We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great korean bbq”

Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 1,421 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer authentically unique pan-Asian cuisine with a modern inspiration and ancient foundation. Speciality cocktails ranging from an Asian sunrise to a Bangkok Basil or a Dragon margarita- if you dare! An unforgettable atmosphere, commendable service, with a quality wine selection, and incredible food- all leading to not just a meal, but an experience.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I drive by BAO often and always wanted to try it, so finally did. Very quiet lunch during the week, I believe we were the only ones there when we arrived. Glad we sat on the covered area outside because the inside smelled of detergent. Great buns and rice bowls, good sushi rolls, we tried a few things everything was really fresh and tasty. service was friendly. I guess there was no one else working? As hostess was also out waitress. I suggest sitting outside, not sure what was up with the odor inside and management should also give the mens bathroom a major face lift. Enjoy!

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonFoodie, Guest Relations Manager at Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Rob,
Thank you for stopping by and appreciate your feedback.
We apologize for the detergent smell from the deep cleaning we do every morning. We'll take a look at sprucing up the bathroom decor as well.
We'd like to invite you back in for a dinner experience, please let Max or myself know when you come in, we'll have the kitchen prepare some special items on the house.
Thank you!
Igor
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This is near the bottom of Las Olas, not far from the ocean. The building is modern and very modern and fashionable. Most of the building houses A class offices. The interior decor is just as rich, think chic NYC The food choices are generally Asian extraordinary, with a curious addition of tacos. There are many and large plate options. The Tuna place poke was perfect as was the bork belly sliders. As good as they get. The 24 hour marinated beef was perfectly executed. The infused hot saki was the perfect addition. Huge drink menu as well. Service was very competent. In a word: really really nice

Thank shermannj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

BaoLasOlas provides a full service waterfront dinning experience. Modernly inspired with an ancient foundation- from taste & presentation to service & atmosphere BAO is sure to make you say WOW! We offer authentically unique pan-Asian cuisine. Specialty cocktails ranging from an Asian sunrise to a Bangkok Basil! An unforgettable atmosphere, commendable service, with a quality wine selection, and incredible food- all leading to not just a meal, but an experience.
We went for dinner on a Thursday night at 6 pm and it was pretty empty. We expected some diversity in the Asian food and certainly got it. Flavors were beautifully harmonized and complex. We loved the "natural and fresh" foods and the way they used the herbs.
We all agreed that each of the dishes was superb. Bao Tuna Tartare sushi, Chinese sticky ribs, pulled port egg rolls, Thai donuts with dipping sauce and ice cream, mojito and wine and the piece de resistance: the cotton candy surprise.
Service was professional and attentive. Food was offered in timely way. When we left, more tables had filled up... WONDERFUL place.... would definitely return!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanseider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonFoodie, Guest Relations Manager at Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Hi Susan,
It was a pleasure reading your detailed review and we are very thankful for the kind words. We're very happy to hear you received the full 110% BAO experience! You came at the best possible time, Las Olas starts to fill up around 8:30-9pm and continues late on to the night. Once again, Thank you for coming and we hope to see you soon!
Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Drinks were okay, food was excellent. Best Pork dumplings I've ever had. Food was reasonably priced, a steal during happy hour. And, the service was outstanding.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anneelizabethschmitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonFoodie, Guest Relations Manager at Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Anne,
We pride ourselves on our dumplings as we make every one of them meticulously in house. Thank you for taking the time to review our performance. We hope to see you soon.
Igor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

By far the worst Asian Restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale. Food was horrendous, service was average. Very nice setting. Sit on dock a have a drink than move on for a meal. Overpriced for what they serve. Will never go there again, nor recommend to ANYONE! Should have known a restaurant on Las Olas that isn't packed during this time of year is going to be awful!! How they last is beyond us!
Walk on by......

Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonFoodie, Owner at Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

James,
It looks like you didn't enjoy your experience at BAO. With over 60 menu items under $20, we believe we are priced very fairly. We're happy to work on improving the experience for our happy guests. We respectfully disagree with your negativity but wish you the best in finding happiness elsewhere and hope you "walk on by" next time you're on Las Olas. =)
Cheers,
Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Wilton Manors, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 

Been to Bao Bar + Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing