We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
Ranked #5 of 127 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Our family of 4 had a large, very nice intracoastal view suite for a 5 night stay in late December. The hotel is very pretty and well situated near the beach with excellent beach service. However, we were quite surprised by a number of issues that seemed sub-par for a Ritz Carlton: (1) there was only one person at the front desk for check-in and check-out, and a line formed; (2) our bedroom telephone repeatedly malfunctioned during our stay. Maintenance did respond to our calls promptly, but we finally stopped calling for them; (3) Housekeeping did not replenish bathroom supplies properly. They knew we had 4 people in our suite, and we had to ask for extra towels and shampoo daily! We had even told central housekeeping on our first day that we would need this! (4) Our shower head was poor [we didn't complain]; (5) The fitness room was not what I would expect from a Ritz. There were only 3 treadmills, and for 2 days, one of them was broken!

On the plus side, access to the 8th floor Club Lounge was FANTASTIC! The staff there are absolutely wonderful, and we enjoyed the food and ambiance there a lot. This was a perk that came with our room, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

I am not one who looks for faults in a hotel, but I was a little surprised by our experience at this Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Intracoastal room are nice, but get as high a floor as possible and as far north as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanniedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,208 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I attended a two day conference at the hotel in January 2012. This was my second stay, and have been very happy with the service and quality that the Ritz exemplifies on both trips. Rooms are spacious, and have great views of either the beach or of downtown Ft. Lauderdale. The staff is very friendly, the beach is very easy to access through the bridge, and the pool is another great option for relaxing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Purcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I loved having my work place holiday dinner here! It was amazing, from the service to the food. The Ritz never disappoints.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This place exemplifies great customer service. We were here for 3 nights with a 6 year old and as soon as I saw all the glass in the lobby, I was afraid they would not be prepared for what he could manage. I was so wrong. From the greeting at the door, they made him their first priority- brought a wagon of goodies for him to choose from to play with while we did the registration, chatted with him like he mattered. It was amazing how he warmed up to them. They gave him their card about customer service and let him play like he was a 'gentleman serving other ladies and gentleman'. We got into our room right away even though it was early afternoon. We asked for a quiet location and found a corner room on the 11th floor to fit the bill completely. I would also mention that we got the hotel room with breakfast as part of a Visa card points program, so although it was usually an expensive hotel, we didn't pay the posted price.

The pool was somewhat warm in spite of January FL temps so we went in. There were a couple of other kids. The pool attendant made sure we had towels and suggested activities for our stay, showed us the way to the beach, helped us to find the hot tub controls, and generally tried to be helpful. The pool and pool bar closed by 6, so don't plan on late night pool use.

We ate at the restaurant for several meals- outstanding food and service- and I might add that we are foodies and my husband really enjoyed everything! They always found something our child would eat, even if it wasn't presented on the menu as such. Plenty of refills on coffee. If you stay here and don't eat dinner here at least once, you're missing out. There were no crowds, it was a beautiful view of the beach, and there was a guitarist playing one evening. Such ambience.

The room was huge. We had a king bed and had a cot pulled in. This was really nice because we still had use of the sofa (it was not a sofa bed), and the cot was a good mattress, so when our son crawled in bed with us, one of us could escape to the cot. If you're a parent, you know what I mean. Nice view from the balcony- but it was climbable if that's a safety concern for your kids. There was turndown service if you wanted it, which we didn't use because our son went to bed early...but the maid still left us chocolates!

Shower with multiple heads, and a separate tub were great and we loved having tv in the bathroom so my son could watch curious george at bath time. I'll warn you that there's a scale in the bathroom if you want to check your weight.

We checked out very early but found we could have ordered coffee and breakfast to go for our trip to the airport. Be sure to ask if you're on an early flight.

We didn't need a car in this area. Taxis are plentiful. Walking is easy. There are even bikes you can pick up at any time from vending areas using a credit card in the tourist spots, like the museums. If you won't have one, you can avoid the valet fees, which we thought were quite high.

One night we called the concierge to ask about restaurants in the area that delivered and he personally brought us menus with a few suggestions. Loved his top suggestion of a local asian restaurant.

This was a great place to stay. The only thing I missed was having a coffee pot, but there is room service and a coffee shop downstairs. Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: south side of hotel faces a busy restaurant/bar area so if noise is a concern- choose the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was my first visit to Fort Lauderdale and in large part to this hotel, I look forward to going back. The location is great, right across the street from the beach and between that and the intercoastal waterway. Our room was on the north side, so we go to enjoy views of both.

The hotel is beautifully kept in every respect. The food is of the highest quality and just about every staff member you meet is genuine and ready to please. Just about.

The pool staff is less so – a bit harsh and uninterested in provided the level of service the rest of the hotel staff so easily demonstrates. There is also smoking allowed in the pool bar, which is adjacent to the pool area. It is a regular experience to be sitting in the sun by the pool and having to be subject to cigarette and cigar smoke due to the prevailing winds. It was something you would never experience at The Four Seasons.

The soap in the bathroom is comically small. And they seem very concerned about replenishing it. I guess soap became a target of theirs when trying to cut corners.

But these faults were easily forgotten while eating a fabulous meal at the downstairs bar in the evening.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean is great. However we enjoyed facing north, as we could enjoy views of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
4,145 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale Beach
#14 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,796 reviews
Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#15 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#2 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
1,019 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
5,343 reviews
Fort Lauderdale Marriott Harbor ...
#16 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4392
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: ₹ 24,846 - ₹ 62,536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing