We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel - huge rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Ranked #6 of 128 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - huge rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Accidentally found this hotel at last minute for New Years eve trip to FTL and what a great find it turned out to be. It was actually cheaper than most others but way above the rest in amenities. The rooms are huge and come with washer/dryer. The location is great with plenty of places to eat within walking. The car service was a huge bonus and easy to reserve. Only negatives was there are only two complimentary bikes but oddly we found way to get them each day. and the pool is very nice just gets no sun. The chairs along the intercoastal are nice and relaxing spot. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL-LSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are very honored to have been your destination get away for New Year’s Eve. It seems as though you truly enjoyed all the benefits our hotel has to offer from our rooms to our Intracoastal waterway cabanas. We hope to be a part of your next Fort Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    322
    73
    45
    22
See reviews for
309
584
61
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Il Lugano over Christmas. When we arrived, the valet who was working was rather rude to us, and continued to be that way through our entire 6 day stay. The inside of the hotel was nice. The room was big and we liked it. However, when we went to use the microwave, there was cheese crusted onto the turntable plate. It was disgusting. In addition, there was a large amount of dust on top of the refrigerator. This really spoke to the level of detail that they didn't have when it came to cleaning the rooms. The shower head was weak, and although you could switch the modes, none of them provided a good shower. Although I realize that it's considered an upscale hotel, I think paying $5 for a 10 oz. bottle of Sprite is a bit excessive. The pool was very small and completely in the shade. There weren't many chairs to sit at by the canal. The front desk staff was not very attentive and possibly understaffed. Each time I called to the front desk, the phone rang at least 10 times before anyone answered, and at times, nobody answered. For over $200 per night, this hotel did not meet our expectations. We would never stay here again, and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We appreciate your feedback as this way we may rectify the situations. We hope you would allow us the opportunity to demonstrate a true il Lugano vacation as these concerns mentioned above are in no way the norms or the standards of our hotel. Our goal in fact is to make you feel welcomed. Our General Manager will be personally reaching out to you in regards to your concerns. We hope you would return allowing us to meet and exceed our goals and your expectations.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I spent one night here. The room was very luxurious and modern with a kitchen and a roomy bathroom. I had to call the desk because I couldn't figure out the tv remote and someone came up within 5 minutes.
One negative: there are a limited number of chaises for the canal and the air conditioning unit is close enough to be noisy. Better sit by the pool. On the other hand, the view of the canal is lovely, especially from my balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naturalee0900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Il Lugano for 3 nights prior to our cruise. We were with friends and family for my husband's 50th. As a travel agent, we travel frequently and have very high standards. I am pleased to say that Il Lugano lived up to all all expectations. The service was great and the rooms were amazing. Shelia in reservations was amazing and patient will all of my questions on the phone and came out to meet us during our stay. Marianne was fanastic and a hugh help even before we arrived. She arranged for our pick up at the airport and our transfer to the pier, which all went without a hitch. as well as Happy Birthday cupcakes in our suite. When we were there she was always on hand to answer any questions with a smile. We also ate breakfast and lunch at the restaurant and it was great. I would highly recoommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilLuganoHotel, Executive Administrative Assistant at Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We are pleased to hear you and your family had a great stay and were able to enjoy all the great amenities il Lugano has to offer, from our rooms to our spectacular restaurant da Campo Osteria. it is our goal to be able to meet our guests’ expectations. On behalf of the entire il Lugano team we would like congratulate your husband on his 50th birthday. We hope to see you again on your next Ft. Lauderdale vacation.

Maisa Palacios
Executive Administrative Assistant
il Lugano Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I can't say enough good things about this hotel..great rooms and amenities,very clean and spacious.the entire staff,from sheila at reservations to front desk to maid service went well beyond the call of duty to ensure a pleasant stay here.Quietly located but close to several ameneties just outside the hotel.We had a one bedroom suite facing the intracoastal waterway and enjoyed great views and sunsets.the bed was by far the best bed i have slept on away from home..the pool was heated on most days and unfortunately i didn't find out about the steam room till the last day but i still took advantage of it..Don't be surprised if they voluntarily compliment or reduce the cost of a service to you(sorry il lugano if i'm letting the cat out of the bag). it's a bit of a drive to las olas blvd,but well worth it.We enjoyed great breakfast and service at campo restaurant(wendy and dina were great) every morning with a great view of the passing boats..there's also a great italian bakery "pane e dolce" just outside the hotel with great espresso and bread ...and don't be too surprised to run into an A list celebrity or two in the hotel(won't say who,to respect the privacy of that person)..i would highly recommend this hotel for it's quality and quantity..again i would like to thank the entire staff at il lugano for a most pleasureable stay and i look forward to returning to your hotel the next time i'm in Fort Lauderdale..lou b ..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#17 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,520 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#14 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdal...
#7 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Beach
#24 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano

Property: Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano
Address: 3333 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7120 (Formerly Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal)
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,261 - ₹ 23,177
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of contemporary design rising 15 floors above the Intracoastal Waterway, il Lugano Hotel is Ft. Lauderdale’s most fashionable address. Experience the height of exclusivity at this spectacular Fort Lauderdale Beach hotel -- offering ultra-luxurious suite-hotel accommodations and lavishly appointed private residences. Stay only minutes from the city’s financial district, shops, beaches, restaurants, and nightlife. Enjoy stunning Atlantic Ocean and waterway views, world-class amenities, and availability to arrange private dockage for yachts up to 50 feet. Travel to nearby shopping and fine dining establishments in our luxury Cadillac Escalades* (based on availability, fee may apply). Blending the style of the world’s finest boutique hotels and a dedication to flawless personal service, we are redefining expectations for Fort Lauderdale hotel suite accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Intracoastal/Il Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Lugano Fort Lauderdale
Hotel Il Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing