but otherwise, you need to drive to most places.

Room Tip: we enjoyed viewing the intercoastal and watching all the yachts passing thru the drawbridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseygirl138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC/NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

In fairness, I didn't actually stay at Il Lugano. It might be a very nice hotel (although the lobby looked like it was stuck in a 70's disco mode. I expected an upscale beach hotel) once you get past the front desk. However, the front desk staff, and especially a blonde named Carley, is reason to turn away from this hotel.

I booked via a special AAA rate. As a frequent traveler to South Florida, I decided to try to stay near the water this time. The rate was "guaranteed" and I have the email to prove it. Yet, upon check in, Carley and her co-workers (who were nicer) insisted that I must approve an extra $80 charge for "incidentals." What incidentals? I was told minibar, room damage and whatever else. I have never heard of such a charge and refused to sign for it. I was then informed that it was "mandatory." In other words, I would essentially be agreeing to allow them to charge me $80 more, on top of the price I was quoted (and have in writing. Do note that this $80 is not mentioned in my confirmation). Let's face it, they could say that this was missing, or that was damaged after I left (despite being a 50 something professional woman, married, and the mother of two grown sons) and there would be nothing I could do about it (as I'd be 1000 away!).

I continued to argue to no avail. Carley (who was fairly belligerent by now) told me this $80 was standard on all "Preferred Hotels" (a group that hotels can join if they pass certain standards -- basically 4 and 5 star hotels). Not true! I stay in "Preferred Hotels" frequently and have never seen this charge upon check in (and I always read everything I sign). And yes, I did tell her this but Carley continued to be both bored, rude, and not the least concerned that I was about to leave. I insisted on speaking to a manager. This was, afterall, a holiday weekend, and the hotel seemed to be busy. A manager must be there, right? Afraid not. He was "off-site." I pushed on this and she went into the back room to call him. Call him! Where was he (it was a he, I asked)?

Finally, another much nicer and more professional person took over (do note that the doormen were also nice). Essentially, I wanted my reservation voided and wanted proof that I wouldn't be charged. This took another 15 minutes; I didn't trust this hotel, and wanted a paper trail in case the charge appeared on my bill. I would, of course, dispute the charge. Carley actually asked me, "don't you trust us?" I said, "no."

In the meantime, various folks (mostly 20 and 30 somethings, like the staff, although I did see a few middle aged folks, too) went in and out of the lobby. The front desk staff didn't seem to care that a customer (me!) was unhappy (I didn't yell, but I didn't back down either) . I haven't encountered this level of hotel unprofessionalism in years. I do plan on writing to "Preferred Hotels" as well. If you do stay at this hotel, triple check where you "sign and initial" before you check in. If not, you might be paying for things you didn't know you
"damaged/used."

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DeborahPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, General Manager at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Pub

I wish to formally introduce myself, I am Michael Hatzfeld, the General Manager of il Lugano Hotel .

I would like to thank you for reaching out to us as it relates to your experience here at il Lugano. I understand our Director of Rooms, Matt Matko, reached out to you in reference to an e-mail you sent him on this matter, which we hope you received. I do apologize that he was not on property as he was off site servicing another guest upon your arrival. As it relates to our check in process there is in fact an $80 per day authorization. This is not a charge in any way, it is simply an authorization in the case you wish to charge any incidentals to your room for other services here at il Lugano. The way the authorization works is that upon checkout only the amount used will then be charged to your credit card and the remaining amount will be released. This is a common practice within the hotel industry and I apologize if this was not communicated clearly on our part.

Once again, I do apologize for the overall experience. I will personally follow-up with Matt Matko and the Front Office team to ensure our standards are set in place and that the communication to future customers is clear. Under no circumstance is your experience a reflection the norm nor the high standards we have set for our hotel. If you are ever in the Greater Fort Lauderdale Area please feel free to contact me personally. I would welcome the opportunity to have you experience a proper il Lugano vacation.

In the meantime best regards

Michael Hatzfeld
General Manager
Il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great hotel, top shelf rooms, service & restaurant. Great views and balcony overlooking the ocean or intracoastal from the rooms. The only downside (which didn't matter to us, but might matter to someone else) is that it's 2 miles down A1A from the action and from Las Olas, and the pool and outdoor area, while lovely, do not get very much sun. If that's not important, this is a great hotel. An added bonus, you don't have to spend $20/day on valet and can park in the metered area for very little $$.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guzzigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#15 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#23 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#3 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 21,267
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing