We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheston House Gay Resort
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I stay frequently at different guest houses in the area - I needed a place to stay on my last night in Fort Lauderdale and always wanted to check this place out.
I was greeted by someone and they did their tour about - the person had attitude and really turned me off. Being only one night, I accepted to stay here. I later found out the person that met me was the manager. The water was cold and no one went near the pool. It could be a nice place if this guy at least pretended to care for his guests. Other people staying there shared my concern.
I was made to feel that I was imposing on their time - stay at your own risk. Don't expect much! There are other places with kinder people working there - check them out!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hnh071964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Cheston House Gay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

This was our second stay with Chuck and staff at Cheston House, and intend it to be our home away from home at least once each year, if not more frequent. The accommodations are excellent; clean and bright rooms for which the staff is clearly attentive to appearance and comfort, and the grounds are purely Floridian and meticulously maintained. The continental breakfasts and early evening social hours promotes camraderie among customers in residence and we continue friendships established. We recommend Cheston House for anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

Cheston House's location to the beaches (2 short blocks to the shore), great shopping and eateries along AIA, and a short distance driving or by cab to Wilton Manors, is a plus. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanTor_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Well, Chuck--
You've done it again!
We go away on vacation and you and your staff continue to make us feel like we're still at home. Well, not quite home, but more like visiting a dear friend who has company while we're there, lots of company. How much more comfortable could that be? We will never forget the RSVP cruise, and Valentine's Day was our anniversary (21st to be exact). Upon entering our cabin, we saw a beautiful floral arrangement wishing us a "HAPPY ANNIVERSAY AND BON VOYAGE--LOVE, THE CHESTON HOUSE STAFF". What more can we say. Above...and beyond. It's the special touches like that, that make a vacation memorable. Say "HI" to Earlene and Dmitry.
See You Soon,
RICHARD & FRANK

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewarsguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We come to Fort Lauderdale every year to escape the Upstate NY winter and very busy jobs. The Chesteon House is an oasis. The staff is the best, taking good care of the guests and always willing to help. The rooms are very well maintained, clean and comfortable. They have all size rooms from a very cozy rooms that work for a few days stay to studios and full apartments for extended stays. The grounds and the pool are very well kept. The pool is very clean and heated. They have a nice continental breakfast with good coffee - a real must. The crowd varies - a nice mix. We have met a number of people who have become long term friends who we stay in contact with year round. Thanks to Chuck and his staff the Cheston House is just what you need for that vacation or other type of visit. You can stay in, go out, lay by the pool, or go to the beach. You can do it all. In addition to being close to the beach you are relatively close to resturants, bars, clubs and shopping. We always come home rested but looking forward to our next stay at the Cheston House.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tferrarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Clean & friendly gay men's guest house.
Located two blocks from the ocean and walking distance to the gay beach.
Great pool and area to lay out in the sun
Clothing optional
Variety of room choices and accomodations
Reasonalby priced
Manager lives on site
Safe

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDEDICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
The Aqua Hotel
#10 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,028 reviews
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#1 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
3,819 reviews
Best Western Plus Oceanside Inn
#19 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#27 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
4,128 reviews
The Worthington Guest House
#3 of 35 in Fort Lauderdale
838 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#11 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
5,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheston House Gay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheston House Gay Resort

Address: 520 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4043
Region: United States > Florida > Broward County > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range: ₹ 6,707 - ₹ 14,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheston House Gay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheston House, an intimate, all male gay resort, located 2 blocks from Ft. Lauderdale beach. Friendly staff, warm hospitality and spacious accommodations awaits you. Experience our immaculate lush tropical surroundings along with a swim in our heated, clothing optional pool. Whether you choose a guest room, suite or apartment we bring you all the comforts of home. See for yourself why our guests keep coming back time after time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cheston House Gay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheston House Gay Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing